Travel: Indonesia - Batam/Bintan

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    163 Posts 67 Posters 146.0k Views 1 Watching
      KS_me

We bought 2 kids (7 and 4) to Bintan Lagoon during June holiday for 3days 2 night.

Yes. The beach is clean and nice but the food is expensive. We 4 had a great time. Till now the kids still remember the nice beach of Bintan.

I should say Bintan is a great short breakaway from busy life in singapore.

heutistmeintag

Luanee:
        We brought 2 kids to Bintan Club Med during Jun hols. Yes u can 'park' them there and go for spa, sailing etc. on ur own. Provided ur kids dont pester u hee..

Reminds of the time I brought my kids to Kuantan Club Med. My kids with my other friends' kids were parked with the teen club minders and they \"forgot\" about us parents until 10 pm, when the minders have to tell them to return to parents. lol

Well, that's how much fun they had! 😎

KS_me:
          We bought 2 kids (7 and 4)....

Wow! Must've been expensive ks_me! :!:
          KS_me:
          Yes. The beach is clean and nice but the food is expensive. We 4 had a great time. Till now the kids still remember the nice beach of Bintan.
          Yep, beach is rather clean especially the Mayang Sari Resort Chalets
          side.. The sand is not just litter free, but almost dead-branch free..
          Clean lah. :lol:

Yeah, the kids love short trips to Bintan anytime! Like 2nd home...
          Yah! They WISH! :lol: Well rather....... WE WISH! Ahahahakz! :lol:
          KS_me:
          I should say Bintan is a great short breakaway from busy life in singapore.

Hear hear! :celebrate:

PS : The currency used is a wet blanket though...
          Would've been better if they stuck to just RPS.. :roll:

mintcc

never been to batam before, but just came back from Nirwana Gardens resort hotel in Bintan. It is the same chain as the Mayang Sari Resort and Nirwana Beach Club. There is a shuttle bus to take in between the different hotels and resort facilities. We put put the kids at the kids club and a car fetch us to the Mayanf Sari for the masssage.

The resort itself have a nice beach (not dead-branch free though), very nice swimming pool with kids club. Can put the kids in for just 5 bucks for almost the whole day (need to collect them during lunch and by 5 pm.
            Food is Singapore cafe price though. Buffet breakfast is yummy with lots of choices. There is even a mini zoo with crocodiles and falcon.

We also got a boat to take us to see the mangrove swarm…quite an interesting experiecne though i heard that it is better to go at night where there are fireflies…

June

Been to Nirwana Gardens resort hotel in Bintan in May and heading there again in Feb. Nice short getaway from the busy citylife like Singapore. Nice beaches, lovely place 🙂

faberdude

IMO, Bintang yes ... Batam no.
                Why not? Was at Harris over the Christmas long weekend. OK, Waterfront City (more like kumpong) is only populated by Holiday Inn and Harris BUT we had fun doing things like paintball, go-kart and flying fox. Didn't try the paragliding, though.

And there's a transfer to Nagoya Hill. Shiok....bought a lot of stuff and had A&W (but no coney dog). That's something you can't get here.

I'd go there agin if I have a few days to spare and don't want to go through the hassle up and down planes/coaches.

foreverj

yendirna:
                  My family came back from bintan clubmed holiday during mid sch hols. Expensive but love by kids. If u are big eaters after paying the 1 time amt u can eat all u want. U can eat and drink non-stop the whole day like a kiasu singaporean. 1 thing memorable this trip was the amount of coral fishes swimming near the rocks on the left of the beach - amazing. We took bread to feed off our hands. The kids were only too overwhelmed.

hi yendirna

did u sign up for additional activities when u r at club med bintan? how much did u pay for the extras? what r some of the fun ones u signed up for? would appreciate if you can share more. thanks!

twinklestars2

hihi,

planning for a trip to Batam, Turi Beach but do not know much abt Batam. The trip is going to be from sat am to sun, late am.

wat is the currency used? what are some activities we can do? how accessible is it? any shops or R & R places to recommend? We are one couple and a 7 yo little girl are going for free and easy.

any suggestions is very appreciated 😉

• O Offline
                      ooptimizer

In Batam, the big shopping centres and the restaurants in hotels can use S$. But the small shops may use Rupiah.

• O Offline
                        ooptimizer

For Turi Beach, please try not to bring along senior citizens who cannot climb or walk well. You will have to climb up many steps to go to your room. But for children this will be fun.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 17