2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    5.7k Posts 204 Posters 987.4k Views 1 Watching
    • JohnYeoJ Offline
      JohnYeo

happyheart:
      My son needs constant revision for Maths and Chinese, on top of school work. Don't know why but he has selective memory for these 2 subjects, only remember certain things and tends to forget what and how to do certain questions :scratchhead:

I have no heart to give him more work, but for some reasons practice papers come back with enough mistakes and correction itself takes forever! Any mummy has similar experience? Honestly, I dare not give a lot of practice papers :nailbite: SA1 is stressing me out!
      One way to stop this common category of mistakes from appearing is to identify and group them up. For future revision, this can be used to and you just need to go through these mistakes....No need to go through practice papers because similar mistakes will still appear if they are not corrected...

weatherbee

ngl2010:
        ngl2010:

[quote=\"Goodluck8\"]My P6 Kid is a bit over stress. Three structured programme per week after school fot two hours. After school, still homework for Maths, English, Chinese. (Science depends whether that day having science lesson). And i found out that she tends to make a lot of careless mistakes on her works. Dont know what the use of the schoolto push the kid to the extreme?

Maybe my girl is not mature enough because not all the children felt tired. Some of them still so energentic after the structured programme. Maybe girls were feel more stress than boys as they need to face their puberty plus school works. Some of her classmates reflected that girls are so troublesome and will be so moody and tired on that particular days of the months.

What is this structured programme? Is it Supplementary session by the school?

I learned from Kiasu Parents Forum that the children will have more time at home if they do their homework in school. Of course cannot finish all but a little bit is better than nothing. Maybe your daughter can try to do some homework in school?

My son will do some of his homework in the class if I remind him (need to remind him a few times a week. I've became very naggy... sigh...). But I still cannot ask him to do his homework during recess or lunch time as he said he wants to play police and thief :faint: (so old and still wants to play catching???)[/quote]Haha. Your son is so cute! But I think it's ok to let him play during recess. The kids need a break from all the studying.

ngl2010

My P6 dd takes nap in the afternoon. I actually have concerns recently. During P5, dd did well for maths and science (80-90 range). She did not do so during CA1. She is below class average in recent CA1. Personally, I thought it was a good wake up call for her not to be complacent.

Her FT started a clinic lesson recently and she felt relieved that she was not invited as he probably felt that she was careless rather than weak in concept. On our end, we've been doing daily revision (including weekends) since the poor CA1 showing. Dh is alot more engaged this year and is there to guide her in her maths problem. Her enrichment class centre teacher is also available to take her questions via whatsapp. So the support is definitely there.

She speaks of trying to do well for SA1 but I personally feel that she is only putting in max 75% at this point when I am marking her paper as carelessness is still there.... I am starting to get worried and kept telling her that there is potentially a gap between her thoughts and the eventual results (the thought is that she will be able to do well again in her maths and science for SA1 as she has her \"problems ironed out\" which from my perspective - action speaks louder than words). I feel that there is so much more she can do on her own as she has been the self-managed type so far.

Maybe I should relax and trust her more.... :roll: Maybe I am more stressed than her???
          When doing practice papers, usually our children do not check their work. So, I think it is normal if you can see some carelessness there. I think it is also good if you can categorize her carelessness. JohnYeo categorize carelessness into several types. You can check his posting on that.

Maybe it will be good too if you check what kind of mistake she made in the CA1 Maths and Science and go through the mistakes with her.

Is your daughter's school a top primary school? If it is, I think you don't have to worry so much as the standard should be higher than neighbourhood schools.

happyheart

I measured my heart beat and it averaged 80-90's at resting position! I am scared I will get heart attack! :yikes:

weatherbee

Mama Mania:
              JohnYeo:

[quote=\"Mama Mania\"]Can somebody please motivate me. Dont know why I feel so xian, so lax, no stamina to keep track of her progress. Nothing revised yet, just keeping the momentum of finishing school's homework. SA looming near, I just don't have the mood to get her started. How ah?

Are you saying u need someone to motivate you so u can motivate your DD? šŸ˜“

Yes. You will feel how I feel and know how I feel if you are faced with profile of the kid who does not feel the heat yet and no amount of cajoling, hard, soft tactics will make her do more than she could/would do. It's really best if they are self-motivated as otherwise, it's very painful and tedious to try and get her to do just that little bit more.[/quote]Yes yes yes. I can understand. Sometimes, it's really :frustrated:

Are you a SAHM?

weatherbee

florastreet:

Perhaps u shld out-source. Kids nowadays are more receptive towards others..

