How much should I give my parents?
Well I have heard of some parents who ask for more as soon as pay is risen
Imami:
You will be surprised! Some dun say it out openly but if they know how much their kids r earning they will \"calculate\" if what they received is \"enough\". Some even use that to gauge their children's filial piety. Sometimes, they will compare with relatives how much their kids r earning and how much they r receiving and if they find their % lower than their relatives they may not be happy.
do you hv any examples to support why/how you feel that way?SBKS:
understand from your point of view.
I just keep thinking that they want to know about it so that they will know whether the amount they received from us is justifiable or not and if they should ask more or not.
Not that I don't believe you, but this is something new to me becos both my pil and parents do not operate like that and I hv yet to hear the same from friends.
I am curious. If I hv a chance, I would like to \"interview\" these parents. How much % is justifiable?
My own mum, when I just started work after graduating, expected me to give her 50%-70% of my salary. And no, she is not asking that amount to save up, she will spend it all. And she will want to know how much i earn so she knows if i am giving the right amount. Of course i did not oblige. -
Imp75:
My parents refuse to accept money from me so I usually give in kind ie travel buy stuff etc
My parents will accept the money but when I give my grandma some pocket money, she declines (I still stuff it to her). My grandma has old school thinking that tutors do not make much money. -
Imami:
I get what you mean on volunteering too much info. My fil did that and a con artist called up DH at work asking him to participate in some investments.SBKS:
would you all reveal honestly how much pay you earn monthly to your parents when they asked?
Of cos. In fact, I made it a point to update my mum on every pay rise, bonus etc. Like reporting my school grades :rotflmao:
With my father, I am more vague. Only volunteering info when asked and always a ball park figure. Becos he has a real bad habit of leaking such info to any Tom, dick and Harry and would always compare our earnings (my siblings and me). -
popireis:
50-70%? cannot la... Unless I earn $10k la. After deducting CPf, transport, food and another 50-70%????? For someone who just graduated,what is left?
My own mum, when I just started work after graduating, expected me to give her 50%-70% of my salary. And no, she is not asking that amount to save up, she will spend it all. And she will want to know how much i earn so she knows if i am giving the right amount. Of course i did not oblige.
My first pay was only $1300. I gave my mum about 25% and I was already very cash strapped. I couldn't imagine 50-70% :faint: -
Coolkidsrock2:
I get what you mean on volunteering too much info. My fil did that and a con artist called up DH at work asking him to participate in some investments.[/quote]Oh yes, u reminded me about this thing about con artist! I shd remind my father about this.Imami:
[quote=\"SBKS\"]would you all reveal honestly how much pay you earn monthly to your parents when they asked?
Of cos. In fact, I made it a point to update my mum on every pay rise, bonus etc. Like reporting my school grades :rotflmao:
With my father, I am more vague. Only volunteering info when asked and always a ball park figure. Becos he has a real bad habit of leaking such info to any Tom, dick and Harry and would always compare our earnings (my siblings and me).
Once, when we were waiting for his turn for check up at the hospital, my father suddenly blurted,\"xx, u got so much cash, shd consider opening an account with aa bank. They offer higher interest.\" I quickly added,\"ooi, who say I got so much cash. I don't!\"
Imami:
I give my mum 20% of my pay. If she ask for 50-70%, I will start to question if she is really my mum. Seriously! This is ridiculous! What does she expect me to fed my son with? Black sauce with rice?
50-70%? cannot la... Unless I earn $10k la. After deducting CPf, transport, food and another 50-70%????? For someone who just graduated,what is left?popireis:
My own mum, when I just started work after graduating, expected me to give her 50%-70% of my salary. And no, she is not asking that amount to save up, she will spend it all. And she will want to know how much i earn so she knows if i am giving the right amount. Of course i did not oblige.
My first pay was only $1300. I gave my mum about 25% and I was already very cash strapped. I couldn't imagine 50-70% :faint: -
TheAnswer:
I would just ask her why (she needed 50-70%), no doubt she is my mum
I give my mum 20% of my pay. If she ask for 50-70%, I will start to question if she is really my mum. Seriously! This is ridiculous! What does she expect me to fed my son with? Black sauce with rice?
If it is the first few years of my working life, 50-70% not feasible. But now, with what I am earning, 50-70% of my pay - can.
But why? I need to understand the reasons behind her request. -
Imami:
I have heard of some mothers who gamble. Feel so sad. All the hard earned money gone.
I would just ask her why (she needed 50-70%), no doubt she is my mumTheAnswer:
If it is the first few years of my working life, 50-70% not feasible. But now, with what I am earning, 50-70% of my pay - can.
But why? I need to understand the reasons behind her request. -
I didn’t give her so much la of course, I just started work, after CPF, then still need to have transport $, lunch $, pay insurance, social expenses, save for future wedding, buy house etc, how to give so much?
She didn’t understand that. She was a SAHM her whole life and everything was paid for by my dad so she prob thought I dun nd to save for anything.
Even before I started work, she already lined up her expectations, for example, if my pay is $1k, give her $600. If $1.2k, give her $800 and so on. She thought i could survive on $400 but she forgot abt CPF.
Yes to be frank, i was pretty resentful but I just kept quiet and gave her whatever I could afford. Oh, and not forgetting i have to give my dad too. She was obviously very disappointed and upset by the "paltry" sum but sorry, i oso have my own future to think of.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.