How much time you spent with your child
Definitely enough time to hug, kiss and say "I love you" daily to my child and in return the child will do the same back to me. Tuck my child to sleep and kiss good nite. Sometimes my child will do that for me if I fell asleep while reading bedtime stories to her.
Truth be told, I am more worried about ‘how much time do you divide to spend a fair time with each child’. Juggling 3 children, business, time for each kid, time for husband has been taking a toll on me lately

DD1 came home a few weeks ago and shared that her teacher gave this story as a listening comprehension passage.
Family Stories with Morals : What is a family?
A father came home from work late, tired and irritated, to find his 5-year old son waiting for him at the door.
Son: \"Father, may I ask you a question?\"
Father replied: \"Yeah sure, what is it?\"
Son: \"Father, how much do you make an hour?\"
Father said angrily: \"That's none of your business. Why do you ask such a thing?\"
Son: \"I just want to know. Please tell me, how much do you make an hour?\"
Father: \"If you must know, I make $20 an hour.\"
\"Oh,\" the little boy replied, with his head down. Looking up, he said, \"Father, may I please borrow $10?\"
The father was furious, \"If the only reason you asked that is so you can borrow some money to buy a silly toy or some other nonsense, then you march yourself straight to your room and go to bed. Think about why you are being so selfish. I work hard everyday for such childish behaviour.\"
The little boy quietly went to his room and shut the door. Father sat down and started to get even angrier about the little boy's questions. How dare he ask such questions only to get some money? After about an hour or so, the father had calmed down, and started to think: Maybe there was something he really needed to buy with that $10 and he really didn't ask for money very often.
The father went to the door of the little boy's room and opened the door.
\"Are you asleep, son?\" Father asked.
\"No Father, I am awake,\" replied the little boy.
\"I have been thinking, maybe I was too hard on you earlier,\" said the father. \"It's been a long day and I took out my aggravation on you. Here's the $10 you asked for.\"
The little boy sat straight up, smiling. \"Oh, thank you Father!\" He yelled.
Then, reaching under his pillow he pulled out some crumpled up bills.
The father, seeing that the little boy already had money, started to get angry again.
The little boy slowly counted out his money, and then looked up at his father.
\"Why do you want more money if you already have some?\" the father grumbled.
\"Because I didn't have enough, but now I do,\" the little boy replied.
\"Father, I have $20 now. Can I buy an hour of your time? Please come home early tomorrow. I would like to have dinner with you.\"
Moral of the Story: Share this story with someone you like... But even better, share $20 worth of time with someone you love. It's just a short reminder to all of you working so hard in life.
We should not let time slip through our fingers without having spent some time with those who really matter to us, those close to our hearts.
If we die tomorrow, the company that we are working for could easily replace us in a matter of days.
But the family and friends we leave behind will feel the loss for the rest of their lives. And come to think of it, we pour ourselves more into work than to our family. An unwise investment indeed!
So what is the moral of the story?
Don't work too hard...and you know what the full word of FAMILY is?
FAMILY = (F)ATHER (A)ND (M)OTHER,(I)(L)OVE (Y)OU!
Spend quality time for the people you are working so hard for... the people that really matter. -
toddles:
thanks for sharing Buds! gotta get my hands on that book. would be nice to have it to check off... also as a what-to-do idea book!
You are welcome, toddles. :celebrate:
Yup, agree. Would be a good what-to-do idea book.
nice intro on the book buds.
gog to borrow now. :siam: -
Think DD had the chance to experience most of the 101 things that kids should do except for the following
4. Camp in the backyard.
Our backyard to small. But we have camped out in the living room before. We did living room glamping. haha. Set up tent and turn on living room aircon.
17. Do a senior study.
Not sure what that is.
20. Take a night time hike by the light of the moon.
This I think I will make it a point to do. But maybe not in Singapore.
25. Go for a ride in a small airplane.
No chance yet but am sure they will be able to experience it in our future travels.
32. See a classic movie on the big screen
No chance.
33. Go to a parade
NDP rehearsal organised by school counted?
36. Participate in a 'thon'
No chance yet.
45. Write a 'memory letter'.
98. Learn about the family's history.
This mummy and daddy gotta learn first. haha.
DS has not experienced as many things as DD. For instance, preparing a meal, which DD did but DS did not as he has no interest in muddling around in the kitchen now that he is tall enough to reach the stove. DD has a penpal of sorts but DS doesn't and is not inclined to find any.
I like the one where about staying out until the stars come out. We do that a lot on travels as in Singapore you can hardly see any stars. The one inciden that stood out was one Christmas in Port Dickson. We were going back to our chalet when we realised that the sky was very clear and dotted with so many stars. We laid down on the boardwalk and started guessing what stars or constellations they are, like orion's belt, etc. DH has a constellation app on his ipad so he pulled it up and it being christmas, there was this little icon of Santa in his sleigh going across the screen. The kids shrieked in excitement saying it's Santa, and the looked up into the sky hoping to see Santa riding across the sky. Before long, other kids joined us in our star gazing and all were so excited. When we called it a night, we can hear some of the kids saying in wonderment, Santa leh, and others, especially the older ones, going bluff one lah. hahah :love: So innocent. -
this thread talks about we, being the parents, are the busy ones and the kids are the free ones.
Now how about the other way round? Did we load them too many classes till they got no time to spend with us? That the only time spend with them is travelling time with them to their classes?
How many is considered enough?
for those who have kids in full-time child care, and classes on wkends, would loading them with classes on wk nights be too much for them to take? -
SBKS:
One obvious sign of too much - when your kid fall asleep while eating. Imagine that! No kidding, it happened on my colleague's kid who is exactly like what you say - go to full time cc, loaded with classes on weekday evenings and weekends too.this thread talks about we, being the parents, are the busy ones and the kids are the free ones.
Now how about the other way round? Did we load them too many classes till they got no time to spend with us? That the only time spend with them is travelling time with them to their classes?
How many is considered enough?
for those who have kids in full-time child care, and classes on wkends, would loading them with classes on wk nights be too much for them to take?
I personally don't load my kid's with weekday evening classes. Find it too much, after a full day at cc. -
Imami:
One obvious sign of too much - when your kid fall asleep while eating. Imagine that! No kidding, it happened on my colleague's kid who is exactly like what you say - go to full time cc, loaded with classes on weekday evenings and weekends too.
I personally don't load my kid's with weekday evening classes. Find it too much, after a full day at cc.
same here. after full day CC duno hw they tahan the evening classes. wkend already have 2 classes. she want ballet now...duno where to place it. -
The moment they come home after school, it’s rush rush chop chop to shower, lunch, clear up, breathe 5-10 min before starting some work. After 30 min, eye kids start to shut. Take nap together.
After waking up, that is the perfect time to learn spelling and then dinner, bath and continuing work/revision.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.