Me Time!

36.2k Posts 331 Posters 3.2m Views 2 Watching
    • starlight1968sgS Offline
      starlight1968sg

Heard from the radio that we are living longer and the years in good health are about 74 years

Is this good or bad news?

ImMeeMee

slmkhoo:
        ImMeeMee:

And cos I am taking care of the kids a lot I feel like I am getting too close and being too uptight with them. These days I feel quite frustrated with the kids that I think maybe I should go back to work. Do you mummies have this problem?

Yes! But going back to work is not the only solution. It may not be the best solution as work can take up so much time and energy. It may be from too much attention to too little? Maybe PT work, or as you are planning, just something else to take your focus off the kids so much. I guess it depends on how much of your time you think your kids need.

These days my kids rely on me a lot cos I am always there to help them solve their problems. I think its getting unhealthy. I also think that they are beginning to take me for granted, and the tween defiant and rebellious minds are not helping.

I need to start to step back. Parenthood is really walking on a tightrope. Either way and I drop. 🤷

• starlight1968sgS Offline
          starlight1968sg

ImMeeMee

The issue of reliance will change when kids enter sec school. Now you just enjoy this precious period

ImMeeMee

starlight1968sg:
            ImMeeMee

The issue of reliance will change when kids enter sec school. Now you just enjoy this precious period
            Starlight

DD1 is in sec 1 this year. it's the usual daily stuff that gets to me. Leaving things unpacked, shoes unwashed, books and stuff everywhere. Its either I pack up for her or I tell her to pack and then it turns to nagging when she doesn't listen. Sometimes she's cooperative and sometimes she's defiant. Tween mood swings? Honestly I can't remember how it was like when I was a teen. Maybe I gave my parents a hard time too. :roll:

• sharonkhooS Offline
              sharonkhoo

ImMeeMee:
              These days my kids rely on me a lot cos I am always there to help them solve their problems. I think its getting unhealthy. I also think that they are beginning to take me for granted, and the tween defiant and rebellious minds are not helping.

I need to start to step back. Parenthood is really walking on a tightrope. Either way and I drop. 🤷
              I know what you mean - I went through and am still going through the process too. It's good to intentionally step back gradually - partly to let them learn, and also to avoid some of the inevitable clashes if you are too involved. You can still watch from a distance and step in if you see they get seriously out of their depth. They will make mistakes, and sometimes blame you for not helping (you may feel a bit guilty too!), but it's all part of the learning process. You just want to prevent the worst or irrepairable consequences, but a few knocks and small failures are good for them. My husband has been the one who tells me when I should step back as I'm usually too close to see. Over the years, I have gradually increased the volunteer stuff I do, gone out with friends more, and recently took on freelance/PT work too. The benefit is that we also get to reclaim our selves (and our marriages) which have taken more of a back seat when the kids were small.

sleepy

I’m still yelling about socks on the floor once a week. Honestly this should be zero occurrence!

• sharonkhooS Offline
                  sharonkhoo

sleepy:
                  I'm still yelling about socks on the floor once a week. Honestly this should be zero occurrence!

Don't yell? Just leave the socks there until they run out? Or if you really can stand the sight, put them in a bag or container in a corner? Or put them on their beds - that should attract their attention without your needing to shout.

ImMeeMee

slmkhoo:

I know what you mean - I went through and am still going through the process too. It's good to intentionally step back gradually - partly to let them learn, and also to avoid some of the inevitable clashes if you are too involved. You can still watch from a distance and step in if you see they get seriously out of their depth. They will make mistakes, and sometimes blame you for not helping (you may feel a bit guilty too!), but it's all part of the learning process. You just want to prevent the worst or irrepairable consequences, but a few knocks and small failures are good for them. My husband has been the one who tells me when I should step back as I'm usually too close to see. Over the years, I have gradually increased the volunteer stuff I do, gone out with friends more, and recently took on freelance/PT work too. The benefit is that we also get to reclaim our selves (and our marriages) which have taken more of a back seat when the kids were small.
                    Well said slmkhoo. Especially the blame part. šŸ˜‚

On a side note, I have been telling DH that its about time we start to cultivate our other interests. Both of us have been very involved with the kids that a lot of other things take a back seat. So we better prepare ourselves eventually for Empty Nest Syndrome one day when it hits.

sleepy

Socks at entrance of the house. Buay tahan leh.

I threaten to throw their dirty socks on their bed. Then I get this calm come back line if I can bring dirty socks to their room why not bring dirty socks directly to the laundry basket instead.

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

Waahh, you kids can get away with this kind of sass?

For me, I will not threaten, I will just do. Their socks will either end up on their study table, on their bed or in the dustbin.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 868 / 3616