Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 323.6k Views 1 Watching
      sinoboy

Dora1:
      ammonite:

[quote=\"Dora1\"]
      But I think the general complain is SCs being bullied by FTs from other countries, in other MNCs, GLCs and even stat board (like me!). Those of you here who are so agreeable to the white paper, can I ask if you have worked in a company where SCs are the minority? In the stat board that I am in, only 35% in my dept is SC. The boss is a new citizen. The 4 middle management people are all FTs. My previous workplace has now turned into 70% FT vs 30% SC. If you have worked in a place like tat, and you can still so passionately embrace the white paper, then I really must salute you, from the bottom of my heart, because frankly there is no way I can do it.

Can hint hint which stat board this is?

:spank: You want me to die ah! I'm still working here![/quote]Not many stat board with so many FTs and new citizens. ๐Ÿ˜‚ can narrow down to MAS, Temasek, GIC or EDB (although unlikely). So you eat snake to participate in the forum? ๐Ÿ˜‚

pirate

sinoboy:
        Dora1:

[quote=\"ammonite\"]Can hint hint which stat board this is?

:spank: You want me to die ah! I'm still working here!

Not many stat board with so many FTs and new citizens. ๐Ÿ˜‚ can narrow down to MAS, Temasek, GIC or EDB (although unlikely). So you eat snake to participate in the forum? ๐Ÿ˜‚[/quote]Actually, I was thinking of A*Star. :evil:

Dora1

pirate:
          Dora1:

FYI, the quota is set such that SCs and PRs are together. They call it Singapore residents. So can have a company with 100% PRs.

Yah. That's why I am more receptive to MP Inderjit Singh's suggestion (as published in today's ST):
          [quote]If economic growth is imperative, he suggests slowing the intake of new citizens and permanent residents (PRs), and adopting Dubai's model of a transient workforce.

That means Singapore can continue to expand its economy, but have more flexibility in managing population numbers in the longer term.

Mr Singh then turned his gaze on the number of new citizens and PRs to be taken in each year, saying that he had a \"big issue\" with it.

The White Paper projects that 15,000 to 25,000 new citizenships will be given each year, similar to the average of 18,500 each year in the past five years.

As for PR status, it plans to give it to 30,000 foreigners annually, as it has done in the past three years.

But adding another 500,000 to 800,000 more PRs and citizens in the next 17 years, as proposed, will be \"disastrous\", said Mr Singh. He believes it will further worsen the current infrastructure and social problems.

This is not an opposition MP saying this wor. It is a PAP backbencher (one of the few!) with extensive private sector experience.

The issue I think many Singaporeans have is not foreigners coming to Singapore to work per se, but the feeling that the government was anyhow granting PR and citizenship in the last 5 years. I suspect that was the problem in your industry and stat board.[/quote]Yup that's correct. Some of them were invited to be PR within the 1st week of them stepping foot in SG. They were already PRs before they realize NTUC refers to supermarket!

Dora1

pirate:
            sinoboy:

[quote=\"Dora1\"]

:spank: You want me to die ah! I'm still working here!

Not many stat board with so many FTs and new citizens. ๐Ÿ˜‚ can narrow down to MAS, Temasek, GIC or EDB (although unlikely). So you eat snake to participate in the forum? ๐Ÿ˜‚

Actually, I was thinking of A*Star. :evil:[/quote]Actually the whole org doesn't have that many FTs lah, only my dept is like tat, cos the head is new citizen mah.
            I'm on leave today lah! (Anyway, eat snake is the in Thing, prepare for snake year mah :evil: )

Dora1

Dora1:

I think we're talking about different types of FTs here. .

No, I'm talking about FT from a certain asian country same same as dbs head.

If I'm not wrong, most of these ร re actually US citizens. Not exactly in the same category

• O Offline
                octoberbaby

pirate:

The issue I think many Singaporeans have is not foreigners coming to Singapore to work per se, but the feeling that the government was anyhow granting PR and citizenship in the last 5 years. I suspect that was the problem in your industry and stat board.

Sack the person in charge of Singapore Immigration dept. The problem lies with this department.

Harlequin

Dora1:

No, I'm talking about FT from a certain asian country same same as dbs head.

If I'm not wrong, most of these ร re actually US citizens. Not exactly in the same category

Piyush Gupta. Ex CEO of Citibank for SEA, Australia and NZ.

Anyone from MAS stat board should know....

carilyn

https://www.facebook.com/kbinderjit/posts/598891680137569

Good speech..

concern2

carilyn:
                      https://www.facebook.com/kbinderjit/posts/598891680137569

Good speech..
                      Thanks for sharing!

Interesting that he would admit those in bold.

\"Our past decade of rapid population growth has already created too many problems which need to be solved first before we take the next step. I call on the government to take a breather for five years, solve all the problems created by the past policies of rapid economic and population growth. We can safely say that we have failed to achieve the goal set by the then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong, of a Swiss standard of living for most Singaporeans, except for the higher income Singaporeans including foreigners who just recently decided to make Singapore their home. So I call for a breather in this quest of growing the population and focus on improving the lives of Singaporeans and achieve that promised Swiss Standard of living for most Singaporeans first before we plan our next growth trajectory.\"

He is hitting the right chords - with the people, not sure if the right chords of the PAP. It could jolly well be 'THE SPEECH' that could potentially make a U-turn to de WP - I mean White Paper.

But hor, GCT said he meant Swiss Standard of Living \"in 1984\" leh... ๐Ÿ˜†
                      How is swiss standard of living now har? :scratchhead: Are they still a good yardstick in today's context?

concern2

Who has read the White Paper? Iโ€™ve only read comments about it here and there. Some sources say there isnโ€™t any depth to it, and no details shown on how the numbers are derived. I think there is a danger here if WP were to propose a 5.9 million. I smell a trap. Maybe it is my imagination making me write fiction againโ€ฆ

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 68 / 150