Craze for Children's Books!

133 Posts 37 Posters 53.0k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

I try to borrow, but there are some good authors that I fear I won’t remember in time to come for DS2 leh…so herein lies the temptation to buy. (I give any excuse)

sundaymorning

Hi ,

Thanks for sharing hquek- i will look for more books for DD !
        Just to share, i purchased some books for my DD in taobao through Peeka

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=10058533663
        http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=2013.1.0.158.DmzTxH&id=15895676328

Its pretty interactive for DD as one of it is flip up type !!

kids_r_innocent

I saw an ad recently on reasonable pricing for the sale of children’s books, it’s on fish pod or fish pond, sori can’t rem the exact name. Anyone has experience with them yet?

• dimsumD Offline
            dimsum

kids_r_innocent:
            I saw an ad recently on reasonable pricing for the sale of children's books, it's on fish pod or fish pond, sori can't rem the exact name. Anyone has experience with them yet?

I just bought from fishpond after clicking on the ad that keeps flashing in KSP. That website oo.sg is fantastic. Allowing me to compare the prices of books across different on-line book stores. I have always been buying from book depository. But based on the comparison, fishpond sometimes is cheaper than bookdepository. .

kids_r_innocent

dimsum:
              kids_r_innocent:

I saw an ad recently on reasonable pricing for the sale of children's books, it's on fish pod or fish pond, sori can't rem the exact name. Anyone has experience with them yet?

I just bought from fishpond after clicking on the ad that keeps flashing in KSP. That website oo.sg is fantastic. Allowing me to compare the prices of books across different on-line book stores. I have always been buying from book depository. But based on the comparison, fishpond sometimes is cheaper than bookdepository. .

Hi hi dear dimsum,

It's so nice to hear from u. Seems like u r a great book fan oso.

Haha... Exactly! Tats wat I saw on the KSP web. I wonder does Chief do any purchases himself too? :evil: So is this fishpond tingy a local website? Is your experiences good wif them so far?

• dimsumD Offline
                dimsum

Yes, fishpond is a local website. I am still waiting for my first purchase to arrive 😂 Ordering process was smooth and easy. Strongly recommend you to check it out!

kids_r_innocent

dimsum:
                  Yes, fishpond is a local website. I am still waiting for my first purchase to arrive 😂 Ordering process was smooth and easy. Strongly recommend you to check it out!

Sounds so tempting leh. But no new title that has caught my eye yet.

Any latest children's book recommendation or craze? :evil: maybe I can find an excuse to buy then.

lambchop1976

kids_r_innocent:
                    dimsum:

Sounds so tempting leh. But no new title that has caught my eye yet.

Any latest children's book recommendation or craze? :evil: maybe I can find an excuse to buy then.

Hi I wrote the below in another thread. I hope parents here find this list of books help. I still hv a longer list but no time to type out.

\"I did not put my sons thro any reading prog jus my own. I do have a list of \"timely books\" which i will recommend them to read.
                    (Oh my sons: P3, P1 and K2)

1. The Berenstain Bears Chapter Books -- not the normal beginner readers series but the chpater books, they are \"extinct\" in many bookstores but can get from online if you are willing to pay. They are very good. Authors are a couple Jan and Stan Berenstain who are very hands-on parents. The stories in their books are based on their parenting issues as they brought up their children. Great moral values here. Sadly both authors had passed on with Jan recently.

2. Magic School Bus series (chp books #1-20)

3. Magic Tree House books #1 --49 with the recent Stallion by Starlight launched in March 2013. It is a perfect blend of magic, adventure, history and science in different books. Topic ranges from pirates to Titanic, pandas to historic opics such as Amercian revolution, Abraham Lincoln and science based eg rainforests, space, dino etc etc and even seasonal stories such as thanksgiving, christmas etc. It also come with research guides (FACT TRACKER) where more details on the particular topic is discussed --like a non-fiction book.

4. Horrible Histories
                    5. Horrible Science
                    6. Dead Famous

#4 --6: initally my boys P3 & p1 dun like them but now they are mad abt it. we evn watch the DVDs. We bought the whole series.

7 Discovery box is a must have magazine for my kids. Recently we also subscribed to National Geog kids --Pathfinder edition

I hope this list helps \"

And regarding website to buy online books:
                    1) I bought my whole Famous Five set from Amazon during one of their sale.
                    2) Fishpond -- yes its a local online site. Books are usual much cheaper than what u r paying in \"physical\" bookstores.
                    3) Book Depository -- usu I cf theior price with Fishpond.

I got my Horrible Histories n HScience at $120 for the whole 2 sets where the so-called sale in school/stores ar at buy 2 get 1 free at $10.90ea book.

• dimsumD Offline
                      dimsum

Thanks for sharing, lampchop. My boy likes #2,3,4, 5 and 7.

lambchop1976

dimsum:
                        Thanks for sharing, lampchop. My boy likes #2,3,4, 5 and 7.

U shd let him try Berenstain Bears. This is a series I highly recommend all parents who wish to impart moral values n tell their little ones some milestones in their life ain't fearful at all. Like going to the dentist, etc.

Berenstain Bears beginner series and chapter books series are written by a couple Stan n Jan Berenstain. they both had passed on. hey left behind this series which I personally benefit from when I read them when I was a child.

There are titles such as too much TV, too much peer pressure etc.

Stan n Jan children( Mike) have since took over the writing of the Bears but I find the new title ain't as good as when in their parents cos Steven n Jan were writing as part of educating their own children. They sharedwhat most parents worried n concerned abt.

You can get the beginners books in the national library but chapter books are scarce. I have been blessed by a doctor fren who gave the whole series beginners books and some chapter books to my babies then. Hmm... I think my library has far greater volumes than our national libraries add together 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 13 / 14