Just like my kids, they listen to our tutor. She's really good at motivating them. Used to be like little snakes..unmotivated and unwilling to even try their best. Now my kids are really motivated and want to do their best. They would tell me things like I want to get Astar. Whenever they face challenging Qs, they would try their best.

I am really grateful to my tutor. Initially i heard abt her testimonies but was quite skeptical. Anway, I decided to give it a try since it's highly recommended.

Today, I am glad that I did.
                How does your tutor motivate them?

ngl2010

JohnYeo:
                  Mama Mania:

Yes. You will feel how I feel and know how I feel if you are faced with profile of the kid who does not feel the heat yet and no amount of cajoling, hard, soft tactics will make her do more than she could/would do. It's really best if they are self-motivated as otherwise, it's very painful and tedious to try and get her to do just that little bit more.

Preparing PSLE with DC can be really stressful and if not managed well, in some instance, can hurt the relationship with DC.

So one of the ways is to outsource. If parents still want to support DC, there are many ways to do that and it is up to parents to leverage on what's already working...For example, some parents cook and DC loves the cooking and see it as a way parents motivate them...

Another way, is to identify high energy activities and couple it with studying. I know most study times are seen as the \"last thing to do while on earth\" So what about including some games and using game-based learning.

I use game based learning for my students in my group and I always ask them what do they learn from the games and that can be applied towards Math.

Introducing break (fun filled break) can replenish their energy too and make them look forward to studying.

John

Honestly, it is hard to outsource too. Not all tuition centres and not all tutors are good or have chemistry with our children. At this moment, there is really no time for trial and error with new tuition centres or tutors. In hindsight, maybe I should be looking for tutors since he is P4.

My son's problem is time management. He does things very slowly. So, I usually race with him e.g. who can finish faster; he doing his Maths homework or me ironing clothes? He likes this kind of game :rotflmao: Sometimes he will criticize my ironing quality so that he would have more time for his homework šŸ˜† I would play along with him šŸ˜‰

happyheart:
                    I measured my heart beat and it averaged 80-90's at resting position! I am scared I will get heart attack! :yikes:

Normal heart beat is 70 per min. If you are getting 90 now, what will it be in Aug? :nailbite:

• MMMM Offline
                      MMM

ngl2010:
                      Maybe it will be good too if you check what kind of mistake she made in the CA1 Maths and Science and go through the mistakes with her.

Is your daughter's school a top primary school? If it is, I think you don't have to worry so much as the standard should be higher than neighbourhood schools.
                      The interesting thing about dd is that she knows her mistake. She has been \"trained\" to check and check. She self-improvise checking techniques during P5 so she was able to do fairly well. But this apparently seem to be lacking in P6....She gives me a feeling that she thinks she is \"good enough\" when she is not... So it's worrying for me that she knows what works for her but is not doing it.. šŸ˜“ There was once that she did \"badly\" in P2 due complacency. Her CL teacher told me that she cried upon seeing her results (well... much better than my P2 dd who didn't feel anything about her poor performance :slapshead: .) Since then, dd 1 really put in effort and we always relate to that feeling that she experienced. Eg. do you want to feel happy/ sad after you received your results??? So I am really hoping CA1 is a good wake up call for her as it's still \"early\".

She is in a SAP school. She is in top 3 classes so we are comparing her performance with her class average scores to make the call of her performance/ paper std given. With the same group of classmates since P5, she was able to surpass last year's average but not this year...

Secretly I am worried. If she does badly again in SA1, will her confidence take a hit. Unfortunately, I am those who don't \"sugar coat\" my feedback to her so far as I always feel that by being transparent, I am truly helping her. So yes... I am self-reflecting now :sad:

popireis

ngl2010:
                        My son's problem is time management. He does things very slowly. So, I usually race with him e.g. who can finish faster; he doing his Maths homework or me ironing clothes? He likes this kind of game :rotflmao: Sometimes he will criticize my ironing quality so that he would have more time for his homework šŸ˜† I would play along with him šŸ˜‰

Mine oso the same... suuuuper slow, and worse, dun like us to rush him. he's super \"cool\" and \"laid-back\", no amount of coaxing, motivating, nagging can rush him. I am FTWM so no time to \"monitor\" him during the day. His \"time-wasting\" tactics supersede any of us. I feel if he has done his work faster, he will have more time for other revision, but he is not motivated.

Best, he told me, cannot stress him, too stress will not perform well during exams... ya... he \"not\" stress oso nvr perform so well... :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 100 / 566