Singapore's Reality
GLORYmum:
If our homegrown kids who have served NS have the above incorrect mentality, what makes anyone think that new immigrants whose kids never served NS could be more loyal to fend our country in tough times?ChiefKiasu:
[quote=\"kiasu_student\"]Singapore kids waste 2 years in NS instead of uni. No amt of money can buy youth that is sacrificed.
No amount of money can we pay now to buy the loyalty of people who will really be willing to sacrifice themselves for Singapore when things really get tough around here.
Especially if the people have the above mentality.
:nailbite:[/quote]It's like saying
If my own child doesn't love me , will my adopted child love me?
It depends on the child, my dear .... -
Sun_2010:
precisely my dear! so can't blame own child for not loving me, right?
It's like saying
If my own child doesn't love me , will my adopted child love me?
It depends on the child, my dear ....
do we also need to self-reflect on why own child doesn't love me? -
kiasu_student:
Singapore has been getting more and more terrible nowadays. The prime minister actually thinks Singapore can accomodate 6.9 million people. At this current stage of around 5 million, the transport and housing system is already out of control. With train breakdowns and getting on fire, the parliament cannot handle the situation now. Some Singaporeans begin to leave the country for a better future, as Singapore is just too competitive. The government ought to reconsider getting 6.9 million people, with half are foreigners. Even the tax suggested to charge foreigners not serving NS is not enough. Singapore kids waste 2 years in NS instead of uni. No amt of money can buy youth that is sacrificed.
Would you believe that some Singaporeans leave to work overseas because Singapore is not competitive enough? If you think getting into NUS and graduating with a good degree from a popular faculty here is too competitive, you should try getting one from Oxford, Cambridge or Harvard. Just you try mugging Singapore style against somebody literally with a photographic memory. I have seen people who hardly seem to attend any lecture or do any work and still outscore our President's scholars at Finals. If you think getting a good PME job in Singapore is hard, you should try getting one in their London, New York or even Hong Kong office. :yikes:
Singapore's reality is Singapore is too small to insulate its people from that kind of competition. The rest of the world does not care whether we swim or sink. -
kiasu_student:
Singapore has been getting more and more terrible nowadays. The prime minister actually thinks Singapore can accomodate 6.9 million people. At this current stage of around 5 million, the transport and housing system is already out of control. With train breakdowns and getting on fire, the parliament cannot handle the situation now. Some Singaporeans begin to leave the country for a better future, as Singapore is just too competitive. The government ought to reconsider getting 6.9 million people, with half are foreigners. Even the tax suggested to charge foreigners not serving NS is not enough. Singapore kids waste 2 years in NS instead of uni. No amt of money can buy youth that is sacrificed.
The solution for you my friend is that if you are a boy then leave Singapore before you turn 13 and don't come back. Very easy, then no overcrowding etc. go to the wide open spaces and free universities in other countries. I am quite sure they will welcome you with open arms :rotflmao:
If you find a country where you can avoid studying and working hard, and still get a good education, housing, job, security, healthcare, transport, by all means go. :siam: -
Just relax:
Whoa bravo! I salute you. Some will say you are rather harsh with your words but sometimes we need reality check, don't we?kiasu_student:
The solution for you my friend is that if you are a boy then leave Singapore before you turn 13 and don't come back. Very easy, then no overcrowding etc. go to the wide open spaces and free universities in other countries. I am quite sure they will welcome you with open arms :rotflmao:
If you find a country where you can avoid studying and working hard, and still get a good education, housing, job, security, healthcare, transport, by all means go. :siam: -
kiasu_student:
kiasu_student, you ne'r watch \"Ah Boys to Men\" ah?!
Was talking to my kids after watching and it suddenly occurred to my 9 year-old son that he would be \"held back\" by 2 years and his \"mei mei\" would have \"caught up\" with him if both can make it to Uni. Frankly speaking, I hadn't quite found a way to console him and rationalise with him. So, I can actually empathise with you.
Some more, majority of Singaporeans agree that citizens should do NS, while new citizens disagree, so what can I say?
Personally, I feel if Singaporeans should do, then new Citizens should do too. However, PM had already said - the CHILDREN of the new citizens need to do NS - if that is any consolation to you.
Another thing is \"given a no choice situation\", i.e. YOU HAVE TO DO NS, then it is a matter of trying to make the most out of it - I know, if you really hate NS, nothing I say will really help, but it is something that girls will ask - \"WHY ONLY GIRLS GET PREGNANT, NOT BOYS?! \" - That's a reality that people need to accept, whether you like it or not, whether you think it is fair or not.
Maybe, things might change in the future due to improvement in technology for example, but for now, it is as it is.
Go watch Ah Boys to Men - from episode 1 !
pirate:
kiasu_student:
Would you believe that some Singaporeans leave to work overseas because Singapore is not competitive enough? If you think getting into NUS and graduating with a good degree from a popular faculty here is too competitive, you should try getting one from Oxford, Cambridge or Harvard. Just you try mugging Singapore style against somebody literally with a photographic memory. I have seen people who hardly seem to attend any lecture or do any work and still outscore our President's scholars at Finals. If you think getting a good PME job in Singapore is hard, you should try getting one in their London, New York or even Hong Kong office. :yikes:
Singapore's reality is Singapore is too small to insulate its people from that kind of competition. The rest of the world does not care whether we swim or sink.
If not for being used to the competition in Singapore, one may not be prepared to compete globally where the competition is cut-throat. -
He gets to hold a real rifle and fire away.. as well as throw grenades.. then, depending on vocation, may handle MG, rocket launchers, mortar, Bangalore torpedoes etc.. mm doesn't have a chance.
Was talking to my kids after watching and it suddenly occurred to my 9 year-old son that he would be \"held back\" by 2 years and his \"mei mei\" would have \"caught up\" with him if both can make it to Uni. Frankly speaking, I hadn't quite found a way to console him and rationalise with him. So, I can actually empathise with you.
Maybe his mm gets to play counter strike, halo and other computer games handling those weapons.. but gor gor gets to play with the REAL thing....... then he can tell mm how shiok it is when throwing a live grenade etc.... :evil: -
He gets to hold a real rifle and fire away.. as well as throw grenades.. then, depending on vocation, may handle MG, rocket launchers, mortar, Bangalore torpedoes etc.. mm doesn't have a chance.concern2:
Maybe his mm gets to play counter strike, halo and other computer games handling those weapons.. but gor gor gets to play with the REAL thing....... then he can tell mm how shiok it is when throwing a live grenade etc.... :evil:
ok, thanks for the tip - must memorize first - grenades, rocket launchers, mortar, bangalore torpedoes....aiyo, what if he asks \"what's that?\" :faint: Better leave it to DH..
Seriously, I don't understand why there are already soooo many questions and doubts on people's mind, and there they go again creating more doubts and sense of inequality amongst people. :siao: Social issues need people with EQ ah....High IQ can only go that far...

:faint: Gong a neh zhue go mai tia.. long bia, long bia... :stupid:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.