All About Life Without Maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    2.4k Posts 503 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

mathsparks:
      Since my kids are quite grown up, and I'm working part-time, I've been toying with the idea of letting the maid go. Not because of problem maids, but I think it's time my kids learn to be independent. Other than a couple of problematic ones, I've been blessed with ok ones throughout.

Mentally, I run through the chores and see if I can cope. Well, I hate ironing, but this is a chore which I can consider as going to the sauna, esp if you iron in the hot afternoon. :lol: Hate the vacuuming and mopping too, the robot should handle it fairly well, I hope.

I'm a greenie, so will never consider getting a dishwasher or a clothes dryer. But I consider these as light chores which could be outsourced to the kids, so it should be ok.

Somehow, I always get stuck on the changing-of-bedsheets which will surely leave me breathless...cleaning-of-toilets/shelves/windows..these cleaning will definitely drive me bonkers coz I'm allergic to dust.. Other than getting a part-time cleaner, any suggestion on what I can do about these? Get my dh to help? Nah..he'll probably say I'm mental to wanna do away with the helper.

So, 2ppaamm and joy, how are you ladies coping? Let the dust accumulate and then rope in the entire family? :?
      Sorry, only saw this post now... I'm still a newbie leh... Today, I got this lady to come in and help me to do just that- changing bedsheets. Ha ha! I also become breathless after changing all those bedsheets!

See, 2 single beds and 1 queen size beds are loft beds and I dread having to do that, so I paid $50 to get that done today. A bit heart pain, but better than allergy. The dust mites can be fierce.

Over this weekend, I will change the beds to something lower so that I can change them without climbing so high. If I succeed, I will let you know...

Here's how I reduced using the clothes dryer - almost completely. I installed a awning, that will shield a part of my backyard completely out of the rain and wind. Then, I installed some bamboo holders below it. My clothes go below that. In case it rains, my clothes will never get wet or blown away. I can even leave them there at night - though I don't. Also, wash the clothes early in the morning. Will surely dry by night.

Dish washer, yah lor, get the children to do. Good training especially if you intend to send them overseas.

Ironing? I put the iron board outside where it is the most windy, quite nice lah...

Hm... do you have pets?

I think for your case, mathsparks, go get a part timer. Where do you stay? I may be able to get mine to hop over, I've only used her once, so not sure she's good or not. I think you've got to enjoy rather than slog to keep clean...

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

A hunky robot at that too. πŸ’‹

You ARE already doing the marketing sweetie. :hugs:

And those occasions that you DO cook, i must
        say that they're pretty scrummy too.. :celebrate:
        I feel like a lamp post leh...

Seriously, husband have to help. Marketing, helping the kids with their homework, read to the kids, take out rubbish, gardening. All the nicer things lah.

My husband is behaving like a robot too!

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

clarabella:
          I enjoyed reading this thread. We have many indefatigable parents here!

:salute:

We don't have a maid either. In fact we've never had one and by now we're frightened by the amount of energy it takes to find a good one... Initially we had no choice; we were working/studying overseas when our two older kids were very young; couldn't afford domestic help. We got so used to doing everything ourselves, plus we're both very picky people - I'm sure any maid would be driven nuts by my demands!

Anyway, our solution: get EVERYONE to help out. With three kids and 8000 sq feet to take care of, I'd die of exhaustion if I have to do everything myself.
          I'm very lazy by nature, so my first basic rule is: everyone has to tidy/pack up whenever they're done with something. Don't start accumulating clutter in the first place, it is painful to have to clean, then maintain. So we don't leave newspapers, books, toys etc lying around the house. We clear the dining table immediately when done with meals and don't wait to wash up.

It's not difficult to cultivate the habit with young children; you just have to be consistent in showing them where to keep, and in reinforcing the habit. Even when our kids were babies, we taught them to keep their toys away when done, by showing them where to drop their balls/blocks/etc in the respective storage boxes. When they were toddling around, we pasted photographs of the various types of toys on the boxes, so they knew where to go. I think the key is to make sure you have sufficient storage space that is accessible.

