Me Time!

36.2k Posts 331 Posters 3.2m Views 2 Watching

We should learn to let go and be happy…no point being so serious and make ourselves unhappy. Whether we are happy or unhappy, we still have to live. 开心是一天,不开心也是要活。When that day is over, it will not return again.

We should tell and remind ourselves not to be unhappy.

To be happy, live within our means. This way, we will not be a slave to the house or the car.

teaberry

TheAnswer:
        After my mil passed away, I suddenly feel that there is no point working long hours... Actually we do not really need so much money..House already fully paid for..ample savings.. Just want more time for family and personal development..

I'm looking forward to more time to enjoy what I like...reading, shopping, cooking..
        Cutting down to 50% work.. 50% enjoyment..
        The pursuit of money making is becoming a paramount priority for most people and they do it at the expense of their relationships with their loved ones and even health. It ain't worth it and people realise that once they start to lose a loved one or suffer ill health.

Marian Wright Edelman once said, \"Never work just for money or for power. They won't save your soul or help you sleep at night.\"

Working long hours and getting caught in a rat race sap you of all energy for real living, that is, spending time with your loved ones and feeding your own soul. No matter how successful you become in the race, you are after all still a rat!

So, yes...we should make time for ourselves to smell the roses.

autumorange:
          it's impt to have me time 🙂

Life is not just abt $$$
          I wish I can run out to enjoy a cuppa...be it chamomile or coffee. Think I will do that when school reopens. Day in day out, facing 4 walls...can die.

teaberry

litmuspaper:

[quote=\"autumorange\"]it's impt to have me time 🙂

Life is not just abt $$$

I wish I can run out to enjoy a cuppa...be it chamomile or coffee. Think I will do that when school reopens. Day in day out, facing 4 walls...can die.

Bring ur kids along?

I would bring my kids out during the hols. Once a week outing to anywhere of their choice but the bargain is they need to complete their responsibility.[/quote]If bringing kids along, then it's no more 'ME' time liao! :slapshead:

This 1 solid month, I have lost my freedom. So when school reopens, I need that 1/2 day break from them. Patience has worn thin facing them 24/7.

This is the problem as SAHM…full time working mums have to juggle work, home and kids. SAHM have to be all-rounder. Forget MC or annual leave.
              Men seem to have it easy.

I need to relax…without them. Bring them along for coffee, might as well I stay at home.

• NebbermindN Offline
                Nebbermind

This 1 solid month, I have lost my freedom. So when school reopens, I need that 1/2 day break from them. Patience has worn thin facing them 24/7.

This is the problem as SAHM...full time working mums have to juggle work, home and kids. SAHM have to be all-rounder. Forget MC or annual leave.
                Men seem to have it easy.

I need to relax...without them. Bring them along for coffee, might as well I stay at home.
                Just leave your kids to do whatever they want lor...and you do whatever you want...donch have to make yourself busy around them what.

Gotta make sure they get tuition work/school hw (online) done. Ignore them, can.

When they fight? Do I have to be referee? Even when I hide in the loo to get peace by washing loo, they can bring their ‘case’ to the toilet.

I have window grilles, no need to be afraid. House is messy with them at home. It’s the noise lah. I must not see, hear or say anything…or else forget me time. It is not possible. My husband is perfect at this…kids can fight and he can totally not hear.

Now is my me time ending…started two hours ago when the three of them went to bed.

it actually started earlier at 9pm, my tv marathon with hubby until his bedtime.kids entertained themselves with two player pc games and I was free as a bird.
                    Will continue my me time tomorrow until noon.
                    My typical school holiday programme,mornings are all me time during weekdays when we were are home. I would wake up late,hide under my blanket to surf the internet.so long the kids thought I was still asleep, I would be safe.lol.
                    Already trained elder to heat up and prepare breakfast that Iprepared the necessary cutlery,foodstuff the night before.
                    This june is the first time we introduce pc games to the boys. Any one who cannot finish their work by the designated timing,both cannot play as it is a two player game. Can really prevent younger from distracting his older brother from completing his work! Lol.
                    I am simple.me time have WiFi,nap or tv, can already.no need to go out.

SBKS

yes, dun be unhappy. like my fave superhero Spiderman always says....we have a choice everyday. we can choose to be happy when we wake up every day or choose to be unhappy. ur choice entirely.

i prefer time than money. because if u have more time...u can have more money...lol...but i really afraid to wish for more time when I met a genie. ..cos the genie will turn me back into a baby. :rotflmao:

ok i m laughing at my own joke.. :boogie:

for refree-ing the quarrels...most of the time i will go for both also dun have cos easier to settle. :evil:
                      but sometimes i will check out the scenario and rule accordingly. machiam like judge. :siao:

ME time is something that we have to squeeze out from our daily lives. always depend on urself than ur other half or ur kids so as to avoid any further disappointment. If u cant squeeze it out even with the help of ur kids or other half, then u really got to share with us here so that we can help.

That's why I started this thread. 😄

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

Gotta make sure they get tuition work/school hw (online) done. Ignore them, can.

When they fight? Do I have to be referee? Even when I hide in the loo to get peace by washing loo, they can bring their 'case' to the toilet.

I have window grilles, no need to be afraid. House is messy with them at home. It's the noise lah. I must not see, hear or say anything...or else forget me time. It is not possible. My husband is perfect at this...kids can fight and he can totally not hear.
                        Your kids are no longer toddlers or pre-schoolers. They are old enough to resolve their differences themselves. They quarrel and fight, let them sort it out themselves. They should know their responsibilities and be able to complete their work without you reminding them every step of the way.

Am going to be very blunt here. The problem lies not with your kids or your DH but with yourself. Whether you are able to let go.

Sorry if I have offended you.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 3616

NickLN
                        NickL