Club 2002 Kids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Clubs for parents with similar age children
    3.6k Posts 111 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      bebebub

Any E2K kids going for ACJC Science camp? Am wondering if the $50 camp fees will be worth spending. Any parents can share experiences/advices?

Mawar

bebebub:
        Mawar:

The past few weeks have been the worst ever for DD. The work load has been crazy. Dont know how long she can stay in overdrive mode. We are not even thinking of SA, just homework. Survival mode. Luckily she is still cheerful. But don't know when she will buckle.

She is struggling with Math. So am I, actually. From an almost hands off parent, I am reading and working on fractions & ratios. Hoping that I can help explain and move her along faster. Sigh! Back to school for me.

Btw, I am thinking of jumping ship from no tuition to tuition camp. Anyone in similar predicament? Any experienced math tutor or math group to recommend? :imdrowning:

Me! I surrendered this year. Some questions I totally catch-no-ball. Some questions I only know how to solve by algebra. At times I end up confusing her, 越帮越'盲' 😆 :oops:

This is exactly how I feeling right now. I am confusing her with my good intention. Not really helping. My own math prowess is already half past six to begin with. :slapshead:

bebe

bebe:

Hi

Can I check that for Maths, there are paper 1 and paper 2. It is standard that paper 1 MCQ is 40 marks while Paper 2 will be a mix of those fill in the blanks and Problem sum questions (marks ranging from 2 to 4-5 points per question). And for Paper 2, calculator will be allowed?

Hi bebe,
          The followings are shared by a friend who has attend her child's school briefing for P5 parents; hope can help answer your questions 😄

Thanks!
          this is useful to train her on exam techniques and time management

iFirefly

Yah...must see what kind of bait too use too....so my kueh LOPIS was a good choice! :evil:

:offtopic: Wrong thread... :roll:

MotherHen

bebebub:
              Mawar:

The past few weeks have been the worst ever for DD. The work load has been crazy. Dont know how long she can stay in overdrive mode. We are not even thinking of SA, just homework. Survival mode. Luckily she is still cheerful. But don't know when she will buckle.

She is struggling with Math. So am I, actually. From an almost hands off parent, I am reading and working on fractions & ratios. Hoping that I can help explain and move her along faster. Sigh! Back to school for me.

Btw, I am thinking of jumping ship from no tuition to tuition camp. Anyone in similar predicament? Any experienced math tutor or math group to recommend? :imdrowning:

Me! I surrendered this year. Some questions I totally catch-no-ball. Some questions I only know how to solve by algebra. At times I end up confusing her, 越帮越'盲' 😆 :oops:

Same here. Now I outsource everything. Esp for Math, I really think it's better to have a tutor if your DC is having trouble catching up in school. I was confusing my DDs with algebra too. Their methods nowadays are alot shorter and faster (but I'm a algebra person so I totally don't understand their methods). Ratio is a tough topic, especially when questions combine ratio/speed/fraction.

Not only dd. I feel so stressed I don't know how long i can tahan. Eg dd has oral exams tmr and fri. Instead of having the time to go through, dd is inundated with homework - Math, Science, 听写,考察,Social Studies. All crammed together.

j.032906a.032906m.032906

MotherHen:
                bebebub:

[quote=\"Mawar\"]The past few weeks have been the worst ever for DD. The work load has been crazy. Dont know how long she can stay in overdrive mode. We are not even thinking of SA, just homework. Survival mode. Luckily she is still cheerful. But don't know when she will buckle.

Same here. Now I outsource everything. Esp for Math, I really think it's better to have a tutor if your DC is having trouble catching up in school. I was confusing my DDs with algebra too. Their methods nowadays are alot shorter and faster (but I'm a algebra person so I totally don't understand their methods). Ratio is a tough topic, especially when questions combine ratio/speed/fraction.

Not only dd. I feel so stressed I don't know how long i can tahan. Eg dd has oral exams tmr and fri. Instead of having the time to go through, dd is inundated with homework - Math, Science, 听写,考察,Social Studies. All crammed together.[/quote]How come your dd's sitn sounds like mine ah? I think you have forgotten HE (weeklong data collecting) and 作文 (due today) as well... :scared: :faint:

考察s tmr & fri, rite?

She doesn't even know which day is el oral, which day is cl oral! 🤷

MotherHen

j.a.m.:
                  MotherHen:

Not only dd. I feel so stressed I don't know how long i can tahan. Eg dd has oral exams tmr and fri. Instead of having the time to go through, dd is inundated with homework - Math, Science, 听写,考察,Social Studies. All crammed together.

How come your dd's sitn sounds like mine ah? I think you have forgotten HE (weeklong data collecting) and 作文 (due today) as well... :scared: :faint:

考察s tmr & fri, rite?

She doesn't even know which day is el oral, which day is cl oral! 🤷

Ummm... Same school same class?

I saw the HE book lying on the study table, but I've not had the energy to ask her abt it. As for the 作文, she just completed one a couple of days ago (情境作文on\"妈妈的爱\"). She also just finished Draft 2 of an EL compo.

Yes, 考察tmr & fri. Today 听写.

And yes, we never know which day is EL / CL oral.

• O Offline
                    octoberbaby

Some maths questions cannot solve hor. Just one question takes few days for me to solve and present the working and answer to my ds.

j.032906a.032906m.032906

MotherHen:

Ummm... Same school same class?

I saw the HE book lying on the study table, but I've not had the energy to ask her abt it. As for the 作文, she just completed one a couple of days ago (情景作文on\"妈妈的爱\"). She also just finished Draft 2 of an EL compo.

Yes, 考察tmr & fri. Today 听写.

And yes, we never know which day is EL / CL oral.

Yes, those were her exact hw! And yesterday was the first time she had to stay up till 9.30pm to complete the 作文 & study 听写. After I look at her effort, have decided to send her to 作文班 man!

Actually, the teachers did tell them which day is which oral last time, dunno why this time never leh... esp bear teacher, she's v on the ball one leh...

& I kept reminding her to ask but she's too shy in cl class to make a peep :roll: el teacher not in, rite?

MotherHen

If I’m stuck with a Math question, I’ll yell for dd1 to come help with dd2.

furthermore, dd2 understands dd1’s method way better than she understands mine. Generation gap…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 340 / 359