All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
      ImMeeMee

af7680:

all mummies,
      I am considering to put him in eipic in the afternoon 3 times a week in addition to daily CC in the morning.
      do you have any recommendation for mild asd child?
      thank you.
      af, as far as I know, there is no magic formula for a breakdown between EIPIC and mainstream CC for ASD, mild or otherwise.

Some parents pay more weightage to EIPIC and support with mainstream, like myself, while some parents do the vice versa. In either case, the recommendation that I have heard from professionals is that mainstream exposure would be good for the ASD child as it provides for social interaction with NT kids. EIPIC on the other hand provides a more structured environment with trained teachers to facilitate the specific learning requirements of special needs children.

Your first formula between EIPIC and mainstream probably sounds right. Its good to keep a look out and make adjustments along the way depending on how your child fits into the environment.

Good luck! :xedfingers:

nugget

helplessmum3:
        Imeemee.

Rainbow keep saying their OT long wait time even those who Join them before my son is not yet see OT..

How ? Is private OT expensive ?? Then go eipic centre n no therapist given then go there for what 😞
        Have you requested for KKH Rehab for OT sessions?

My son has focusing issues and I have requested KKH rehab to schedule OT sessions for my son. But they need to get consensuses from KKH-CDC doctor. So I wrote in to KKH CDC doctor and now all are approved. My son is going for his first KKH Rehab lesson next month.

As your child is mild, priority might not be given to your child. Their therapist will see those more severe cases first. Every parents will be anxious and want their child to be attended to. Did you feed back to the teacher asking the frequency for his OT?

My son in his EIPIC attends 1 hour OT per week.

nugget

😢 I just came back from my trip last week.

In my resort, my son wanted to join their kids club for games and fun. I send him in and when I went to join him at one of the family \"cookies baking\" event, I found him standing in one corner, weeping.. I am so heart broken 😢

He said things like \"beat all the friends, make all the friends die, I dun like friends, kick all the friends\". (lately we saw a dead bird and someone committed suicide in my estate not too long ago, so we explain him about death = no longer around).

I've never see him so so sad before. I think someone bullied him. I asked him if he was beaten by the game keepers or the other children, he said no... I asked the game keeper if he got into fight with the kids, game keeper say no. Just that son is always walking behind, need to be asked to keep up.

After son cool down, He took a long time then tell us \"friends disturb me\". Sigh.... Now I am very worry about his P1 again. But I know he need to learn how to deal with it. There will always be people who are not nice and tease or bully him.

• sharonkhooS Offline
            sharonkhoo

nugget:
            😢 I just came back from my trip last week.

In my resort, my son wanted to join their kids club for games and fun. I send him in and when I went to join him at one of the family \"cookies baking\" event, I found him standing in one corner, weeping.. I am so heart broken 😢

He said things like \"beat all the friends, make all the friends die, I dun like friends, kick all the friends\". (lately we saw a dead bird and someone committed suicide in my estate not too long ago, so we explain him about death = no longer around).

I've never see him so so sad before. I think someone bullied him. I asked him if he was beaten by the game keepers or the other children, he said no... I asked the game keeper if he got into fight with the kids, game keeper say no. Just that son is always walking behind, need to be asked to keep up.

After son cool down, He took a long time then tell us \"friends disturb me\". Sigh.... Now I am very worry about his P1 again. But I know he need to learn how to deal with it. There will always be people who are not nice and tease or bully him.
            I'm sorry to hear of your son's experience. Did you warn the game keeper to keep an eye on your son? When leaving my daughter with strangers, I usually have a word with them first. I won't give her diagnosis, but just say that she can be shy or that she doesn't always operate well in group situations. Often, just that little bit of awareness from the adults in charge is enough, ad they will be more watchful about bullying etc. Don't worry too much about P1 because the teachers will be more aware and responsible than these game keepers.

nugget

Yup, actually I told them my son is a bit autistic. They say as long as he is non violent, shld be okay. But they keep changing game keepers (its not easy to keep up with a bunch of 4-7 years old). So I guess they didnt know.

He had fun last time at the kids club. I prep him already, thought he will do well. But I then I never expect he will met bully. So I guessed that came as unexpected to him. But at least he still know how to feel upset with people disturbing him with words. Not so oblivious after all.

I think it affect me more than him cos I keep dwelling on it. He on the other hand, upon seeing ice cream and swimming pool, he already forgotten about it.

But next day we met a kid at the resort, that kid recognized my son and called him by his name. As the game keepers dont even know my son's name, I guessed my son must have, along the way, introduce himself at some point 🙂

Double E

Nugget

I am very sorry to hear about your boy’s experience too. Bullies and teasing…these are the things that worry me all the time too because as mothers, it is definitely heartbreaking to see our kids being the victim in such situation and the motherly instinct is to stand up for our kids and defend them. Can totally feel you.

