:hugs: peapot. Sorry to hear about your troubles. Hope it clears up soon for you. Remember there's always light at the end of the tunnel. Good luck!
Hi peapot,
If I am you, I will send her straight home.
Why do her a favour by allowing her to go for interview?
If she wants the job, she has to find ways to come back to Singapore.
I am glad that your child is already 6.
Do put her in a student care.
In the meantime, pressurise your agent to bring in your maid asap or take a transfer maid instead.
Your current maid is OBVIOUSLY BULLYING you!!!
How can you allow that to happen?
If I am you, as much as I don’t want, I will rather take a week of leave or even unpaid leave just to send this pest away! Why make her life easy when she is making your life hell!!!
You never know she might be planning a scheme now. BEWARE!
Beautifullife,
It doesn’t matter how nice you are to the maid or how nice she is now, it takes only a bat of the eyelid for her to change without warning! -
I’m sure a lot of working parents over here will repay your boss with good working attitude if your boss treats you well and reward you. You will work better and hoping for a better reward in future like promotion or pay raise.
So, it’s only natural for parents to treat the maid well if she treats your children well by buying gifts and holidays. Initially (only for a short time period, because they kept thinking why you reward them), these maids will appreciate your generosity but sooner, they think it’s their rights and your duty to buy them gifts and holidays. They thought they have become the BEST overnight. And they slack in their duty unless you reward them.
Don’t know why, their mind works differently from us. I wonder if the air they breathe in smells differently.
I’m only speaking of my experiences, if your maid happen to be one that will continue to have better working attitude after rewarding, you are truly a lucky one hell of an employer.
Dear peapot,
Sorry to hear about what you are going thru with your maid.
My previous maid extorted money from me. :x This was after about 2 years with me (I treated her very well, as you can read from my previous posts). I was 2 wks into my confinement after the birth of my 3rd child then. She thought that I could not do without her and that I would give in. Well, she got the wrong person!! :x I happen to be very headstrong and sent her packing that very same night!!
Be strong and don't let your maid treat you like a doormat. YOU are the BOSS. If I were you, I'll send her balik kampung & let her figure out how to fly back here to attend her interview. You'll breathe easier without this pest in the house
2ppaamm:
Doggie is giving me a lot of headaches but what to do, I love it to bits. No choice, I have to sacrifice and I don't want to give away because I don't have a helper. It's not fair to the four legged though.
Haha, I deploy the robots when I am out or sleeping.mocharita:
Hey, how about investing in a robot? You can get them at about $800 at Courts and they will clean your house routinely. You don't even need to remind it to clean and your floor is always spotless. I have 5 of these.
If you need help, I will try and get one for you.
2ppaamm,
Thank you
I have checked on the robot before. As a SAHM, I work faster than this robot.
It has nothing to do with housework. Cleaning, dusting and mopping things around the home are not a chore to me. I find this chore rather therapeutic. Floors are dead, furniture-dead, and curtains-dead, laundry-not a problem at all..ahem, I don’t know how to iron though (I’m still learning.) Once you have cleaned them, they are cleaned. It’s the ‘cleaning after someone’ that puts the strains on me.
The living things around my home said goodbye to me one after another. Plants, fish, plants, terrapin, plants..
Thankfully, my kid is still much alive! And my lovely doggie too..teeheehee..
I forgot about the living things... Plants - keep them alive through the irrigation system. I took 2 days to install them with my bare hands, which ended up with lots of blisters but I thought it was worth it. You can have a great patio/garden with these fantastic stuff. I saw some plant shops selling these in Singapore recently. If you want a garden again, try it. Will you be buying CNY flowers?
I said goodbye to my pet African grey (a kind of bird) as well. I am afraid of pets and had to give it away since DH travels a lot and nobody could clean up after it. Sad, because it spoke like 4 languages, so cute.
I stopped rearing kois. Now, my 2 ponds have tilapias. In case of famine, I will turn to them. I am serious. I rear them for food because I realise I spent too much money on fish food, so I kept the pond for food fish. :lol:
You're better than me! I cannot handle a dog! I am also afraid of dogs and cats. I thought that is even more difficult that anything else! For the kid, give him a cup with his name. In my household, if I don't do that, I'll have 70 cups to wash everyday. They have to wash their cups if they want to drink! Ha ha!
Honestly, if I do get a maid again is because of this fella. Somehow, I feel rather stupid for doing so.
I've tried ironing and learning from friends but still don't get it. Silly me, sent 4 dresses for pressing and cost me $42. I was thinking of getting a part-timer to come in for 3 hours with that amount, at least ironing and cleaning included. -
mocharita:
Yah, good idea, get a part-time to do the ironing. Much cheaper. I think it is about $12 or $14 an hour. Gather all your ironing and ask her to do. Plus change bedsheets, clean the floor, windows, and if 3 hours, about $36. Quite worth it, hor?Doggie is giving me a lot of headaches but what to do, I love it to bits. No choice, I have to sacrifice and I don't want to give away because I don't have a helper. It's not fair to the four legged though.
Honestly, if I do get a maid again is because of this fella. Somehow, I feel rather stupid for doing so.
I've tried ironing and learning from friends but still don't get it. Silly me, sent 4 dresses for pressing and cost me $42. I was thinking of getting a part-timer to come in for 3 hours with that amount, at least ironing and cleaning included. -
2ppaamm:
Yah, good idea, get a part-time to do the ironing. Much cheaper. I think it is about $12 or $14 an hour. Gather all your ironing and ask her to do. Plus change bedsheets, clean the floor, windows, and if 3 hours, about $36. Quite worth it, hor?
Ya, but so afraid after the partimer left, I gotta clean after her.
Lucky you, at least you can rear tilapias for consumption. I can't eat my four legged though. I think the meat is too tough Hahahaha!!
That goodbyed fish was too small for consumption. Too tiny for even flossing my teeth. It may leaves decay because it's too slim to pick it out with a toothpick LOL!! -
mocharita:
How come got to clean up after the part-timer? They eat or something in the house?Ya, but so afraid after the partimer left, I gotta clean after her.
Lucky you, at least you can rear tilapias for consumption. I can't eat my four legged though. I think the meat is too tough Hahahaha!!
That goodbyed fish was too small for consumption. Too tiny for even flossing my teeth. It may leaves decay because it's too slim to pick it out with a toothpick LOL!! -
2ppaamm:
How come got to clean up after the part-timer? They eat or something in the house?
They will leave the iron and iron board around. Two weeks ago, a partimer came in for ironing and washing the curtains. Curtains washed in washing machine, and took her 4 hours to complete the job without mopping. Fine with me but she left lotsa stains on the floor for me to mop over again. She claimed that she washed her feet in bathroom which she didn't. Haiz.., instead of helping, she left extra work for me. -
mocharita:
They will leave the iron and iron board around. Two weeks ago, a partimer came in for ironing and washing the curtains. Curtains washed in washing machine, and took her 4 hours to complete the job without mopping. Fine with me but she left lotsa stains on the floor for me to mop over again. She claimed that she washed her feet in bathroom which she didn't. Haiz.., instead of helping, she left extra work for me.
Aiyoh, so not so good afterall hor? I think maybe try out that special iron ks2me suggested.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.