Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      straffan23

... hmm... I have a strange feeling that my maid won't come back after her trip back to hometown next week.... Since this Monday, 3 years after working with us.... she started preparing breakfast for us every morning :yikes: :yikes:

st2

I’ve only checked this agency so far, agency fees $1300. Insurance $321. Thumbprint and course $190. Loan $2240-- 8 posted dated cheques. Any one else has other info to share?

• DesertWindD Offline
          DesertWind

My good maid of 5.5 years recently gave us a shock. Last Sunday suddenly my husband received a phone call on his hand-phone from a man looking for her. Next, he called the home and I picked up the phone call. Turned out he was her boyfriend looking for her. I asked him why he called the home? He said maid not replying to his phonecall and he was serious about her blah..blah...so he called us. I told him sternly that I am her employer and told him to stop calling us or I will call the police! :mad:

Shortly after that, this Bangla guy started sending sms to my husband's handphone to \"spill the beans\". He disclosed two Facebook websites which supposedly belongs to my maid. Then he sms one photo showing them facing the camera tongue-to-tongue (yikes!) :skeptical: .

Spurned lover on a rampage - that was my conclusion. Although shocked but I can't say I am very surprised since my maid has been dressing up to the nines when she goes out on her off days. Though I gave her the benefit of the doubt since she told me she is going out with the girls or having birthday parties etc.

Questioned my maid when she came back and she told me for two years already she met this guy who worked on building a house further up the road (which means he knew where we stay) :scared: . The past two months she don't want him already so she was avoiding him. She said he has been threatening her that he would spill the beans to her employer if she did not meet him on her off days. So she was afraid to loose her job so she continued to meet him. I told maid I don't believe she met him out of fear (since she looked like having great fun in that tongue photo). I believe she has had her fun and that I believe no longer want him since being forced is no longer fun. So this guy carried out the threat to call the employer.

How he get the numbers? Oh, he just took maid handphone while they were eating lunch and he copied out all the numbers.

Husband asked maid how is she going to compensate us for all these trouble caused? Maid replied if we don't want her we can send her home.

(Does this sound like a repentant attitude to you? Somewhat disappointed to hear her answer. I expected her to answer something like she no longer will go out for a while or never to do it again etc. We will still give her a chance and help her. But she readily told us to send her back if we are not happy.)

Told her she is grounded for the next two months no Off days until we renew the contract successfully. Provided she is not pregnant nor having any VD. Also get her to change her hand-phone number immediately and we will be changing our home number soon. Also told her to tell her friends in case this guy ask that her employer has sacked her and she has balik kampung. We will also tell this Bangla. guy same story if he dares to call again.

Now furiously telling my hubby to instal CCTV to monitor the front gate.

From a sad employer who still like this maid as she works well (also the kids like her don't think they will take to other maid easily). Although pissed but also hoping she won't quit on us despite this problem.

What would you do if you encounter the same situation?
          :sad:

kbcharmaine

Hi ! I am quite new on employing a domestic helper and training her. My domestic helper has been with me for coming to 3 months and I noticed that her work is getting worse and getting very slow .She can ironed 3 clothes using one hour and cooked one dish of green vegetables using one hour. She never prepared the ingredients in advance or do the thawing of frozen meat in advance. She only thawed the meat before she cooked, so she always takes a long time in the kitchen… She can washed one toilet using 2 hours …So recently, I talked to her about her work performance , she then started to complain to me about her pain on her tummy and her legs. I really don’t know what to do as she had complain before when she first came. This is the second time complaining … The first time complaining, I had sought the help from the agency and agency had spoken to her and she stopped complaining and worked like she recovered from the magical talk with the agency. Now, again… Everytime, I instructed her to do something, she will show me with very "painful" look on her face… So I came to wonder is there a way to detect is she telling the truth. Please give me advice on how to manage maid.

beebeemum

My first maid also complained of a lot of pain. From allergy to muscles aching, tummy cramp, headaches etc etc. every time she complained, I sent her to the dr and after few visits, the dr requested to speak to me privately. She was of the opinion that my maid was malingering!

After 5 months, I sent her back as even the agent couldn't manage to counsel her. :slapshead:

piyobaby

Mishell21:
                Hi Everyone, 

Recently my maid is requesting to transfer for the second time, she has worked with us for 9 months. The first time she requested but after a few days changed her mind and requested to stay. (Her intention is only seeking our attention and wanting us to pet talk her). As I m parent of two 9 months old babies (we have another local nanny too), the first time she wanted to go back to agency immediately during x'mas period did caught us off guard and get us worried as both my husband and I need to work and the supply of maid is low during festive period.

