2013 Sec 1 Discussions
mummy so kiasu:
School bus picks her up at 11.45am in the morning & she needs to take her lunch at 10.30am. Writing compo will take 2 hours. How to do it in the morning? Will end up missing the school bus.
My school bus used to pick me up at 11.20 am (long, long ago), and I remember having lunch at 10.30am. Maybe letting her leave work incomplete (and face the teacher's wrath) a couple of times will help her speed up? -
slmkhoo:
Ha..ha..Try it out already. Teacher called me to complain.mummy so kiasu:
School bus picks her up at 11.45am in the morning & she needs to take her lunch at 10.30am. Writing compo will take 2 hours. How to do it in the morning? Will end up missing the school bus.
My school bus used to pick me up at 11.20 am (long, long ago), and I remember having lunch at 10.30am. Maybe letting her leave work incomplete (and face the teacher's wrath) a couple of times will help her speed up? -
diff tactic used on diff age group…at p1/2 if homework is not completed, teacher will scold but kids (mine) bochap…but at sec level if homework is not finished, teacher punishes in front of whole class…very embarrassing.
mummy so kiasu:
Unless you put her to bed as early as possible and wake her up early so that she can have enough time to do the work before lunch at 10.30am. But this will be tough. Lots of discipline and the person facilitating it must be very on. Not easy.
My girl will not settle down & do her work after 5 min of rest. She will chit chat with ko ko or daddy, endless stories to tell. She also get distracted easily, finding out what others are doing. Not forgetting she is a slow worker.janet_lee88:
Kids in afternoon session have a very tight schedule...after reaching home (provided stay near), it is close to 7pm, take a shower and then have dinner...this is faster bcos it is not possible to bathe right after dinner.
It is close to 745pm and after 5 min rest, start to get homework done. Poor child will be a zombie by about 830...more tired if there is PE.
Get 'heavy duty' work done in the morning...stuff like compo, math hw, learning spelling for eg. 习字 can finish at night.
Son in sec 1 sleeps at about 11pm...after getting written work done, he has to revise.
Mornings wake up at 6am...breakfast and then wash up...leave the house at 630am.
Rest for my kids is really no.1 issue on the list and I really have to push very hard to meet bed time. To the extend of :stompfeet: :rant: at the kids and sitting in the room with them till they sleep. This is to ensure complete silence otherwise the brothers will start to talk. 10-15mins of total silence and they KO. -
Mornings I had to sit beside him to else he will day dream...cannot even answer a phone call as he would run off to play. When I leave the room, he will follow me.
Hahaha, oh that sounds like my sons. Yes, No one is suppose to call me when DSs are not in school! -
mummy so kiasu:
Ha..ha..Try it out already. Teacher called me to complain.[/quote]When that has happened to my daughter, I will tell the teacher what I am trying to achieve and ask her to continue to impose the normal penalties and be patient until the child learns the lesson. If you just increase the amount YOU do to help your daughter avoid the penalties, then your daughter is not likely to improve.slmkhoo:
[quote=\"mummy so kiasu\"]School bus picks her up at 11.45am in the morning & she needs to take her lunch at 10.30am. Writing compo will take 2 hours. How to do it in the morning? Will end up missing the school bus.
fifiyeo:
My daughter was 3 then...luckily I had a maid and I was busy coaching son in his work...so I closed 2 eyes as long as there was light breakfast for him and lunch on the table at 1130am. Those 2 years of afternoon session was crazy...nobody can call between 8-1145am...when I walked to loo, he would stand outside or else sit there to day dream.
Hahaha, oh that sounds like my sons. Yes, No one is suppose to call me when DSs are not in school!janet_lee88:
Mornings I had to sit beside him to else he will day dream...cannot even answer a phone call as he would run off to play. When I leave the room, he will follow me.
Arhhhh Yes.
I too remembered those days when kids were younger, slow motion, forever distracted, hyperactive & needed lots of monitoring & discipline. Plus mine is just a year apart, cannot really ask the elder to help also.
I remembered tho i was the impatient type, I was trying to not be too harsh, telling myself they were still young.
Hubby believed otherwise. Kids cannot be pampered, its ok to 吃一点苦. Must learn discipline & respect & there is a proper time for everything. Go soft on them & I'll be the one to suffer in the long run. Also they need to slowly take on responsibilities for their studies.
Well, it was hard initially. :sad: To see them punished, forced to stay put & not run around when it's not time. Coming home sad/crying cos forget bring stuff or do homework & kena punished by teacher etc Quite heartache as a mommy. Tho I knew hubby was right, I couldn't help feeling a little angry to see the little ones cry. Just give in & all these crying can be avoided....I would think silently. But my hubby quite determined (fierce also lah
)
Fast forward 7-8 years, I am glad we persisted then & I did not veto my hubby over his 'harsher disciplinary methods'. Because they are trained to be auto-pilot, it took loads off me. I wouldn't say it's perfect, no problem at all as there is still some discipline required on & off. But I'm happy.
If given a chance again, I'll go harsher :rotflmao: Well, maybe my kids will not dare to entrust their children to me next time :rotflmao: -
BeContented:
If given a chance again, I'll go harsher :rotflmao: Well, maybe my kids will not dare to entrust their children to me next time :rotflmao:
I've been pretty strict and stern too. My kids say that their friends are all scared of me! But since my kids also joke with me and chat with me, and their friends do come over sometimes, I guess we're doing OK. I've already said I'm not taking responsibility for grandkids, so I don't know if they would entrust me with them or not! -
BeContented:
Me and DH very hard hearted one, but DS no.1 surprisingly already 'book' mommy to teach and discipline his children next time. He said to go ahead and punish like with him if they can't behave. Aiyo, by then I old already where got any more gas left!! I told him to spare me and leave it to his wife.Arhhhh Yes.
I too remembered those days when kids were younger, slow motion, forever distracted, hyperactive & needed lots of monitoring & discipline. Plus mine is just a year apart, cannot really ask the elder to help also.
I remembered tho i was the impatient type, I was trying to not be too harsh, telling myself they were still young.
Hubby believed otherwise. Kids cannot be pampered, its ok to 吃一点苦. Must learn discipline & respect & there is a proper time for everything. Go soft on them & I'll be the one to suffer in the long run. Also they need to slowly take on responsibilities for their studies.
Well, it was hard initially. :sad: To see them punished, forced to stay put & not run around when it's not time. Coming home sad/crying cos forget bring stuff or do homework & kena punished by teacher etc Quite heartache as a mommy. Tho I knew hubby was right, I couldn't help feeling a little angry to see the little ones cry. Just give in & all these crying can be avoided....I would think silently. But my hubby quite determined (fierce also lah
)
Fast forward 7-8 years, I am glad we persisted then & I did not veto my hubby over his 'harsher disciplinary methods'. Because they are trained to be auto-pilot, it took loads off me. I wouldn't say it's perfect, no problem at all as there is still some discipline required on & off. But I'm happy.
If given a chance again, I'll go harsher :rotflmao: Well, maybe my kids will not dare to entrust their children to me next time :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.