Beijing Language School - Discussion
I wonder if they teach ‘angmoh’ kids to learn from scratch? My kids are Eurasians, they’ve never been exposed to Mandarin other than the one or two words I tell them.
Hi, my boy is in Beijing as well. I also have the same thoughts as dohdoh, the words that they teach is quite difficult for their level, at the same time his CC only teaches very simple words like 口,吃 etc etc. And BJ is already at some chinese words with many many strokes, counting the bi hua and introducing the HYPY sounds.
Hopefully I can see the same results as dohdoh when he goes Pri 1 next year.
agree… DD brought back the worksheet they did… super chim for K1 lor… but she manage to read out the HYPY… meaning she is paying attention lol… well… good exposure i must say…
Dear Ladies,
Thanks for the feedback. Do Beijing language school teach tingxie for K1?
My youngest ds in K1 is already having problem coping with his weekly tingxie. If he goes to Beijing language school and there is tingxie, I think I’ll be more stress teaching him to write.
Also, doh doh can you recommend good teacher for K1, P1 and P4 in Punggol?
Thanks! -
heyhoe:
Hi Heyhoe, sorry for late reply cos changed my phone n couldn't log in. My elder one is in P4 n she took up BJ creative writing last year but didnt like BJ cos teacher didn't really go thru all the helping words. This year cos she is in higher Chinese class n we can't teach creative writing so we enrolled her to HCL in Bishan. It was good but we felt group tuition might not be able to tackle her weakness in comprehension n composition hence we engaged a private tutor for her now.Dear Ladies,
My youngest ds in K1 is already having problem coping with his weekly tingxie. If he goes to Beijing language school and there is tingxie, I think I'll be more stress teaching him to write.
Thanks! -
myebelle:
I wonder if they teach 'angmoh' kids to learn from scratch? My kids are Eurasians, they've never been exposed to Mandarin other than the one or two words I tell them.
Hi Myebelle, I believe the school does teach any races who wants to learn Chinese cos I saw Indian students too. -
myebelle:
I wonder if they teach 'angmoh' kids to learn from scratch? My kids are Eurasians, they've never been exposed to Mandarin other than the one or two words I tell them.
Hi Myebelle, I believe the school does teach any races who wants to learn Chinese cos I saw Indian students too. -
one good point abt BJ is that… DD is not feeling well and the lady said she can come for replacement anyday within that week… nice right ?
dohdoh:
Hi Heyhoe, sorry for late reply cos changed my phone n couldn't log in. My elder one is in P4 n she took up BJ creative writing last year but didnt like BJ cos teacher didn't really go thru all the helping words. This year cos she is in higher Chinese class n we can't teach creative writing so we enrolled her to HCL in Bishan. It was good but we felt group tuition might not be able to tackle her weakness in comprehension n composition hence we engaged a private tutor for her now.heyhoe:
Dear Ladies,
My youngest ds in K1 is already having problem coping with his weekly tingxie. If he goes to Beijing language school and there is tingxie, I think I'll be more stress teaching him to write.
Thanks!
Thanks, dohdoh. Do you have any recommendation on teachers for P1 or K1 students? Alternatively, anyone we should avoid? You can PM me if you feel more comfortable.
As for your P4, mine is having a hard time doing in composition and comprehension. Still thinking of an alternative, as he only wants group. -
Beijing @sengkang or puggol plaza? Which centre to choose? Heard that Sengkang is better. Is that true?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.