2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
firefly38:
I asked my husband,\"If you don't go, what if the two of us go and jump off a building?\"
Errr.. Papa must take leave during kid's PSLE meh?? :scratchhead:
He went. -
I am not sure if son wants me to go during release date. My parents treated my psle as non issue as I was the third one sitting. But I dreamt a few months ago that I was getting my psle results again. I felt very upset that they were not as anxious as me.
So I am going to check if he wants me around by then. I can always hide behind pillars at the void deck beside the school main gate.
Even if he says dun want u around, still go & hide & be nearI am not sure if son wants me to go during release date. My parents treated my psle as non issue as I was the third one sitting. But I dreamt a few months ago that I was getting my psle results again. I felt very upset that they were not as anxious as me.
So I am going to check if he wants me around by then. I can always hide behind pillars at the void deck beside the school main gate.
rains:
I don't mean PSLE Results Release Day.. I meant during those few days of PSLE exam.. My DH never took leave when DS1 was sitting for his PSLE 2 years ago.. But he drove DS1 to school, instead of letting him take the school bus, on those few days..
I asked my husband,\"If you don't go, what if the two of us go and jump off a building?\"firefly38:
He went.
Daddy could not take leave till 2 weeks before PSLE…didn’t have time to coach…so we had to outsource. The 2 weeks he was at home was to buy dessert and bring us out for car rides to relax. Also ferry son for tuition.
BeContented:
Our cases same as you, Papa only took leave on result release day.
Ermm.....some have to. Mine din tho. Yours?firefly38:
But exam release that day must cos I scared. :nailbite: Just In case he has to manage one/two of us :rotflmao: -
good choice Janet. best to leave it to the professionals
Daddy could not take leave till 2 weeks before PSLE...didn't have time to coach...so we had to outsource. The 2 weeks he was at home was to buy dessert and bring us out for car rides to relax. Also ferry son for tuition.
Actually you & your DS quite lucky that your DH is supportive & willing to take leave to coach, buy desserts, ferry around for the son's PSLE. And 2 weeks leh!!
My hubby hardly had time to coach DS & he leaves everything to me. So from the household chores, to the kids, to the chauffeuring to tuition & whatever activities and even some of mil matters (preparing mil daily medication, accompanying mil for routine doc appt, driving mil to run errands).....all on my plate.
I am also in-charge of the kids emotional & academic well-being & DH has not taken a single day of leave before, be it for sch exams nor PSLE. So life as usual for DS who took his PSLE last year.
This year my DD is taking her PSLE. Will be the same as DS time, DH is not planning nor expected to take any leave at all for her PSLE. Will only take one day to accompany DD during results release day.
So kudos to those daddies who are willing to take leave. -
BeContented,
Hubby is not able to go on leave easily. He wanted to take leave like 1-2 days every month to coach son for PSLE but work prevented him from doing so…his 2 weeks leave last year was to clear the leave from prev year or else forfeited.
Your hubby is a very fortunate man. -
I'm just wondering if just taking 5 to 15 mins a day to look through DS and DD's homework and understand one to two concepts per day will work equally well too, if not better.

Love to hear from parents...do you prefer your spouse to take one to two FULL days to coach kids or a consistent 5 to 15-minutes block of time everyday to coach kids?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.