How is your Sec 1 child coping in his new school?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    58 Posts 18 Posters 15.4k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

CNY is our most important festival...why aren't schools compassionate to allow the kids to enjoy ??? They have already gone through PSLE last year...it's just Sec 1...not sitting for O levels. Yet, there is homework and tests to prepare for. :slapshead: :rant:

That is bad. I always believe that schools should leave most of the holidays untouched for the kids. Light projects over long holidays, fine, but spare those short holidays, especially CNY, Hari raya and deepavali. These are festivals. Time for kids and family to part take in festivities and tradition which I personally feel is very important.

Maybe the teachers think they are doing some parents a favour. Good excuse to avoid visitations.

'ahhh sorry ah, cannot come over, my ah boy/ah girl is swamped with work got test summore leh. U know lah, nowadays, homework not for kids only, parents oso gotta do homework with kids.' :razz:

CNY to Chinese is like Christmas to angmohs...right or not ? :rant:

What's the problem with schools now ??? MOE devoid of compassion.
        Math tutor has no choice but conduct today's lesson bcos he missed one...sec 1 kids have Math tests right after CNY holidays.
        Today being the eve of CNY, I am fired up not with festival but with our dear education system.

mummy so kiasu

Longer school hours make it tougher for kids to go for tuition. Hope all the kids are coping well with the additional subjects & CCA. Most of the subjects tests are over. Wonder how often do the schools have tests in Sec school? Happy Chinese New Year!

mummy so kiasu:
            Longer school hours make it tougher for kids to go for tuition. Hope all the kids are coping well with the additional subjects & CCA. Most of the subjects tests are over. Wonder how often do the schools have tests in Sec school? Happy Chinese New Year!

Longer school hours make it impossible to have tuition on weekdays...so weekends are burnt. Subject tests whole of next week. Son has common tests as well as topical tests...I lost track and immune to the word TEST.
            CNY holidays are over...time to wake up.

Rhyll

Yes, it is really a challenge trying to arrange tuition on weekdays. :frustrated:

Had tried calling up tutors recommended in KS forum as well as centres, all have very limited time slot, unlike primary level.
              Worse when DS lesson + CCA always stretch till 5pm, some day 6.45pm. I don't have the heart to enroll him in any class after such long day. :imdrowning:
              I really wonder how some parent cope with sch + tuition. :scratchhead:
              Appreciate if someone can share. Can the kids cope from 6am to 6pm, continue by tuition from7pm to 9pm? I myself surrender.

wonderm

Rhyll:
                Yes, it is really a challenge trying to arrange tuition on weekdays. :frustrated:

Had tried calling up tutors recommended in KS forum as well as centres, all have very limited time slot, unlike primary level.
                Worse when DS lesson + CCA always stretch till 5pm, some day 6.45pm. I don't have the heart to enroll him in any class after such long day. :imdrowning:
                Appreciate if someone can share. Can the kids cope from 6am to 6pm, continue by tuition from7pm to 9pm? I myself surrender.
                It is just the start of Sec school, how about letting your child try coping without too many tuition classes first? For those subjects he/she needs tuition, you can schedule it in the evening or during the weekend. Besides school work and tuition (if necessary), remember to let the child enjoy other aspects of Sec school life as well.

TheAnswer

Rhyll:

I think tuition during the weekends are more acceptable though some of my students have tuition from 7pm to 9pm (secondary students and P5/6). Some of them are used to it.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                    Coolkidsrock2

My DD used to reach home at 5pm, swimming lesson at 5.30pm followed by tuition at 7.30pm. 2 days of CCA where she reached home around 6pm, 1 day enrichment where she reached home at 4pm and 1 day she reached home at 2.30pm, followed by piano lessons from 3.30pm to 5.30pm followed by piano lessons with another teacher at 7.30pm. Nearly back to back tuition on weekend.

Matter of getting used to the schedule.

Since the break after PSLE, she had slacken and I find that her stamina had deteriorated, sleeping at 10pm instead 11pm.

Weekdays definitely no possibility of tuition…finish daily homework + revise whatever has been taught, especially on days when there is history, Geog or literature.

Son still needs tuition for language…But they are scheduled every saturday. Sunday nights are for some relaxation, if there is no test to be studied for the next day.
                      Preparing for PSLE last year was hectic…thought sec 1 will be a honeymoon of some sort, but it is not to be. What to do, have to accept. Heard most schools same same…tests very often.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                        Coolkidsrock2

So far minimal homework for my DD so quite idle every day except for CCA days, one of which falls on Saturday till 12.30pm. Tests are frequent but because it is bite size and normally conducted fairly quickly after each yopic is taught, they become almost like a revision.

No tuition this year except for music lessons and swimming for now.

Am worried that DD is losing momentum.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 6