Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 318.4k Views 1 Watching
      mum_sugoku

pirate:
      mum_sugoku:

BTW why do we need good (GDP) growth? It's because of the belief that good growth will lead to good quality of life for the masses, and a \"good quality of life\" is the reason behind the need for good growth, right?

The question is, will a good growth really lead to a good quality of life for the masses?

Dunno leh. DD wants to know why she must go to school. Why har? :scratchhead:
      Maybe it is because Daddy and Mommy don't know how to think out of the box and come up with a solution so she doesn't have to go to school? Ever! :idea:
      Boo! Lousy Daddy and Mommy. :spank:
      I want a better Daddy and Mommy. 😢

Alas actually, my kids' mommy is worse than your DD's lah.

Not only do I make them go to school, I expect them to excel in their studies as well! (BTW my \"excel\" means scoring good exam grades hor). And it's not just because I believe that doing well in studies will give them a better future, but also (or is it mainly?) because they doing well will enable me to \"look good\" in front of my friends and relatives--most of whom happen to have kids who \"excel\" in studies..

It's kinda ironic cos I genuinely love and care about them; I love them so much that I don't think I can live without them.. Yet, I have no qualms about using them to satisfy my desire to \"look good\"!

I'm thinking: I'm already doing this to people who I truely cherish, what if they are someone not even connected to me--physically or emotionally? Wouldn't it be even easier for them to become mere tools for me to get what I desire (like, \"looking good\")? All I need to do, is to get my man to successfully convince these people that whatever I do, I'm doing it \"for their sake\"....

pirate

mum_sugoku:
        I'm thinking: I'm already doing this to people who I truely cherish, what if they are someone not even connected to me--physically or emotionally? Wouldn't it be even easier for them to become mere tools for me to get what I desire (like, \"looking good\")? All I need to do, is to get my man to successfully convince these people that whatever I do, I'm doing it \"for their sake\"....

Then you have to think carefully about each part of what they say or do, and then come to your own conclusion lor. Maybe you may decide they do this, that and the other ok. Or maybe you may decide they do this ok, but that one really soosa. Or maybe you may decide they everything also epic fail. After that, you repeat the process with what the others say and do.

That's what a discussion is meant to be, right? After all, we are all supposed to be responsible adults.

Like for example, I never say anything about the senior executive pay in our GLCs hah. šŸ˜‰

wonderm

mum_sugoku:
          Not only do I make them go to school, I expect them to excel in their studies as well! (BTW my \"excel\" means scoring good exam grades hor). And it's not just because I believe that doing well in studies will give them a better future, but also (or is it mainly?) because they doing well will enable me to \"look good\" in front of my friends and relatives--most of whom happen to have kids who \"excel\" in studies..

It's kinda ironic cos I genuinely love and care about them; I love them so much that I don't think I can live without them.. Yet, I have no qualms about using them to satisfy my desire to \"look good\"!

Interesting sharing and analogy.

While there are parents who want their children to excel academically \"mainly\" for the parents to \"look good\", there are many more parents who do it more for the good of their children.

While children can't choose their parents, fortunately we can choose our government. No matter how much we trust the government, we must not have blind faith in them, neither should we conclude that everything they do is for them to \"look good\". I suppose we need to think and then decide if what they are doing makes sense.

pirate

By 2020, KL may be only a 90 mins train ride away. Hope our PMETs like the new coziness with our northern neighbours. :evil:

Not to mention the MRT ride to and from JB along the Thomson Line. šŸ˜‰

JannettLee

pirate:
              JannettLee:

The low income group is the MOST vulnerable group and can't really take care of them-self. The gov is indeed not doing enough to help the low income group.

The very rich can take care of them-self and stop enriching them further.

I'm puzzled about your statement, are you suggesting that we should just ignore the low incomes group?

Ok lor. Suggest to gov to impose a flat rate tax on rental income same as highest marginal income tax rate (18%). Then can use the extra tax revenue to help the low income group. Got extra property to rent out for passive income must be rich. Heck. Just make it 20%. Easier to calculate. Ok lah, before you say ordinary people maybe need to rent out one room in their HDB flat, can exempt the first $6,000 of annual rental income.

