桃花谈

984 Posts 95 Posters 266.5k Views 1 Watching
      Imami

Glad you are back to clarify the speeding topic.

I was asking hubby is it possible to drive at 130km/hr in Sg? He says unlikely on normal roads, maybe a long stretch and quiet expressway. He admitted he once tried 140km/hr on a new TPE many years ago.

So, I be seeing you at Breakfast thread tmr? miss you leh 😄
      it is possible to do 130km/hr in sg expressway but it probably cannot sustained for long and also, the chance of doing it is slim. Besides, there are too many bends and turns to seriously do 130km/hr without putting one in harm's way.

Only during mid night, I guess. Where got no car de, on sg road. Even when I drove back from kkh at 3.30am one night, also got car. How to speed?

Oh, u also reading this... Then you never come and 踢我一脚 also? :evil:

I need to catch up a lot of the breakfast/supper/dinner/lunch threads! :rotflmao: I thought only work and house chores will built up. Now ksp readings also will built up!

fanren

Imami, your English mislead all of us mah… Anyway if 130km not used in Singapore then you no need to mention lah… Not as big deal in overseas

Imami

fanren:
          Imami, your English mislead all of us mah.... Anyway if 130km not used in Singapore then you no need to mention lah.... Not as big deal in overseas

Sorry wor, I have always say my engrish no good. But it's not my fault for people to make their own assumption, teo Bo?

If u read back my post which raised much controversy, the point was my son's sense of speed and/or the lack of it. Where it took place, is not impt mah. Because I am not talking about speeding, the point I am talking about my son's sense of speed and how he automatically asked me to slow down the moment I hit beyond 50km/hr on rainy days.

One can write in queen's English. But if the others want to join into conclusion, misunderstanding will still happen. Which drives me back to - why nobody ask where/how/why and then start criticizing.

limlim

Imami:

You may not cause an accident, but your speed might change the consequences of an accident should another car cut into your path or hit you causing you to lose control.

Losing control of a car at 60km/h and that for a car at 130km/hr can have very different results..

Again, this bring back to my earlier question -why nobody asked where I was driving?

when I hit 130km/hr, there was no car in sight, not in front, not behind. A long straight stretch of highway where there was no vehicle at all.

I do practice defensive driving and was mindful of possible danger, not senselessly/blindly speeding. When I 

It is a general comment. It applies in every situation and hence it doesn't matter the circumstances when or where you do it.

The consequences will be different at different speed. I am just pointing out a fact.

It is not meant to be personal (i.e. \"imami, you shd not do this\" that kind of comment), so there is no need for me to find out from you why are you doing it.

Whether or not the speeding is justified doesn't have impact on the validity of that comment.
            Imami:

This is NOT a reminder. It is criticism of undesirable behavior (i.e. speeding).

indeed, I see this comment (and some others as well) as criticism on me and my action. But really, how sound/good are these criticism when the one criticizing doesn't get the whole picture?

That is a response to insider when she commented that we are making \"unnecessary nagging\" (maybe not the most suitable phase to use).

\"Undesirable behaviour\" is reckless speeding (like in some examples given by insider, and saying things like they are the ones driving so passenger shd \"Shut up\")

If you can justify your actions, then, it is not reckless speeding and not in our definition of undesirable behaviour, and my comments don't apply and so the criticism may not have existed.

Again, the intention is Not to pin down \"imami did something wrong\". If someone want to \"convict\" you of the wrongdoing, they will need to get the whole picture first.

But I am mainly trying to condemn \"reckless driving\" and not trying to \"convict imami\".. Guess you get the picture...... 😉

Imami

Ha really? I don’t see it that way. Not with "this is not your grandfather road" and blah blah blah. In almost everything we discuss, the context is very important. But since one doesn’t bother to find out more before jumping into conclusion, the other don’t need to explain.

limlim

Imami:
                Ha really? I don't see it that way. Not with \"this is not your grandfather road\" and blah blah blah.

This is direct response to insider's post when she mentioned as a passenger she should learn to shut up bcoz she is not at the wheels, or something to that effect.

And, I said, my reply (To That comment) is, \"it is not your grandfathers road\".

Please, what you read, please draw the link to insider's post/comments, NOT to you.

Insider's comment triggered most of those posts you read, Not you. So please don't take the words too personally.