We searched high n low for a new maid and finally found a transfer maid and then she cries and requested to stay. We decided to keep and lost the deposit of $300 for the new maid as she promised to work hard and no more nonsense. After a week, she is back to her laziness and bad attitude behaviour. Hence, we decided to look for new maid before she play us out again as she might want to leave after loan is finished. Now while waiting for the new maid to arrive, true enough our prediction, she requested to leave again just after 3 months from her first request. And again she asked for immediate transfer. 

Her duties are mainly to take care of one baby while nanny take care of the other. No housework, no cooking only twice a week to wash my and baby laundry. She gets to sleep in the afternoon at nanny's place and most of the time she just sit around watch tv at nanny's place. On weekend we will always go out as a family, she gets to own a handphone, eat the same table and eat the same dishes as us. 60% of the time she gets to eat at restaurants, we buy her children and herself gifts during x'mas and angpow during cny. 

But in return, she wake up late at 8am though on weekend her working hours starts at 7am. Even after repeated reminder, she still do it and even show us an attitude. She will never admit her mistake, either telling us a load of stories or rebuked us back. Always twist and turn her words, doesn't like to follow instructions; always bend on doing her own ways. When corrrected, again show us black face. Caught a few times doesnt respond to babies' cries, get impatient with baby. There was one time I caught her using the pail that was supposed to wash bras and underwears to wash babies' milk bottles. When asked, she defensively say she always do that at nany's place and there is no other pail. Then she show black face and attitude when she tell her not to though I corrected her nicely and with a smile. There are many more such incidents.

I am upset over her irresponsible attitude, i wanted to send her back to philippines. But agency persuade me from doing so cause they have employers needed a maid. The agency even wanted me to put in good words for her when she is obviously a problematic maid. The reason why I wanted to share here is because I know the agency will definitely market her to other parents of young kids, esp those urgent case. I am a victim myself and doesnt want anyone to go through the same thing as me.Hence,

Please avoid taking this maid from S*nway. 
                Name: Mactal Lanie Ferrer 
                Work permit No.: 026198186  http://i50.tinypic.com/e5sbah.jpg\">

Thanks and good luck in your maid searching..
                Hi there, I suspect we went to the same agency and seriously the quality of this agency is highly in doubt and the staff tend to side with maids a great deal instead of complying to the criterias of the employer. :stompfeet:
                I had a very bad experience with them but had no choice but to continue hiring a 2nd helper from them whom is wif us for a month and considered okay at tis point of time though it's way too soon to speak if she is really good. :xedfingers:

piyobaby

Hi Desertwind, you mentioned that the boyfriend is aware of your address so even though your helper & your home number are changed, he could still track if your helper is around despite sending the "message" around that she had been sent home.

• JohnYeoJ Offline
                    JohnYeo

kbcharmaine:
                    Hi ! I am quite new on employing a domestic helper and training her. My domestic helper has been with me for coming to 3 months and I noticed that her work is getting worse and getting very slow .She can ironed 3 clothes using one hour and cooked one dish of green vegetables using one hour. She never prepared the ingredients in advance or do the thawing of frozen meat in advance. She only thawed the meat before she cooked, so she always takes a long time in the kitchen... She can washed one toilet using 2 hours ...So recently, I talked to her about her work performance , she then started to complain to me about her pain on her tummy and her legs. I really don't know what to do as she had complain before when she first came. This is the second time complaining ... The first time complaining, I had sought the help from the agency and agency had spoken to her and she stopped complaining and worked like she recovered from the magical talk with the agency. Now, again... Everytime, I instructed her to do something, she will show me with very \"painful\" look on her face.. So I came to wonder is there a way to detect is she telling the truth. Please give me advice on how to manage maid.

Hi kbcharmaine,

Looks like your maid is like acting out. Seriously, if let's say the irresponsible behaviour is consistent and is repeated...have u tried speaking to the agent to have a talk with her? Otherwise, we can use the hard approach...another warning and off you (the maid) go...it is hard to be managing another \"child\" at home...

about the painful look, painful yes, but still got to get it done and limit the time...likewise for other tasks....can say something like \"get it done by 4 pm and I want the food to be laid out on the table...\"

worth trying before changing to another maid (last resort)...getting a new maid can be a bigger headache too, i feel...

John

Shiroi Ryuu

Has anyone heard of a Non-profited Organization called ASKI Global Limited??

Currently my maid is studying over there, under the course of Financial Education, with sponsorship from Citi Foundation. And she is learning how to manage her little salary much better than I do.

It is interesting, and definitely made her a better domestic helper than anyone I hired before.

• JohnYeoJ Offline
                        JohnYeo

Hi Shiroi,

Really? Good ah? My first time hearing this...im thinking of my maid can go there to learn something during her off days....i read about it at this website...

http://www.smemagazine.asia/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=779:aski-offers-services-in-singapore-&catid=101:singapore&Itemid=476

Can tell me more about it? Like any fees? How to register? and so on...
                        I cant find the official website....care to share....Thanks alot! 😃

John

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 786 / 1032