The use of 'You' in Sentences

125 Posts 23 Posters 20.0k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

Sun_2010:

WE are going swimming now. We are taking a break from all the revision.

WE have done 4 sets of math (2 each for DD and DS) 2 sets of English compo (DS), 2 sets of Science (DD) and baked a Japanese Cheesecake (me šŸ˜‰ )

A well deserved break for US. :razz:

Later WE will be doing more revision.

4 hours of focussed work in one morning ?
      Please let me what motivational foods do you feed them ?
      Better still tell us what you ate during your pregancy?
      Maybe you should also tell what you and your DH ate since your childhood.

Just kidding, a lot depends on what they see in the environment around them. You must be a disciplined and non-naggy mom ( a rare species ) for them to model after. :salute:

Honestly with given my tempremental pigheaded work attitude , my children do a better job than their genes dictate. So I am not complaining. šŸ˜†

5-6 hrs of effective work a day is something I dream of for DS. Maybe , one day..... šŸ™

Not so stressful lah. We were up early, about 7am, done with breakfast by 8+am. They started work at about 9+am and before I knew it, both were done with the 1st set of papers. Both took a break to drive me nuts for a while until I shooed them off to do the other set of papers with the promise that the sooner they complete the more time they have at the pool. Lunch was a quick 30min affair. By the time DD was completing her 2nd set of Science revision, she was getting frustrated with the OE questions, exclaiming and talking to herself. 'how should I know!?' or 'oxymoron!' or 'contradictory!' & 'ok must remember I am doing Science not English, must use key words.'

ngl2010

ngl2010:

[quote=\"Funz\"]
        We definitely did get to eat it.

DD asked \"Mummy, can we bake another one for Saturday? This time we bake one with Yuzu flavour, to bring to grnma's?\"

I showed your posting to my son and he is like :yikes: how to finish 4 papers within 6 hours and going to do some more after swimming? My son is a super slow motion boy so what your children did is unthinkable.

Btw, how did you motivate them to finish so many?

A lot ah? DD was pretty focused yesterday. The promise that when they are done with those we can spend some time at the pool was a motivator. They decided what subjects they want to revise and which topics, they also decide whether they want to attempt exam papers or topical reviews. DD chose topical review for both math and science. DS chose to do 1 exam paper and 1 topical for math and to attempt compo since next week will be his first compo test. So for Math for my P4 girl, it consists of like 10 mcqs, 8-10 short questions, 4 problem sums. Science 15mcq and 4-6 open ended questions.

Took DD about an hour to complete each of the math paper. Science took a bit longer. As for DS he completed his even faster. Did his first compo in 15mins and of course not up to standard so had to redo the compo. Lots of grumbling and pouting but he did the corrections. For the 2nd compo I spent 10 mins giving him pointers and he completed it in 30mins. It was better, at least he took note of some of the pointers given.

And yes, I used 'We' when I told them what to expect. \"Kids, today WE are going to be doing this. blah blah blah....\" and I showed them 3 stacks of papers mine was the thinnest stack. šŸ˜‚[/quote]It is a lot leh...

I must learn from you :udawoman:

Harlequin

Fresco:
          What about the use of 'I'?

From observation, people's use of 'you' is often associated with negative intentions like putting blame, being critical or worse, being commanding. However the use of 'I' speaks of positive intentions for oneself. Often, people with the 'I' mentality are self-important, self-seeking, self-righteous people. Put it simply, selfish. Hence, the word 'We' is encouraged.
          It depends on the context.

To me, using \"I\" is about accountability. We can't avoid it. As much as we try not to use \"You\" on others, it does not mean that avoiding using \"I\" will bring forth the same graciousness.

Example, when our staff made a mistake, we go \"Looks like we have made a mistake.\" (Kudos! We share the blame.)
          When I make a mistake as their boss, can I go on to tell the team, \"Looks like WE have made a mistake.\".... where is the accountability without mentioning \"I\"?

Omit the \"I\" and replaced with \"WE\"... it's akin to asking others to pool and lighten the accountability. :xedfingers:

But, of course, all languages have it's limitation, and I don't see omitting/replacing a single word or two can demeaning/conceal the speaker's intent.

ammonite

My aunt still remembers how 25 years ago, my cousin told her after getting back his results,\"Mummy, WE (ie aunt and cousin) didn't revise this topic hor...\" My aunt :faint:

limlim

Fresco:
              I will be back.. :siam:

I will be back.. :imanangel:

I will be back.. :evil:

I will be back.. :drool:

ammonite

Fresco:

I will be back.. :siam:

I will be back.. :imanangel:

I will be back.. :evil:

I will be back.. :drool:

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

The cheesecake sound good. So when do we get to eat it?? šŸ˜‰
                  http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/9a0fcf62-573b-48e8-a9b5-7ce6b2d70eb6_zpsa8653072.jpg?t=1367482113\">

Special delivery for Chief. šŸ˜‚

[quote=\"Funz\"]...

Even with my kids. \"We shall make sure all our work is done before anyone turns on the the TV.\" \"Have we cleaned our hamster cages?\" \"Did we learn our spelling and tingxie?\" haha

Here's my report on my attempt at implementing Funz's advice with my Sec 2 son this morning.

CKS: So, have y... I mean... have we done our homework?
                    CKS Jr: <* Blank look and stare, like I had been talking alien to him. *>
                    CKS: Hallo... you heard me anot? Have we done our homework anot?
                    CKS Jr: Err... <* hesistate*> yuuh.
                    CKS: OK, so are we prepared for yo... I mean... our exam next week?
                    CKS Jr: Yuh.... <* pauses and continues *> daddy... you going to my school for exam next week arh?
                    CKS: :faint:

FAIL.

Think I have been speaking like that to kiddos for as long as they can remember they know what I am referring to when I use 'we'.

I must remember to try 'you'. Let me test it out. And see what kind of response I get from them.[/quote]...... and I thought I was the oddball. :please: Funz, we use the \"we\" too.

Perhaps... :idea: ... it might be something to do with the line we are in? I realize I use \"we\" a lot to garner the positive energies of the lil' ones to get not just the small things done, but the biggest of tasks. Everything is a \"together\" thing. Regardless even if I was working with only one or two lil cuties at a time... and regardless if I was only singing the song with them instead of walking the talk. šŸ˜‚

Like, \"What shall we do next?\" or \"What do you think \"we\" can make from this?\"

One of the best ones I can remember will be those that go like this... \"Think we should do something about this room?\" Then, the lil ones automatically sing... \"Clean up, clean up, everybody clean up..\" Even the biggest of rooms get cleaned up. Neatly and very quickly too i must add.

Errrr just to highlight that Sec 2 is too late to implement this, even for the smallest of rooms. If your child falls in this age range, YOU have missed the boat my friend.

Harlequin

Fresco:

I will be back.. :siam: (wait for me!)

I will be back.. :imanangel: (darling, you know me!)

I will be back.. :evil: (you know what I mean!)

I will be back.. :drool: (for real!)

:imanangel:

:rotflmao: Reminds me of the time when I had to go to the Admin at my University to get my name corrected. They spelt my last name as \"Tho\" instead of \"Toh\". So the lady went, \"hmmm... ok... we'll correct your last name\" and showed me the registration form on which she has written \"Hot\" right in front of me. :faint:

Seriously Chiefy... :skeptical: ... If I hadn't already read all the replies to your post, I would have guessed either the lady may have some wee dyslexia thingies going on there...

Either that, or you actually made that up. šŸ¦†

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 10 / 13

MilomarjiM
                        Milomarji
                        Yeo DgrY
                        Yeo Dgr