greggymum:
Hi sorry, just to correct myself. Both YZ primary and NC primary are currently operating as \"partial single session\" ie P1 and P2 in afternoon session and the other levels in the morning session. Found the info at the MOE website: http://www.moe.gov.sg/initiatives/single-session/#double-sessionHi hquek,
thanks for the advice!
Actually I have already been to YZ primary to take a look around, the school's a little small, but gives a cosy feeling. Also due to its size, it is not going to be single session anytime soon. Anyone care to comment on the benefits of single session school?
Just to confirm, i checked out Nan Chiau Primary , and dun think it is affiliated to NC sec school. But my hubby being an old boy really gives the assurance of securing a place in Pri 1 registration. So now my only consideration is the distance ...will make a trip there one day and find out. BTW anyone knows when do Primary schools have open house? -
I understand that SHHK is looking into extending facilities in the schools under their care - so there may be some construction planned for NC and this would likely result in them being able to go single session in future.
I prefer single session cos when my younger goes to school, itβll be easier since both will be in same session; and also my kids are morning kids, afternoon they usually take naps - so likely brain functioning slower; and I like the idea of finishing school in the early afternoon, do homework then and then can get good rest at night - if itβs afternoon session, likely homework to push to nighttime (else next morning sure to panic). Personal ideas reallyβ¦ -
I need some good advices as it will be my first-time enrolling my child to primary school. I mean the school curriculum and system nowadays are so different from my time (I'm 30 this year :rahrah: ) so I'm very very confuse. Here's what happen.
I have 3 choices of schools to enrol my gal in year 2011 (tat too soon to decide but if I have to become a PV in that school, I will need more time).
1) Opera Estate Primary - I was a former student there but distance can be a problem
2) Nan Chiau Primary - Within 1 km of my residency with good reviews of the school
3) CHIJ OLN - I stay no where nearby and I don't have any affiliations with the school UNLESS I become a PV (not guranteed placing either)
Among all, I hope very much for my girl to go to CHIJ OLN, reason being I like her to go to a one gender school especially when they will also include biblical teachings (I'm a free thinker btw).
I read that the registration, parents can only select one school and then only try to find alternatives if unable to enrol in first choice.
I like to make a final decision on one and say if I wanted CHIJ so much, I could be a PV in their school rite, though it's no guranteed.
What do you think parents? I like to hear your 2 cents worth :oops:
Btw, what phase am I considered in then for the individual 3 selections?
Anyone has kids in Holy Innocents? Any reviews? -
For Opera Estate, you can register your daughter under Phase 2A2 for former students.
As for Nan Chiau and CHIJ OLN, you are under Phase 2C. Hope that
helps.
Your best chance would be Nan Chiau since you are within 1km of the school. -
Hi
For Nan Chiau, balloting is required though you may be staying within 1km. It has been so for quite a few year. No affiliation to Nan Chiau High. Both my kids are in CHIJ OLN and they are happy - not a stressful environment and affiliated to SJC subject to min T score of 200. They donβt attend biblical lessons on Fridays as only applicable to catholics. Not sure if parents can opt in. -
Hi chic_savy!
chic_savvy:
You are still a young parent. Not that far away, right?...(I'm 30 this year :rahrah: ) so I'm very very confuse. Here's what happen.
chic_savvy:
Actually, if you need to enrol your girl in 2011, you need to apply for PV next year. So, strictly speaking, you don't really have a lot of time.I have 3 choices of schools to enrol my gal in year 2011 (tat too soon to decide but if I have to become a PV in that school, I will need more time).