I'm very kiam-siap too so cannot bear to purchase iRobots or a dishwasher. So other than a washer and a dryer (which I cannot live without), we don't have other fun gadgets, hehe. We get the kids to make their beds, vaccum and mop their own rooms, do their own laundry, help with dishes, clean their own bathrooms (gotta supervise though) and take turns with the common areas. Sometimes we even all cook together; everyone is in charge of something: washing rice and vegs, cracking eggs, etc etc. Aiyoh, I think we're like an assembly line!
          One thing for sure, Clarabelle, your kids will grow up to be great! I wished I had that vision earlier. My kids could not even walk over the table and get a drink when we had helpers! Ridiculous!

Yep, now I do a lot of what you shared. Much tougher than just looking to the maid to clean stuff up. But I know this is life skills that will benefit them for a long, long time. :udawoman:

pineapple tarts

I am a FTWM with 2 primary school children. I dimissed my maid prematurally & was left without one for 2 months. I have to wake up at 5a.m. to cook lunch, tingkat dinner & do housework. By the time i sit down it is already 11:30p.m.... I really aged a lot thot the good thing is I shed 5kgs. I have to admit that I cannot live without one, at least for now. :stupid: With all the maid nonsense, I pray for soonest maidless day πŸ™

flim

i'm a sahm mom with 1 girl. we have been maidless since may last year and so far so good, thanks to my irobot... until i fractured my foot in nov.

thank goodness my mom is a sahm too, so i flew her fr indonesia to help me out πŸ˜› i'm so blessed i still have a mom who can help me although she doesn't live in sgp.

i try to lighten the load for my mom by arranging for a part-time helper to come weekly to help out with cleaning bathrooms, fans, ironing, vacuuming etc. the helper is actually a husband and wife 'team'. they work for 2 hrs for $60. before this, i tried engaging another help, a lady, who worked for 4 hrs for $40, but i find that the husband/wife helper can complete more work than her. do lemme know if you guys need their contact.

sleepy

flim:
                i'm a sahm mom with 1 girl. we have been maidless since may last year and so far so good, thanks to my irobot...

yes yes, irobot is a wonderful invention, indispensable!

I've not employed a maid before. Used to have a part time cleaner lady to help out with ironing & mopping when kids were much younger. Now I expect everyone to chip in to help. Always tell my kids I'm 'mummy your highness', not mummy the maid, don't expect me to do everything. I get very irriated when they demand me to do simple task like take the cake out from the fridge :x Why can't you do it yourself??!!

mathsparks

2ppaamm:
                  Hm... do you have pets?

I think for your case, mathsparks, go get a part timer. Where do you stay? I may be able to get mine to hop over, I've only used her once, so not sure she's good or not. I think you've got to enjoy rather than slog to keep clean...
                  Only a terrapin...but it belongs to my girl.so that's her job. Will seek help here again for part-timers if I can finally bear to let my helper go. Not that, I'm that close to her, just that I cant bear to do all those housework.

Thanks for the offer.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Respect from me ladies! Full marks! :salute:

I think about life w/o a maid now and it sends a shiver down my spine. Thankfully my present one (1st and only) still quite ok, shudder the day she turns bad-apple....

• 2 Offline
                      2ppaamm

flim:
                      i'm a sahm mom with 1 girl. we have been maidless since may last year and so far so good, thanks to my irobot... until i fractured my foot in nov.

thank goodness my mom is a sahm too, so i flew her fr indonesia to help me out πŸ˜› i'm so blessed i still have a mom who can help me although she doesn't live in sgp.

i try to lighten the load for my mom by arranging for a part-time helper to come weekly to help out with cleaning bathrooms, fans, ironing, vacuuming etc. the helper is actually a husband and wife 'team'. they work for 2 hrs for $60. before this, i tried engaging another help, a lady, who worked for 4 hrs for $40, but i find that the husband/wife helper can complete more work than her. do lemme know if you guys need their contact.
                      Yes, I would like to know about this couple. I need someone to clean my windows and change the bedsheets. Preferably someone really strong!

• JoyJ Offline
                        Joy

I am able to cope with housework when everything is structure.However, when there is sudden disrupt in schedule, as in something unusaul pop up, I go hay wire…any advice how to cope when such situation arise?thanks

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 245