Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 413.2k Views 1 Watching
      Irrelevant

Actually, I see nothing wrong being a speculator. If our dear Janette believes that she is well positioned to profit from the property market, I guess we don't have to worry for her. She just have to be upfront about it without beating around the bush and appear to be on the side of the common man.

In fact, the average person who owns just 1 property or would like to own 1 property has nothing to worry about. The cooling measures do not affect him at all. He does not have to pay ABSD or worry about LTV.

At the same time, I also believe that the govt should not interfere too much in the property market. They should let the bubble grow big, burst and let the speculators get burnt. Otherwise, nobody will learn a lesson, e.g. the Greenspan put, see where it got the Americans. Unfortunately, we are a nanny state and we are used to be in a nanny state, and the govt knows it will almost certainly get blamed....

P.S. I'm a speculator too, but in stuff other than property. 😉

Harlequin

Seriously, this is the first time I encounter such a \"lucky\" property investor like her; knows peanuts and yet gets the monkeys. So envy!!

Edit:

:rotflmao: 😆 😂

limlim

JannettLee:

4) Ban all rental of HDB flats. Owners must stay in the HDB flats.
          Owners must still stay in HDB flats, even if they have other properties.. That is the current rules in general.

maybe you can help to suggest ways to enforce it? or how to catch those that flout the rules? :evil: :evil:

Irrelevant

Harlequin

Don’t be so harsh lah…

I honestly believe that if we get to know Janette, we will find that she is a very warm and friendly person. Peace

limlim

sinoboy:
              pirate:

[quote=\"Strparent\"]Why at these current levels, anyone still want to speculate or invest is beyond me.

So that the bank can force sell it later to me. :evil:

Seriously, the 15% ABSD for foreign buyers is because HK slapped the same thing on their market first, and the government does not want the hot money to come from HK to Singapore.

And what is :censored: wrong with the govt collecting some ABSD from foreigners and people with too much money?

It's ok if govt wants to collect absd from foreigners but slapping a low loan to value on locals prevents genuine local investors from deploying their depreciating hard earned money. Tell me which asset other than a physical property is a good hedge of inflation? I am not trying to make a punt on properties but in the current high inflation environment with super low real interest rate I want to safeguard that little cash that I accumulated as a PMET. [/quote]Truth truth.. but what about the consequences if it happens that current situation is a bubble waiting to burst? What will happen to the hard earned money of the middle class?

sinoboy

Irrelevant:
                Harlequin

Don't be so harsh lah...

I honestly believe that if we get to know Janette, we will find that she is a very warm and friendly person. Peace
                I agree that we should not be so harsh on our own kind. In fact we should learn from these success stories. Like the govt I also want to earn money from these foreigners since I already subsized their housing, education for such a long time already and transport and given up my job to them. Someone give me a chance to earn my Lexus LS460. 😢

• 3 Offline
                  3Boys

Sidestepped every single pertinent question posed to her, taken the very narrow view of a property investor/speculator who will of course derive benefit from a frothy property market. Harping continuously on ABSD benefiting foreigners.

What complete bull!

If you are a first time buyer, are you affected by ABSD?

If you are a prudent buyer with 500K, would you bankrupt yourself by shooting for a 2nd property valued at $1M?

If you are a rich foreigner, who has made his money buy being prudent and careful with dollars, the ABSD is meaningless to you? Hint - The rich don’t get rich by throwing money away.

Made all sorts of wild assumptions, and in the meantime, berated Singaporeans for not being ‘risk taking’.

Take what risk? Just to put money into speculators pockets? The poor chap who saved 300K over 10 years for his dream investment, just to watch it lose value?

Jannette, people have read the same motives about you that I have, only that not many have said it directly to you.

The property market is a continuous one, from the topline $3000 psf condo down to the HDB 3-room. There is a continuum of prices, how can there not be? The only other alternative is a 2-tier market where private properties are completely disconnected from HDB. Don’t you get it? Then how do HDB owners upgrade?

Look at it from the point of view of first-time buyers and upgraders, the nett effect for them is a general lowering (or capping) of prices, and they are not so much affected by LTV or ABSD issues. Which it the INTENT, and a good one!

sinoboy

sinoboy:

It's ok if govt wants to collect absd from foreigners but slapping a low loan to value on locals prevents genuine local investors from deploying their depreciating hard earned money. Tell me which asset other than a physical property is a good hedge of inflation? I am not trying to make a punt on properties but in the current high inflation environment with super low real interest rate I want to safeguard that little cash that I accumulated as a PMET.

Truth truth.. but what about the consequences if it happens that current situation is a bubble waiting to burst? What will happen to the hard earned money of the middle class?

No one knows for sure at which formation stage the bubble is at. But looking at the money printing press in USA, Europe and Japan, I very very seriously do not think the bubble will prick in the next few years. The bubble will prick only when everyone is very confident. And until then the middle class just got to look after ourselves and take measures to prevent our savings from losing too much purchasing power. 🦆

Harlequin

Irrelevant:
                      Harlequin

Don't be so harsh lah...

Sigh, bei tahan lar... somehow I felt as though like being toyed?! And also for other decent n caring members that were all trying to \"enlighten\" her.

Anyway, kudos to you good natures guys!

limlim

JannettLee:
                        You see, many singaporeans are sick, very sick. They expect the govt to spoon feed them, take care of them, nanny them, save them from taking risks, etc etc...

No wonder Korea has Samsung, LG, Hyundai, etc etc, but Singapore has what singaporean global corporations the like of Korea's Samsung etc that singaporeans can be proud of? See, singaporeans expect govt to take care of them and nanny them and they don't dare to take risks..... 🤷
                        Strparent:

Trying to save u guys, yet make noise about the life buoys/jackets too tight. :siao:

Tell that to the Lehman brother investors who kpkb abt the lack of control/supervision by the govt..... :evil: :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 191 / 198

snoozyS
                        snoozy