2013 Sec 1 Discussions
BeContented:
If given a chance again, I'll go harsher :rotflmao: Well, maybe my kids will not dare to entrust their children to me next time :rotflmao:
I've been pretty strict and stern too. My kids say that their friends are all scared of me! But since my kids also joke with me and chat with me, and their friends do come over sometimes, I guess we're doing OK. I've already said I'm not taking responsibility for grandkids, so I don't know if they would entrust me with them or not! -
BeContented:
Me and DH very hard hearted one, but DS no.1 surprisingly already 'book' mommy to teach and discipline his children next time. He said to go ahead and punish like with him if they can't behave. Aiyo, by then I old already where got any more gas left!! I told him to spare me and leave it to his wife.Arhhhh Yes.
I too remembered those days when kids were younger, slow motion, forever distracted, hyperactive & needed lots of monitoring & discipline. Plus mine is just a year apart, cannot really ask the elder to help also.
I remembered tho i was the impatient type, I was trying to not be too harsh, telling myself they were still young.
Hubby believed otherwise. Kids cannot be pampered, its ok to 吃一点苦. Must learn discipline & respect & there is a proper time for everything. Go soft on them & I'll be the one to suffer in the long run. Also they need to slowly take on responsibilities for their studies.
Well, it was hard initially. :sad: To see them punished, forced to stay put & not run around when it's not time. Coming home sad/crying cos forget bring stuff or do homework & kena punished by teacher etc Quite heartache as a mommy. Tho I knew hubby was right, I couldn't help feeling a little angry to see the little ones cry. Just give in & all these crying can be avoided....I would think silently. But my hubby quite determined (fierce also lah
)
Fast forward 7-8 years, I am glad we persisted then & I did not veto my hubby over his 'harsher disciplinary methods'. Because they are trained to be auto-pilot, it took loads off me. I wouldn't say it's perfect, no problem at all as there is still some discipline required on & off. But I'm happy.
If given a chance again, I'll go harsher :rotflmao: Well, maybe my kids will not dare to entrust their children to me next time :rotflmao: -
Hubby is the easy-going one…but when he has to coach kids for Math and Science, he will. I am the discipline master (bad guy). Sometimes he does step in when I scold and I will glare at him. We had an agreement…when I punish, he cannot go to their rescue.
When son was in lower primary, I had to be very strict. I only went a little easier on my son this year…but with younger daughter, I am still as strict bcos she tends to be stubborn and harder to handle than gor gor.
Son does appreciate me for being strict with him…but when it comes to his children, I’d better hands off…or else sure have conflict with daughter in law.
Why be bad guy? -
Unless daughter in law is wonderland bimbo who is more than happy to dump the kids to us and go shopping everyday, it’s better to let parents manage their kids. Otherwise too many sets of rules to follow, not so ideal for the kids.
fifiyeo:
Unless daughter in law is wonderland bimbo who is more than happy to dump the kids to us and go shopping everyday, it's better to let parents manage their kids. Otherwise too many sets of rules to follow, not so ideal for the kids.
i don't want to be bad mil...but if daughter in law is a air head bimbo, i will be heartache to see grandkids with no proper guiding. if parents can manage, it's better to leave it to them. won't we be tired to have to parent our grandkids ? -
Handle our own kids already give us white hairs. Still not enough??? Give me a break. We should enjoy our old age by going coffee with friends or dating with hubby. Just go to the zoo or have lunch with grandchildren over the weekends is better. Leave the rest to their mother, especially PSLE!fifiyeo:
Unless daughter in law is wonderland bimbo who is more than happy to dump the kids to us and go shopping everyday, it's better to let parents manage their kids. Otherwise too many sets of rules to follow, not so ideal for the kids.
i don't want to be bad mil...but if daughter in law is a air head bimbo, i will be heartache to see grandkids with no proper guiding. if parents can manage, it's better to leave it to them. won't we be tired to have to parent our grandkids ? -
hubby was worried i wanted #3 when he saw me crazy over cute litle niece...told him he is absolutely nuts...i do not want to go through pregnancy, jabs/sleepless nights/porridge followed by primary school and PSLE when i am 53 years old...start all over again, he is really :siao:
i dread to think of these 2 fellas facing PSLE and O levels at the SAME time
cute little niece? ur dh side? If u hv the 3rd one,ur son n daughter could help themhubby was worried i wanted #3 when he saw me crazy over cute litle niece...told him he is absolutely nuts...i do not want to go through pregnancy, jabs/sleepless nights/porridge followed by primary school and PSLE when i am 53 years old...start all over again, he is really :siao:
i dread to think of these 2 fellas facing PSLE and O levels at the SAME time
Vinegar,
No thanks.
My mornings are ME time…very precious. Already stressed over younger one in P3…another one will make my hair all white. The older one in sec 1 is just slightly out of my radar…so can breathe a little.
My brother’s daughter…3.5 months. -
Where to find a good English tutor?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.