2013 Sec 1 Discussions
Hi ammonite,
Now I truly understand why have kids at younger age.
The energy level is depleted after coaching older one…to make things worst, the standard is tougher and when have to coach younger one, it can be very tough.
I have invested a lot of time when he started primary school…last year, I felt totally drained. Just cannot face his work anymore…sec stuff is out of reach.
Kids in schools now have it real tough…endless tests/exams now are just one of many. Preparation is mentally draining…at the end of the day, is it worth it? Poor child is stressed…parents are also feeling that way. This is not holistic nor balanced. -
ammonite:
I hour every day is more than enough for a Sec kid. I am only doing it with my P2 girl & totally let go on my Sec 1 boy. His workload is quite heavy, a lot of research to do. Science needs to research on enzymes & cloning. Whereas English literature needs to research on marginalised people.Not directing this at anyone, just a general feeling I had previously and revived by this thread. It feels so meaningless to spend so much time on school work, be it homework or prepping for exams and tests. I can't imagine doing it for years and I feel it is just not worth the sacrifices.
We had to spend a lot of time previously because of my son's learning difficulties, and I felt really burnt out. Now that he has improved and is spending only a small fraction of the time he used to on homework, I still feel reluctant to sit down and do prep work with him for exams. Of course I wonder if I will regret this, but right now, I just simply cannot feel invested. One hour every day is all I am willing to put in.
I am too tired & too busy handling my P2 girl. She is active & unable to focus for long. Can't hand hold till uni right? So hubby says he is old enough to self learn & be more responsible for himself. We just keep monitoring & provide guidance when needed. -
For older one, I leave him to study on his own…at least give him a breather to manage own time. But remind him to drink more water.
Younger one is hyperactive and has short attention span. So have to play the game of ‘flying kite’…when to push heavy duty work and let go on trivial stuff…no point sweating small thing like spelling…just spend 30 min studying it. -
ammonite:
Ammonite, you are already doing a good job putting in 1 hour a day.Not directing this at anyone, just a general feeling I had previously and revived by this thread. It feels so meaningless to spend so much time on school work, be it homework or prepping for exams and tests. I can't imagine doing it for years and I feel it is just not worth the sacrifices.
We had to spend a lot of time previously because of my son's learning difficulties, and I felt really burnt out. Now that he has improved and is spending only a small fraction of the time he used to on homework, I still feel reluctant to sit down and do prep work with him for exams. Of course I wonder if I will regret this, but right now, I just simply cannot feel invested. One hour every day is all I am willing to put in.
Certainly understand how you feel. Went through the same shoes last year and after PSLE, I wasn't quite ready to get set and go again. Janet however is fantastic, she was up and about with school preparations in no time. Me...well, just couldn't quite get the engine started until last week. Still in the warm up stage. :oops:
We might not all be able to continue coaching the kids, but they are not adults yet and will still need us to watch over them. Maybe not in the same ways as primary school days. Still got to go, go, go... -
Fifi dear,
I had a rude shock in 2011/12…which is why I had to gear up younger one…cannot afford same thing to happen.
Son in sec 1…neither that young but not able to leave him on his own completely. For boys, I better have a mental preparation they will need a LONGER time to mature.
Still have to go, go, go…but physically and mentally tired. Have to find a balance to continue…kids enter different stages and we cannot afford to be burnt out. I need to borrow your shoulders…husbands don’t seem to understand. -
mummy so kiasu:
Uh, my kid is onlY in p3 leh. :oops: I just kaypoh here for a while. I cannot imagine doing any more from now until PSLE, much less secondary school. Come to think of it, my parents didn't have to do any of such handholding in the first place.
I hour every day is more than enough for a Sec kid. I am only doing it with my P2 girl & totally let go on my Sec 1 boy. His workload is quite heavy, a lot of research to do. Science needs to research on enzymes & cloning. Whereas English literature needs to research on marginalised people.ammonite:
Not directing this at anyone, just a general feeling I had previously and revived by this thread. It feels so meaningless to spend so much time on school work, be it homework or prepping for exams and tests. I can't imagine doing it for years and I feel it is just not worth the sacrifices.
I am too tired & too busy handling my P2 girl. She is active & unable to focus for long. Can't hand hold till uni right? So hubby says he is old enough to self learn & be more responsible for himself. We just keep monitoring & provide guidance when needed. -
My parents didn't coach me...school teachers could be depended upon to prepare kids well for PSLE
...besides, PSLE wasn't this difficult then.
We were pretty much on our own.
Can help son for history but not the other subjects. Certain things for Math, geography, science sounds a little familiar but that's about it. -
ammonite:
My parents didn't hand hold me & my siblings too. Tuition was uncommon too. Time has change. Parents are more involve nowadays & school standard is also higher.
Uh, my kid is onlY in p3 leh. :oops: I just kaypoh here for a while. I cannot imagine doing any more from now until PSLE, much less secondary school. Come to think of it, my parents didn't have to do any of such handholding in the first place.
How is your ds P2 results? You could out source if you are unable to teach. But still have to give spelling & tingxie. I spend about 2 hours a day with my P2 everyday. She has tuition on Chinese which is her weakest subject. -
mummy so kiasu:
English and maths band 1. Chinese a low band 2. But his school is generally very very relaxed compared to SAP schools.
My parents didn't hand hold me & my siblings too. Tuition is uncommon too. Time has change. Parents are more involve nowadays & school standard is also higher.ammonite:
How is your ds P2 results? You could outsource if you are unable to teach. But still have to give spelling & tingxie. I spend about 2 hours a day with my P2 everyday. She has tuition on Chinese which is her weakest subject.
My dad said his only memories of my primary school days was me playing all the time, whether it was exam period or not.
Secondary school is busy busy...and also unexpected. Son told me Chinese oral this Friday. I was like huh, so fast? :yikes:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.