Let me ask you, if you(as a driver) saw someone wilful reckless driving, and you point out to him that it is not right. His reply is, he is the one driving not you, so you shd \"Shut Up\". How would you response? of coz, you would tell him, it is your vehicle but this is not your grandfather's road! Are you directing to yourself or other drivers? no right? only the one with the attitude problem who ask you to \"shut up\".

Hence, clearly you can see that the comment is not directed at you.

Hope the clarification will ease you from any unpleasantness or possible distress.

My only (I guess) reply direct to you is the factual comment that different speed different outcome. Which shd nvr trigger any unpleasant feeling..

ngl2010

Imami:
                  Gosh.. 😓

Sun, I felt chills down my spine as I read the last part of your post.... Scary.

My car seat incident was felt deeply by me becos I tend to drive fast whenever there is a chance (with or without my son, I drive fast). And with weekends come the chance to step on the accelerator more often than the usual weekdays. But I don't speed excessively, not 150km/hr kind.... No. The car seat is still at home, drying. each time I passed it, I shuddered at what could happen 😓 :nailbite:

Scary....

Talking about speed and driving, my little one has great feel about speed. Since we taught him about the rationale of driving slowly on slippery road, he had never failed to remind me to slow down whenever he was in the car with me. The strangest part was - it seemed he could feel how fast we are going. Whenever the speedometer shows more than 50km/hr, he would say,\"mummy slow down, slow down\". As he was sitting at the back, he couldn't have seen the speedometer and we had never told him how to read it. As strange as this is, I can hit 130km/hr on a dry day and he will just keep quiet. :?
                  I think all these posts started with the above post which gave impression that Imami can hit 130 km/hr on a dry day in Singapore and also because in the 2nd paragraph she wrote \"My car seat incident was felt deeply by me becos I tend to drive fast whenever there is a chance (with or without my son, I drive fast).\"

Only Imami knows the truth whether she ever/often drove 130 km/hr in Singapore.

What I want to say is nobody should drive 130 km/hr in Singapore. I hope Imami will never drive 130 km/hr in Singapore.

I have a lot of respect for Insider with all the advices she has been giving but now I am disappointed because I have the impression that she condone high speed driving with reasons such as we cannot do anything if the driver is speeding since we are only passenger, the driver already knows the danger so no point even if we tell the driver off, it is fate if we die due to accident that is not our fault, etc. Well, everybody is just human. Nobody is perfect. Insider can write and argue very well so I am sure there are other things she can say to defend her view. I am not a good debater so I will definitely lose to her. I hope she won't respond to this post. Anyway, I won't comment anymore on this matter.

Have a great weekend, everybody. Be safe.

Imami

Limlim,

that post (and a few of them from you about speeding) I find, was overbearing. Regardless of who you are responding to. Ihave to honestly say, I took offence. But they will not create bad blood between us.

How shd I put it? I buay siong but I don't want to keep it inside my heart.

limlim

Imami:
                      In almost everything we discuss, the context is very important. But since one doesn't bother to find out more before jumping into conclusion, the other don't need to explain.

The context of the grandfather road comment is towards the example in insider's post.

She said she feel she shd shut up and not comment on the wilful (Not medical emergency) speeding just bcoz she is not the one at the wheels (she trust the driver's skill etc..), and I feel this attitude is very wrong. We shd criticise the wrong doing if we feel it is not right, and remind them that there are other road users. She mentioned the part in blue, which, for this context, is sufficient information to make a judgement for her example (NOT for your case).

Imami

ngl2010:

I have a lot of respect for Insider with all the advices she has been giving but now I am disappointed because I have the impression that she condone high speed driving with reasons such as we cannot do anything if the driver is speeding since we are only passenger, the driver already knows the danger so no point even if we tell the driver off, it is fate if we die due to accident that is not our fault, etc. Well, everybody is just human. Nobody is perfect. Insider can write and argue very well so I am sure there are other things she can say to defend her view. I am not a good debater so I will definitely lose to her. I hope she won't respond to this post.
                        Aiya, sorry leh insider. I think I got u into this mess.

Actually I also don't quite understand how/why if one gets killed by speedster or high rise little bug, \"we have to accept it\". Can you please expand this idea? Note - I am not harping on the \"already know, no need to remind.\".

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 92 / 99

e905433kE
                        e905433k

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations