2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
http://seab.gov.sg/examTimeTable/2013PSLEExamTimetable.pdf
PSLE dates are up.
Last (official) date for all exams is 2 October. ScaredyMum, you can go off right that very afternoon for the much awaited vacation or Dec before or after sec sch posting depending on where you are going and how long.
ScaredyMum, i'm sure your DS will appreciate this surprise? Issit a surprise vacation plan?
Hehehe... yeah surprise for DS. Hwr, can't go off immed after PSLE lei, cos still have DS2 who will have SA2 in late Oct, finish by early Nov.http://seab.gov.sg/examTimeTable/2013PSLEExamTimetable.pdf
PSLE dates are up.
Last (official) date for all exams is 2 October. ScaredyMum, you can go off right that very afternoon for the much awaited vacation or Dec before or after sec sch posting depending on where you are going and how long.
ScaredyMum, i'm sure your DS will appreciate this surprise? Issit a surprise vacation plan?
Arh... another good time could be the last/2nd last week of school, before sch holidays start? Must we ask the school for permission earlier as the school will be posting the students to their classes next year and giving out school report cards. Alamak so difficult to find a good timing... :scratchhead:
Dun really prefer Dec cos thinking of going OZ or NZ and Dec could be very hot! Nov shld be slightly better... -
ScaredyMum, quite a lot of parents pull their kids out of school after SA2. Just hv to inform school. If you worry about report book, next year class - then plan the hol immediately after the last paper - teachers usually need min one week to mark and prepare report book
Pen88n:
Best time to travel is during PSLE marking week or 1st 2 weeks of Dec.
I don't think the PSLE dates are out yet, but MOE should be informing soon.ScaredyMum:
Any idea after PSLE when will the results be out and by when must we submit the Sec Sch selection and know the results?
Planning year end hols as a celebration for DS completing his PSLE but dun wanna clash with results collection date and/or Sec Sch selection/result dates...
TIA!
Based on past years, PSLE results are usually released between 21-25 Nov (so far, it is usually on a Thur). You are supposed to submit your secondary school application within a week. Thereafter, the school posting results will only be out about 20 Dec (+/- one to two days) and kids need to report to their new school the very next day.
Best timing for trip would be after PSLE before result release (that is if school is ok to release kid earlier - most schools do not mind) or after result release in early Dec before the school posting is out.
Hope this helps. -
lurline:
You need to respresent your school in inter school/national competition & won some kind of awards to be qualified for Academic DSA. You can try if your child has gold or platinum for Math/Science Olympiad or Higher distinction for NSW. These kids still have to sit for entry test or go for interview.
Thank you, lurline. We will check them outng2010:
Some schools accept Science as a domain for DSA. DHS and VS etc
My friend's ds applied thru science domain at VS and got in.
Your child is strong in Math & Science, same as my son who took PSLE last year. As long as he is not weak in languages, he should be able to do well in PSLE. We did not try DSA for my boy. He is now in the Catholic High & he joins the debate club. All the best to your son! -
mummy so kiasu:
My son does not have any gold/platinum for Math Olympiad. I was not aware there is Science Olympiad because his school does not have. Is there any Science Olympiad? I think he would have enjoyed it more than MO.
You need to respresent your school in inter school/national competition & won some kind of awards to be qualified for Academic DSA. You can try if your child has gold or platinum for Math/Science Olympiad or Higher distinction for NSW. These kids still have to sit for entry test or go for interview.lurline:
Thank you, lurline. We will check them out
Your child is strong in Math & Science, same as my son who took PSLE last year. As long as he is not weak in languages, he should be able to do well in PSLE. We did not try DSA for my boy. He is now in the Catholic High & he joins the debate club. All the best to your son!
We are not sure about DSA. It looks like each school has their own requirements. We will definitely work hard for PSLE.
Thank you
I don't think you need to have certificates to prove that you won any academic competitions to get in through DSA Academic.
I'm a student (just finished PSLE last year! :boogie: ) who, although born in Singapore, has been overseas in Canada her whole life. I registered for DSA Academic for Nanyang Girl's High and RGS, and I got in (now a happy student at NYGH!) I think that what you need to do most is to impress the teachers watching your interview (being cheerful, open, able to make people laugh, take the role as leader). Although, I did win some piano and table tennis competitions, plus I have certificates for swimming and track and field, I never entered any academic competition before. So make sure you're all rounded!
I also don't think drinking chicken essence and tea bags and stuff is necessary. Sure, stuffing your child with good food is awesome, and good hearty meals are great, but I really don't think all that \"brain\" food helps. Just be hard working. When I got back from Canada last year, I didn't really know any Chinese. But I worked hard (without tutors, my parents are awesome enough!) and I scored an A*. I got 4 A* in the end, with a score of 274, so I was quite pleased with myself.
As long as your child has motivation, is hard working and willing to put in the effort, I bet he/she will do great in the PSLE! Go, go, go!
MountainSeaBreeze:
Thank you for sharing MountainSeaBreeze. And congratulations for your achievement. Really great!I don't think you need to have certificates to prove that you won any academic competitions to get in through DSA Academic.
I'm a student (just finished PSLE last year! :boogie: ) who, although born in Singapore, has been overseas in Canada her whole life. I registered for DSA Academic for Nanyang Girl's High and RGS, and I got in (now a happy student at NYGH!) I think that what you need to do most is to impress the teachers watching your interview (being cheerful, open, able to make people laugh, take the role as leader). Although, I did win some piano and table tennis competitions, plus I have certificates for swimming and track and field, I never entered any academic competition before. So make sure you're all rounded!
I also don't think drinking chicken essence and tea bags and stuff is necessary. Sure, stuffing your child with good food is awesome, and good hearty meals are great, but I really don't think all that \"brain\" food helps. Just be hard working. When I got back from Canada last year, I didn't really know any Chinese. But I worked hard (without tutors, my parents are awesome enough!) and I scored an A*. I got 4 A* in the end, with a score of 274, so I was quite pleased with myself.
As long as your child has motivation, is hard working and willing to put in the effort, I bet he/she will do great in the PSLE! Go, go, go!
Can't help feeling disappointed with DS CA EL results (others dunno yet :xedfingers: )... He made some good progress last year after SA1 but this CA he plunged again... :sad:
Whole night I was angry, depressed and worried. Haven't get the papers back yet so dunno what went wrong (careless or really dunno). I retired early last night to avoid blasting at him. I am \"afraid\" I may blast at him or cane him when I see the papers.
I promised him I will bring him out for a \"one-to-one-date\" during the March hols (not counting another weekend out). Now I am considering if I should break the promise to \"punish\" him for the lousy work he produced. What do other parents think? Do you all let your P6 kids take a break during the Mar hols or still study as usual? -
ScaredyMum:
Did he put in hard work before the tests? Has he shown to be willing to ask questions to clarify the issues he is unclear about? Were the tests unrealistically tough? I would hesitate to judge a child's performance purely on results. If he has tried his best, punishing him will just show him that trying hard isn't worth it. Of course, if he has been lazy and not shown good attitude, then some penalty may teach him a lesson.Can't help feeling disappointed with DS CA EL results (others dunno yet :xedfingers: )... He made some good progress last year after SA1 but this CA he plunged again... :sad:
Whole night I was angry, depressed and worried. Haven't get the papers back yet so dunno what went wrong (careless or really dunno). I retired early last night to avoid blasting at him. I am \"afraid\" I may blast at him or cane him when I see the papers.
I promised him I will bring him out for a \"one-to-one-date\" during the March hols (not counting another weekend out). Now I am considering if I should break the promise to \"punish\" him for the lousy work he produced. What do other parents think? Do you all let your P6 kids take a break during the Mar hols or still study as usual?
My daughter prepared for PSLE in 2011 while we were overseas as we only went back to Singapore 3 mths before the exams. I generally let her have some breaks completely free - as far as I recall, she had a couple of no-work weeks around CNY and also another couple in June as we were on our way home. The rest of her vacation time I would generally ask her to put in a couple of hours a day before having the rest of the day free. Breaks are good for kids as their minds need refreshment and relaxation too. My deal with my kids is that they work hard when they are working, and then I will give them some completely free time. So far we've found that a good system.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.