Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
I believe the problem is that many of us "mere mortals" are not able to understand the bigger picture behind the whole population growth. How many of us study urban population growth? Or urban transport management (in the case of public transport outcry)?
So we have to put our faith in our scholars and the brilliant politicians to think on our behalf for the macro picture. Perhaps the intention is for the greater good, but the manner they simply throw the 6.9m figure simply shows that they are not able to understand what we "mere mortals" are feeling. Or they are hoping we mere mortals can understand the bigger picture?
Perhaps the current crop of scholars are just book smart? -
Iluvmygals:
I couldn't agree more!!![/quote]The low income group is the MOST vulnerable group and can't really take care of them-self. The gov is indeed not doing enough to help the low income group.
:goodpost:dorisp:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
....Sometimes I get the impression that while some Singaporeans say they want our low income groups to be able to have higher income, these same Singaporeans want somebody else other than themselves to contribute towards those increased wages.
The very rich can take care of them-self and stop enriching them further.
I'm puzzled about your statement, are you suggesting that we should just ignore the low incomes group? -
JannettLee:
The very rich can take care of them-self and stop enriching them further.
I'm puzzled about your statement, are you suggesting that we should just ignore the low incomes group?
Yes the low income must be helped. I agree with you. But I also think that there must be a mean test to ensure that the low income group are not sitting around doing nothing waiting for handouts (unless they really really unable to work). While help should be given to them, it must be ensured that they are working to show that they are doing something to help themselves.
For example, if they are working this month, government maybe can give extra special subsidy for HDB rental for that month. Or perhaps give them special Ezlink topup subsidy for that month etc. Or perhaps NTUC vouchers. However, it cannot be directly in form of cash as it is risky that they might use the cash to buy 4D, etc -
pirate:
Dunno leh. DD wants to know why she must go to school. Why har? :scratchhead:mum_sugoku:
BTW why do we need good (GDP) growth? It's because of the belief that good growth will lead to good quality of life for the masses, and a \"good quality of life\" is the reason behind the need for good growth, right?
The question is, will a good growth really lead to a good quality of life for the masses?
Maybe it is because Daddy and Mommy don't know how to think out of the box and come up with a solution so she doesn't have to go to school? Ever! :idea:
Boo! Lousy Daddy and Mommy. :spank:
I want a better Daddy and Mommy.
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=530909240265543
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=530908396932294
i guess u dont see these report in our MSM -
pirate:
If you feel that going to school isn't a good choice, then maybe you shouldn't go to school.. :evil:
Dunno leh. DD wants to know why she must go to school. Why har? :scratchhead:mum_sugoku:
BTW why do we need good (GDP) growth? It's because of the belief that good growth will lead to good quality of life for the masses, and a \"good quality of life\" is the reason behind the need for good growth, right?
The question is, will a good growth really lead to a good quality of life for the masses?
Maybe it is because Daddy and Mommy don't know how to think out of the box and come up with a solution so she doesn't have to go to school? Ever! :idea:
Bill gates,. newton etc.. are school dropouts.. I heard.. :evil: -
JannettLee:
I have always wondered how come fund managers can get big fat bonus even when the funds doesn't perform.. grave injustice to the investors.. suffered loses yet have to pay the FM out of the investment cost..
Actually hor, only the very top few PMETs (from local companies including all GLCs) are getting fat salaries. Majority PMETs are not getting very high salaries la. So, in order to continue getting even higher salaries, they need to think out of box to cut manpower cost so that their salaries can further increase. In overseas, they are called 'Fat Cat'! We are now suffering Fat Cat symptoms as they take most of the monies and leave crumbs to be distributed to the rest of the employees.
I'm OK with owners of their own companies to get more pays as they are taking their own risks to run their own business. However, I'm not OK with the top management of GLC companies to get fat salaries as GLCs are people's money. Already, a iron-bowled job for them to work in GLCs. Asked them to run their own business if they want to get high salaries.
Even normal employees are evaluated by performance and output rite.. -
Why didn't you quote the portion that I mentioned about banking job. Fund managers are in the same category as banking job la. Their jobs are also volatile & stressful la. I personally know one fund manager who has lost job for 10 years! They may be still in the same position for a few years when their funds don't perform but still perform better when they compared to the market la. Aiya, they are in the position not for long la, if the tide turn, they can't perform as well as market, they are asked to leave too!
I have always wondered how come fund managers can get big fat bonus even when the funds doesn't perform.. grave injustice to the investors.. suffered loses yet have to pay the FM out of the investment cost..JannettLee:
Actually hor, only the very top few PMETs (from local companies including all GLCs) are getting fat salaries. Majority PMETs are not getting very high salaries la. So, in order to continue getting even higher salaries, they need to think out of box to cut manpower cost so that their salaries can further increase. In overseas, they are called 'Fat Cat'! We are now suffering Fat Cat symptoms as they take most of the monies and leave crumbs to be distributed to the rest of the employees.
I'm OK with owners of their own companies to get more pays as they are taking their own risks to run their own business. However, I'm not OK with the top management of GLC companies to get fat salaries as GLCs are people's money. Already, a iron-bowled job for them to work in GLCs. Asked them to run their own business if they want to get high salaries.
Even normal employees are evaluated by performance and output rite.. -
pirate:
So you think you really deserve the boos? :evil:
I take every opportunities to tell the kids why they need to go to school - one of the things is learning responsibility.
DD was supposed to complete an art last week, and bring it to school today. I had been reminding her to quickly get it done, but she procrastinated, until today, she woke up crying remembering her unfinished art. That's when I hit on the punch line, \"See, this is why you need to go to school - to learn to be responsible and bear with the consequences of your action!\" She likes to be a good student and wants to be in the teachers' good books, but she had work on it to achieve it. Many good lessons and life skills can be learnt from going to school. I'll see how she deals with the 'consequences' today.. :evil: -
raysusan:
So, who are the real ostriches here?http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=530909240265543
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=530908396932294
i guess u dont see these report in our MSM
Ostrich meat can be eaten? Got recipe?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.