Secondary School CCA
kunikokatodesu:
Yeah, next to each other.
Actually, you don't need to purposely find a CCA for yourself, because during CCA selection, the CCA teachers will ask you to try out then they may spot your talent and ask you to join.
lol my school right beside you leh, i nanyang(:
How you going to school ? Where you live ? -
My dd will be joining NYGH Higher Music Programme this yr. Which second instrument and CCA should she take/join?
i live in Pasir Ris, it's very far from nygh but my parents don't mind, we wake up very early in the morning and my father drives me and my sister(also in nanyang) to go to school. well, how about you? :?Yeah, next to each other.
How you going to school ? Where you live ? -
kunikokatodesu:
i live in Pasir Ris, it's very far from nygh but my parents don't mind, we wake up very early in the morning and my father drives me and my sister(also in nanyang) to go to school. well, how about you? :?
Me also stay in the east like you. Congrats, your family very smart & intelligent. Both you & your sis can go to top premium school NYGS !! -
HCI?
Which CCAs are less demanding?
And is there such thing as "CCA points" for MSG calculation?
(CSE isn’t that difficult to get, is it?) -
Me also stay in the east like you. Congrats, your family very smart & intelligent. Both you & your sis can go to top premium school NYGS !!
Thank you, but i am actually lousier than my sister in academic:( she's better than me. you yourself also smart what! NJC the score is high! :celebrate: -
Hey, your girl will have almost a whole year to decide on CCA bc the trials/auditions are only in Nov.
NJC, any CCA that is less \"siong\" to recommend ? -
Hey, your girl will have almost a whole year to decide on CCA bc the trials/auditions are only in Nov.
Wah CCA also must attend audition ?
For example, if you choose guitar CCA, then you must attend guitar audition to show them you can play guitar ?
So, the guitar CCA is not a CCA where it teach you to play guitar but rather for students who are already expert in guitar ?
Thanks -
Aiyoh, almost all schools the same one lah. If you don't know how to play, can also go for the trials. They will see how you strum or some basic action or some rhythm/aural tests. Same for all musical groups, I think. Also like for band, they will give you the mouthpiece to blow and see how you do. And for choir, they will put thru' vocal & aural (hearing) tests.Wah CCA also must attend audition ?
For example, if you choose guitar CCA, then you must attend guitar audition to show them you can play guitar ?
So, the guitar CCA is not a CCA where it teach you to play guitar but rather for students who are already expert in guitar ?
Thanks
Then for the sports, they will also put the child thru some trials/tests.
All this is to see the child's \"potential\".
Most sec schools will have a \"talent discovery\" session for a whole week or at least a few days where the children will go thru all the CCAs (music/sports, etc, etc) where they just play play play and then the seniors or teachers will observe and spot talent. Then there might be another week (or few days) where they organise trials/auditions. Like in my daughter's school, they can go thru as many trials/auditions as they like.
Then after that, they put in their choices. My girl's school - they had 6 choices (like selecting sec sch, hor?) and to be listed in order of preference.
But ... I realise that, the groups will actually select, not caring what the child puts as preference.
Eg. a child may put band as 1st choice but has no experience, and perhaps was in choir in primary school, and when go thru' trials, the child does v well in choir auditions, so probably the choir cca in-charge would put that child as THEIR \"1st choice\" altho maybe your child only put that as 2nd choice. So quite likely, even tho' she/he put band as 1st choice, and a child who had no other CCA experience in pri school would easily have gotten that Band CCA bc they performed passably at the band trials, they most likely would get posted to the CCA that WANTS them.
V cheem, huh? It's unlike our time where CCAs is really for pleasure. Now it's all performance/achievements/results. If the CCA takes the child in, they would feel that THAT child has the potential to be a great contribution to THAT particular CCA.
And yes, if the child has no experience but is selected and passes the trials for that CCA, eg. guitar, or strings, chinese orchestra, they will be given lessons during CCA and taught how to play the instruments. -
kunikokatodesu:
Thank you, but i am actually lousier than my sister in academic:( she's better than me. you yourself also smart what! NJC the score is high! :celebrate:
Can go in NYGH is consider very smart lah.
But in my case, get into NJC is just ngam ngam at the COP. So will be at the bottom of the whole level leh ...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.