What I hate about the current Singapore

650 Posts 81 Posters 149.6k Views 1 Watching
    • Coolkidsrock2C Offline
      Coolkidsrock2

Well, the "ang moh" parents also throw the kids out when they reach a certain age.

It is a very materialistic world now and I think it will become even more so.

cherrygal

The ang mohs do not expect their kids to look after them. The old folks will check into retirement villages themselves. Maybe that’s why they don’t want to pay for their kids’ uni fees coz that will eat a huge chunk from their retirement funds.

Even if I pay for my kids’ uni fees, I still can’t force them to look after me. We can only hope they (and spouses) are filial enough. Best is to save enough money for our old age.

Imami

rains:
          dolphinsiah:

I know nothing is for free in this world...especially in Singapore.... :roll:

Someone told me that the only thing free in Singapore is - fart 😉

Omg :rotflmao:

Just relax

Coolkidsrock2:
            When I was in uni overseas, most of my ang moh classmates took a loan for their studies. They work during their break.

Unlike parents our times, we now try to provide for our kids even when they are working. Some of the younger working adults I know do not need to contribute towards household expenses, pocket money for the parents. In fact, some of them are still receiving pocket money from their parents or using the parents' supp card.
            Yes the kids are not given enough independence. For the boys at least, they should save their NS allowance and use that to pay for part of the fees. Also Uni kids should work during the long breaks and start understanding the real value of money. Nobody owes a Uni grad. a job. And certainly kids going to Uni should find out for themselves what financing, loan, scholarship, bursaries, grants are out there and arrange their own financing. It will be a good wake up call for the kids to try and finance their way through Uni.

There are enough stories of poor kids who make it through hard work and ingenuity in finding the money for their Uni education.

We parents have to pay for kids’ upbringing & education…when they start working, I can only hope they are filial towards us…spare a thought and care about our feelings.

concern2

Imami:
                rains:

[quote=\"dolphinsiah\"]

Omg :rotflmao:[/quote]Hmm..reminds me our joke about how kids are surrounded by buttocks on the MRT - and 'foul smell' :roll:

Harlequin

rains:
                  dolphinsiah:

This is so true.... Feast on toxic and passing out all the toxic gas, and competing see whose louder that can draw more attention.... Anyone check the Ozone layer above SG sky lately? Maybe there is already a big hole up there. :evil:

Imami

Imami:

[quote=\"rains\"]

Omg :rotflmao:

Hmm..reminds me our joke about how kids are surrounded by buttocks on the MRT - and 'foul smell' :roll:[/quote]Ya boi, I was half wondering - eh... That time when I 说屁话 with someone, I dong remember it's rains leh.... :? Now that u \"turn up\", I remember who i 说屁话 to :evil:

sinoboy

SeniorDogsg46:
                      Please do not follow the 'ang mos'. They are the ones that will throw their parents into the old folks home when they no longer give them pocket monies hor! These days, many many parents are just lousy parents and do not know how to teach values to their kids when young, just keep giving material things to spoil the brats!! You reap what you sow leh..

Our new coin design very 'ang mos' leh. Looks like euro coins. Coins look same nebermind economy donch follow 'ang mos' okays? :xedfingers:

insider

My daugher was on a trip in France with 5 of her schoolmates of 3 boys 2 girls.

They had to take a 2 hours bus journey from one place to another.

All were seated.

Then an old man came up.

My daughter stood up and gave up her seat to him.

Old man thanked her greatly.

She looked at her friends.

Her friends all smiled at her.

None of the boys offered their seat to her.

She stood for the remaining one and a half hours journey with her backpack.

I am still trying to make sense out of the substance of all these highly intelligent scholars… (suddenly think of that young Korean man who gave up his slippers to that batrefooted old woman in Spore MRT. 一个天、一个地when comparing moral behaviour).

PS: Basically I told her none of the boys in the group will be fit enough to be a boyfriend and even as a friend, she has to draw a line… (somehow I always judge someone from the little things he or she does…).

She said she felt ‘odd’ that why they don’t have humanely feelings and somehow she was being ‘smiled’ like a fool. I told her do whatever she thinks is socially right and don’t bother about those who don’t share the same belief.

智者 should always be 无忧…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 65 / 65