From PSLE to University
James Ang:
Some schools are already using O level textbooks in sec 1, why still spend 4 years on O levels or equivalent syllabus (even if the student is on IP) when they start doing O levels syllabus in Sec 1 (Year 1 for IP)?
Of course, these schools are not spending 4 years on O syllabus..They would likely cover the A levels as well, leaving the last 2 years for H3 subjects. -
2ppaamm:
Hmmm ..... interesting .... didn't know this.
.... how many kids who excel at PSLE top their \"A\" levels or in their uni? Safely, less than 1%.
So what happen to the top PSLE students when they reach \"A\" level ?
Those top \"A\" level students, what's their score in PSLE ? -
does it matter? :?
Hmmm ..... interesting .... didn't know this.2ppaamm:
.... how many kids who excel at PSLE top their \"A\" levels or in their uni? Safely, less than 1%.
So what happen to the top PSLE students when they reach \"A\" level ?
Those top \"A\" level students, what's their score in PSLE ? -
2ppaamm:
is this based on published or confidential facts, or is it heresay?
.... how many kids who excel at PSLE top their \"A\" levels or in their uni? Safely, less than 1%. -
mathsparks:
I agree that justification is required otherwise the statement does not hold water.
is this based on published or confidential facts, or is it heresay?2ppaamm:
mathsparks:
The fact is that the first 4 years of IP are separate from the final 2 years of IP by place of study (they either move to JC or to the senior high school in the case of DHS) and also there is an EOY exam at year 4 covering mostly O levels type of work before \"graduation\" to affiliated JC or senior high. Do you know of someone who does A levels syllabus in IP from Year 1 to Year 4?James Ang:
Some schools are already using O level textbooks in sec 1, why still spend 4 years on O levels or equivalent syllabus (even if the student is on IP) when they start doing O levels syllabus in Sec 1 (Year 1 for IP)?
Of course, these schools are not spending 4 years on O syllabus..They would likely cover the A levels as well, leaving the last 2 years for H3 subjects. -
James Ang:
I agree that justification is required otherwise the statement does not hold water. :D[/quote]I know this to be true anecdotally although I don't have percentages. A few of my friends were chatting earlier in the year and this is the same conclusion we came up with. The kids who did well and went on to start schools were mostly only so-so in primary school. Yes there were two who were outstanding throughout (I was from a girl's school), but the top crowd changed quite a bit. And when we came out to work, the successful one (measured by $$, how far they got ahead in terms of work titles) were again different. DH had the same conclusions, and so did my friends.
is this based on published or confidential facts, or is it heresay?mathsparks:
[quote=\"2ppaamm\"]
Was it like similar for you guys? -
Blobbi:
I couldn't remember where I read this, it must be 2 years ago when the PSLE results came out. Nevertheless, I teach in the U, from my observation of thousands of students, this is quite true.I know this to be true anecdotally although I don't have percentages. A few of my friends were chatting earlier in the year and this is the same conclusion we came up with. The kids who did well and went on to start schools were mostly only so-so in primary school. Yes there were two who were outstanding throughout (I was from a girl's school), but the top crowd changed quite a bit. And when we came out to work, the successful one (measured by $$, how far they got ahead in terms of work titles) were again different. DH had the same conclusions, and so did my friends.
Was it like similar for you guys?
But take a look at TMSS. At <14, our students top in Maths and Science, after that, it is silence. U12 win all the medals at international meets, above 18 silence. Our kids burn out too early. Even our national coaches know that for sports, and for academic studies, if I am considered an expert, then I do see that as well. -
does it matter? :?
He he, I also don't track this. Not important lah. What you can do is take down all the top PSLE scholars 6 years ago and check if they are the same guys in \"A\" levels. I know only of 1 leh... Unless my info is wrong? 小时了了,大未必佳。
Again, I'm talking about that top top, not about just good PSLE scores.
Also, if you track, it's not those who did well in schools that will excel at work. In the U, we have this funny joke: Be nice to the 1st class honours, they will be our Research assistant, Be nice to the 2nd class honours, they will be great industry contacts, be nice to the non-honours, they will be great industry leaders. Be the nicest to the drop outs, they will be our bosses! Isn't that true? Look at Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg, Richard Branson etc etc etc...
So, in view of all these, why bother to train our kids into human calculators, better to let them enjoy life and smell the flowers, they will all (90%?) end up in the U (for the next gen, and look at Chief's posting on birthrate and school vacancies - as educators, we all know this), but, to excel, you've got to train your kids other stuff: passion, EQ, human-touch etc etc. Look, if everyone is getting straight As, your kid's got to excel in something else, right? That something else I believe is human touch. Check with industry leaders and human capital management experts on this. Straight As students without that 'extra' don't impress employers anymore. O, unless you want your kids to end up like me... It's a great job, by the way...
Why are you educating your children and why do you want them to score straight A's? I can think of some reasons: 1. So that they learn how to work hard. 2. So that they'll get a good job 3. So that my friends think that I have a smart son/daughter 4. So that I have face 5. Don't know leh, everyone is doing it.
Along the way, we lost our sense of direction. Many of us are pushing our kids for reason (3) and (4). In reality, we don't really need to push so hard if we instill them responsibility and courage and love. They'll all make it and make a decent living. Worse still, if we push too hard, they will burn out and switch off completely. I know some kids who totally 'lost it' in secondary schools and in the Us. Very common hor... Also do some research, please. Teenagers and children are different from adults, their propensity to take pressure is far less than adults, we normally think the opposite. So, a lot of people become insane, siow in their late teenage years. I have done quite a fair bit of research on this, and witnessed this myself. So, look at long term, not just to ace schools. (Having said all these, it is important for me that my kids get into good schools, why? because there are just too many irresponsible or busy parents who cannot or won't teach their kids. Face it, peer influence is vital, and I don't want the wrong kind of peer influence for my kids, good schools buffer some of that.)
Better stop here or I'll go on and on with my lectures. I'm on hols now, so I lecture here instead of in school. :lol: O, me and my strange philosophy again... -
mathsparks:
It can't be so low. Some more 'Safely'... LOL. It is definitely heresay!
is this based on published or confidential facts, or is it heresay?2ppaamm:
Singapore system suppose to identify Gifted/ scholers early ... then how can it be less than 1 %
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.