What is wrong (or not wrong!) with the PAP nowadays?
pirate:
They'd rather the operations be paid for out of taxpayers pockets than investors pockets.
Both SMRT and SBSTransit are majority owned by Temasek. Which :censored: rich pple are you referring to?limlim:
I would be more willing to pay higher fares IF it is not a private entity but a nationalized entity.
bcoz I can be more sure the money and profit goes into running costs and improving the service and not some :censored: rich pple's pocket.
If the higher fares are meant to pay the bus drivers, how does it go into the rich pple's pocket? Surely there can be ways, from the regulatory and management standpoint, to make sure it does not go into rich pple's pocket? It is up to the transport regulators to set adequate standards. For that, voters can and should hold the regulators and ultimately the transport minister accountable, no?
I feel that this thing about nationalization is barking up the wrong tree.
limlim, what is the first step before people get return on the investment?
Take a guess?
Put your hard earned money down first!
So that SMRT can pay the drivers, pay the electricity bills, the cleaners, with INVESTORS money, which WE as the commuter, make use of. Otherwise, TAXPAYERS pay...
After that, taken the risk, because SMRT can always collapse, you MAY get 4-5% return.......
Such a good deal meh?
You just don't understand. -
Why should there be? If your stock broker makes 10 calls for you, loses money on 3 and makes money on 7, and turns in a good profit overall, do you take him to court for the 3 he got wrong?
Did he talk about losses by TH? And the Lehman investments by TCs?limlim:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
Tharman said in a speech some time back, nearly half of garment operating budget comes from investment income. That is a truly staggering figure, an incredible feat of fiscal prudence and foresight and discipline.
Any credit given?
Any punishment given?
The whole concept is warped.[/quote]It's not quite as straightforward as the both of you make it out to be.
If TH makes 10 calls and loses money on 3 and makes money on 7, and turns in a good profit overall, that is considered good. It is unrealistic to expect every call to be good and every investment to be profitable. Somebody who can do that will not be working for any fund, he will be investing his only money and becoming a billionaire.
But if one of the bad calls results not from market conditions, but was due to sloppy due diligence, then punishment for that is warranted. Likewise, if one of the good calls resulted from pure dumb luck despite bad analysis or due diligence, no kudos is warranted.
As for the TCs. Well... they had no business investing in complex derivatives that they do not appear to understand in the first place. -
At one time, I thought the garden/landscaping by my parents' block was being dug out just too often. Sometimes add a new pathway or maybe a new wall (like those with the estate's name) or add a shelter/pavilion. Quite sure these are Variation Orders and donch really need to go thru any tender process to ensure a fair price.Why why TCs are collecting ever increasing S&C charges? to pay for development of expensive software and sell cheap to coy like AIM?
To renovate and re-renovate a newly renovated infrastructure with no practical improvement or benefits to residents? And At the same time failure to ensure essential facilities like Lifts are reliable, well maintained and easy to use (no poorly designed hard to press buttons).. smelly environment even from high floors.. what the :censored: is the TCs doing..?
Also see the lift landing floor being resurface every now and then when there was never any serious water ponding problem. -
Actually, I am not sure whether limlim's grouse is with the investors or with the executives. I suspect the latter.After that, taken the risk, because SMRT can always collapse, you MAY get 4-5% return.......
Such a good deal meh?
pirate:
It's not quite as straightforward as the both of you make it out to be.
Why should there be? If your stock broker makes 10 calls for you, loses money on 3 and makes money on 7, and turns in a good profit overall, do you take him to court for the 3 he got wrong?3Boys:
[quote=\"limlim\"]
Did he talk about losses by TH? And the Lehman investments by TCs?
Any punishment given?
The whole concept is warped.
If TH makes 10 calls and loses money on 3 and makes money on 7, and turns in a good profit overall, that is considered good. It is unrealistic to expect every call to be good and every investment to be profitable. Somebody who can do that will not be working for any fund, he will be investing his only money and becoming a billionaire.
But if one of the bad calls results not from market conditions, but was due to sloppy due diligence, then punishment for that is warranted. Likewise, if one of the good calls resulted from pure dumb luck despite bad analysis or due diligence, no kudos is warranted.
As for the TCs. Well... they had no business investing in complex derivatives that they do not appear to understand in the first place.[/quote]Tio lah. -
This is what happens when you have too much top-down management.
At one time, I thought the garden/landscaping by my parents' block was being dug out just too often. Sometimes add a new pathway or maybe a new wall (like those with the estate's name) or add a shelter/pavilion. Quite sure these are Variation Orders and donch really need to go thru any tender process to ensure a fair price.limlim:
Why why TCs are collecting ever increasing S&C charges? to pay for development of expensive software and sell cheap to coy like AIM?
To renovate and re-renovate a newly renovated infrastructure with no practical improvement or benefits to residents? And At the same time failure to ensure essential facilities like Lifts are reliable, well maintained and easy to use (no poorly designed hard to press buttons).. smelly environment even from high floors.. what the :censored: is the TCs doing..?
Also see the lift landing floor being resurface every now and then when there was never any serious water ponding problem.
You have been allocated $x million to spend in your budget.
Ok lor. Hmm... what shall we spend it on? Must spend it all hor. Otherwise, next year our budget will shrink. -
GLC is not unique to Singapore! See this ->. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Government-owned_corporation
Don't know who inspire who ! -
pirate:
Napoleon once said, \"I'd rather have a lucky general than a good one.\"
He also did say, \"In politics, stupidity is not a handicap.\"
pirate:
Aiyah, limlim is allergic to private investors taking a dividend off SMRT profits lah!
Actually, I am not sure whether limlim's grouse is with the investors or with the executives. I suspect the latter.3Boys:
After that, taken the risk, because SMRT can always collapse, you MAY get 4-5% return.......
Such a good deal meh?
How come you say until like these transport coys donch have any revenue one?! :scratchhead:
They'd rather the operations be paid for out of taxpayers pockets than investors pockets.
limlim, what is the first step before people get return on the investment?
Take a guess?
Put your hard earned money down first!
So that SMRT can pay the drivers, pay the electricity bills, the cleaners, with INVESTORS money, which WE as the commuter, make use of. Otherwise, TAXPAYERS pay...
Such a good deal meh?
You just don't understand.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.