chic_savvy:
You will be in Phase 2A2. Actually, how far exactly is the school from your house? You may like to register your girl in this school first during Phase 2A2, and monitor the situation when it comes to subsequent phases.1) Opera Estate Primary - I was a former student there but distance can be a problem
chic_savvy:
You will be in Phase 2C. Historically, balloting occurred in Phase 2C for those staying within 1 km. Perhaps you would like to apply for PV for this school, if it accepts PV. Alternatively, if you are a Hokkien, you may like to consider the SHHK route, albeit a bit late. But, no harm trying.2) Nan Chiau Primary - Within 1 km of my residency with good reviews of the school
chic_savvy:
You will be in Phase 2C. Like Opera Estate, you need to consider the distance travelled to CHIJ OLN should you send your girl there.3) CHIJ OLN - I stay no where nearby and I don't have any affiliations with the school UNLESS I become a PV (not guranteed placing either)
chic_savvy:
Actually, you can register your girl in an earlier phase, withdraw and apply at another school in a later phase if the latter school's situation is favourable. At any one point in time, you should only register with one school.I read that the registration, parents can only select one school and then only try to find alternatives if unable to enrol in first choice.
Based on the above, my suggestion is as follows:
1. Apply for PV in Nan Chiau, or membership in SHHK. Try to get into Phase 2B.
2. Come enrolment time, register your girl in Opera Estate during Phase 2A2 first. When it comes to Phase 2B, monitor the situation and decide if you want to switch to Nan Chiau. If you decide to register her in Nan Chiau, withdraw her name from Opera Estate. You will then be able to register her in Nan Chiau.
Sorry, I wouldn't be insistent on sending my child to CHIJ OLN. Hence, I wouldn't subject her to long hours of travelling between the house and school. As such, this school is out for me. If you are really keen to send her to this school, you may like to try to get into Phase 2B, too.
BTW, you have not reported at the Newbie thread yet, right? Can you please report there? It's the SOP in KSP.com.
chic_savvy:
Your profile indicated you have a younger boy.Among all, I hope very much for my girl to go to CHIJ OLN, reason being I like her to go to a one gender school especially when they will also include biblical teachings (I'm a free thinker btw).
If your DD does end up going to CHIJ, you will have to go through the selection headache again a few years later.
Just something for you to consider... -
BigDevil:
Your profile indicated you have a younger boy.
Wait! Chic_savvy, if your profile is correct, your girl was born in 2004, right? So, if she was born in 2004, you will need to register her next year, not 2011. She will start her P1 in 2011.
If this is the case, it is too late now to talk about PV application anywhere, unless you are doing for your boy. -
Thank you so so much! I have been very confused with my status on those phases haha :oops:For Opera Estate, you can register your daughter under Phase 2A2 for former students.
As for Nan Chiau and CHIJ OLN, you are under Phase 2C. Hope that
helps.
Your best chance would be Nan Chiau since you are within 1km of the school. -
Thank you so much for your advices. It gave me a better idea on how I should start. And yes, I am also aware that the registration for P1 in 2011 is in mid 2010
That's why now I am ready (kiasu) to become a PV kekeke.
Actually though I was a former student from OEPS, the distance travelling could pose a problem at times. Why I said that is because:
1) Actually I am residing in Sengkang now BUT we have businesses running in Siglap so that's not too bad. But then again, sometime working hours might clashes. Having said that, the hours for preparation to school will also have to be planned even earlier.
2) We have plans to buy a private estate around that area (if our business for the next 1 year is very huat lah haha) but then it's not something concrete and confirm so back to point 1 that is my main concern.
In fact CHIJ's distance is nearer to us compared to OEPS. My parents house is also in Sengkang so in any case that I am unable to send or fetch, it's easier to get help from them
As for my son's future P1 registration, my husband already has plans to send him to St. Andrews cos he was a former student there
So that's why the 3 choices of schools and the confusions! OEPS has a higher chance of getting a placing but distance, NanChiau is absolutely fine, near to my place (and my mum's), good grades and reputation (and I'm a hokkien!) but some how the enthusiam is not there if you know what I mean and finally CHIJ, well like her to be one-gender school cos she likes to play rough and the boys at kindergarten also likes to play with her so hope she could be more feminine after going there (silly rite hahaha). And most of all, I appreciate biblical teachings even though I'm a free thinker.
I'll show my husband tonite on all your kind advices then see what the man says lor hahaha
Oh and so sorry, I will report my \"enrollment\" in the newbie thread
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.