Today is my kids’ first day in their new kindy. Thankfully, both of them did not cry and seem to be able to adapt well to the new environment. My boy, the special one was very excited during the assembly session as they were singing worship songs. And he kept running to the front to catch the teacher’s attention, which I think is not appropriate. I have to keep gesturing to him to step back.

After class, the teacher was also very nice to give me her feedback. She said, generally he is well-behaved, knows his stuff well but he stand up and walk around the class to explore for a few times while lessons were going on. The teacher was understanding though as she said that there are kids who will do that when in a new environment so she let him be but still pulled him back to lesson when he gets overboard. I told the teacher to be stern and firm with him if required as his CC teacher was quite stern and he doesn’t walk around when he was there.

Overall, I have a good feeling about this church kindy, hope my kids esp my boy will learn and flourish in the house of God. Jia you everyone!

braverymom

Usually when things happened, the one that being affected the most is always mother. I felt upset too when I saw my son was being isolated by friend’s children when we had a gathering last year. But lately when we gathered again, then I noticed, that child of my friend is an introvert shy girl.

Sometimes we are just being too sensitive when something happen. There is a boy that I know of, 7 years old mild autistic boy. he also will make statement like your son did, eg: I hate all of you, I want all of you to die, I want to beat all of you till death! That horrified us, then when we asked the teacher, the teacher said the friends don’t mean to teast him, but was trying to make him talk, just that children being children, can’t control their tone. Actually those sentences, he picked it up from his mom! His mom was frustrated about his learning disabilities, and spit out those word uncontrollable. It is really important for mother to stay calm.

nugget

Sorry to rant again.

After the trip, my son is fussing when he goes to his mainstream CC again. This morning screamed and sat on the floor. Sigh…

Tonight must do social story with him already. And keep telling him he must be good boy and go to school happily.

nugget

braverymom:
                      Usually when things happened, the one that being affected the most is always mother. I felt upset too when I saw my son was being isolated by friend's children when we had a gathering last year. But lately when we gathered again, then I noticed, that child of my friend is an introvert shy girl.

Sometimes we are just being too sensitive when something happen. There is a boy that I know of, 7 years old mild autistic boy. he also will make statement like your son did, eg: I hate all of you, I want all of you to die, I want to beat all of you till death! That horrified us, then when we asked the teacher, the teacher said the friends don't mean to teast him, but was trying to make him talk, just that children being children, can't control their tone. Actually those sentences, he picked it up from his mom! His mom was frustrated about his learning disabilities, and spit out those word uncontrollable. It is really important for mother to stay calm.
                      Yes, I feel sad when our child is being outcast.. I guessed we also need to learn how to keep our chin up. Cos the children will sense our mood.
                      I guess you are right about being the sensitive part cos I am sure children dun dwell on unhappy things.. only adult does. Haha.

Ya, my son keep saying this die , that die, i want this to die.. aiyo. Not so nice. Must teach him to say appropriately.
                      My young kid now keep saying \"Lah\" when he speaks. At home we don't speak \"lah\", \"leh\"... hope he don't make it a habit.

• sharonkhooS Offline
                        sharonkhoo

nugget:
                        Yes, I feel sad when our child is being outcast.. I guessed we also need to learn how to keep our chin up. Cos the children will sense our mood. I guess you are right about being the sensitive part cos I am sure children dun dwell on unhappy things.. only adult does. Haha.

Ya, my son keep saying this die , that die, i want this to die.. aiyo. Not so nice. Must teach him to say appropriately.
                        My young kid now keep saying \"Lah\" when he speaks. At home we don't speak \"lah\", \"leh\"... hope he don't make it a habit.
                        Is your son introverted or extroverted? My daughter is an introvert, so it makes it easier when she is left out as she doesn't really care. I always hope that there will be someone who will try to involve her and accept her, and in a large steady group like a school class, there will usually be some. It's more touch and go whether there will be such people in small ad hoc groups like at a resort. Often, when I think it's likely that she will be left out or that she won't like all the activities, I will tell her to bringa book or drawing materials along (things she likes to do) so she has something to do if she doesn't participate. They also act as conversation starters if there are people interested to ask what she's up to.

Kids pick up words and speech expressions from the people around them. Someone probably uses 'die' a lot in his hearing. Try to get him to be more moderate and acurate in his expression by asking him if he really means what he says, and then teach him other ways of expressing his feelings.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 399 / 794