After that, add a rule that any resale of an 'investment property' within 10 years (of exercise of option to purchase or TOP whichever is later) shall be presumed to be trading and subject to income tax on any gain from disposal. 'Investment property' to be defined as any residential property in excess of one owner-occupied property per household, and any non owner-occupied commerical or industrial property, and for that purpose the period of owner occupation cannot be less than 5 years immediately preceding the sale.

Happy? šŸ˜‰

You want the property rental cost to increase further and thus the surge in business operating cost? All these costs will be passed down to consumer!
              If you want everyone to suffer, this is not the most effective la, might as well increase GST to 30% lo :yikes:

Outcome: Someone will repent! :skeptical:

JannettLee

pirate:
                By 2020, KL may be only a 90 mins train ride away. Hope our PMETs like the new coziness with our northern neighbours. :evil:

I think there will have more Singaporean stay in JB and work in Singapore then.

pirate

JannettLee:
                  pirate:

[quote=\"JannettLee\"]The low income group is the MOST vulnerable group and can't really take care of them-self. The gov is indeed not doing enough to help the low income group.

The very rich can take care of them-self and stop enriching them further.

I'm puzzled about your statement, are you suggesting that we should just ignore the low incomes group?

Ok lor. Suggest to gov to impose a flat rate tax on rental income same as highest marginal income tax rate (18%). Then can use the extra tax revenue to help the low income group. Got extra property to rent out for passive income must be rich. Heck. Just make it 20%. Easier to calculate. Ok lah, before you say ordinary people maybe need to rent out one room in their HDB flat, can exempt the first $6,000 of annual rental income.

After that, add a rule that any resale of an 'investment property' within 10 years (of exercise of option to purchase or TOP whichever is later) shall be presumed to be trading and subject to income tax on any gain from disposal. 'Investment property' to be defined as any residential property in excess of one owner-occupied property per household, and any non owner-occupied commerical or industrial property, and for that purpose the period of owner occupation cannot be less than 5 years immediately preceding the sale.

Happy? šŸ˜‰

You want the property rental cost to increase further and thus the surge in business operating cost? All these costs will be passed down to consumer!
                  If you want everyone to suffer, this is not the most effective la, might as well increase GST to 30% lo :yikes:

Outcome: Someone will repent! :skeptical:[/quote]I knew you would say something like that. Dun like to pay more tax on your rental incomes and property trading gains? :evil:

Like that income tax on rich cannot. GST also cannot. Stamp duty lagi cannot. Then how? Grow money on trees? :scratchhead:

JannettLee

pirate:
                    JannettLee:

[quote=\"pirate\"]

Happy? šŸ˜‰

Outcome: Someone will repent! :skeptical:

I knew you would say something like that. Dun like to pay more tax on your rental incomes and property trading gains? :evil:

Like that income tax on rich cannot. GST also cannot. Stamp duty lagi cannot. Then how? Grow money on trees? :scratchhead:[/quote]You are wrong! I pay tax and very happy to pay more tax as it indicates that I earn more. Increase the property tax, no impact to rich as they pay about the same tax either throu property tax or income tax as the property rental incomes will be part of the personal income anyway and then get tax anyway. šŸ˜‰

You can see the difference, you increase the property tax, rich has no impact but the business cost goes up. Between the property tax and income tax, they should tax more income tax for Rich!

I never said income tax on rich cannot. They should have higher income tax for rich as rich benefited the most from the GDP growth!

pirate

JannettLee:
                      You are wrong! I pay tax and very happy to pay more tax as it indicates that I earn more. Increase the property tax, no impact to the rich as the they pay about the same tax either throu property tax or income tax as the property rental incomes will be part of the personal income anyway (after net off the property tax) and then get tax anyway. šŸ˜‰

You can see the difference, you increase the property tax, rich has no impact but the business cost goes up. Between the property tax, they should tax more income tax for Rich!

I never said income tax on rich cannot. They should have higher income tax for rich as rich benefited the most from the GDP growth!
                      I never say property tax wor. I say increase income tax on rental income. I also say impose income tax on gain from property trading/speculation. Only rich got more than one property to have net rental income and trade in properties. šŸ˜‰

Just relax

pirate:

I look forward to having more Malaysian bros and sis in Singapore as compared to all these FTs. At least there is some shared values on racial harmony and getting along with each other etc. Unfortunately PMETs who are non-Malaysian FTs seem to look down on locals. I wonder why :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 130 / 150