PSLE 2012 - Results Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    1.5k Posts 357 Posters 474.0k Views 1 Watching
      teacher_girl

<

haha - then I must have rather stupid children then since at least 2 of my older ones find Sec 1 math difficult enough to fail badly. They do algebra from Term 1 of Sec 1, leh, not from Sec 2.[/quote]>

πŸ™‚
      I'm sure it might just mean your child is weak in math for some areas!
      Yes indeed, math algebra is taught in sec1, but it's the basics which is revised from p5 and up with a combination of new things, so it does get slightly confusing.

However in sec2, math is taught with algebra often in most chapters. Quadratic equations, angles, formulas, most of it... πŸ™‚
      Hope that helps πŸ™‚

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

teacher_girl:

πŸ™‚
        I'm sure it might just mean your child is weak in math for some areas!
        Yes indeed, math algebra is taught in sec1, but it's the basics which is revised from p5 and up with a combination of new things, so it does get slightly confusing.

However in sec2, math is taught with algebra often in most chapters. Quadratic equations, angles, formulas, most of it... πŸ™‚
        Hope that helps πŸ™‚
        Well, they didn't understand in school. For my eldest, she continued to fail and then finally passed marginally at end of Sec 2 before we got her a tutor for Sec 3. Within 1 term, she went from marginal pass in sec 2 to A1. After 2 terms, she could handle the math on her own already and no longer used that tutor. That same thing happened to me from Lower Sec to Upper Sec, except that in my time 30+yrs ago, it was my school teacher who did that magic and not an external tutor.

Anyway, for our younger one, when he was having problems in math in Sec 1, we didn't wait until Sec 3 to get him a tutor like his sister, but had him started with one by 2nd half of the sec 1 year. Improvement was significant. *sigh* wonder what's wrong with the teachers in school. His tutor also ex-school teacher wat. Tutor says it's bc in school it's a class of 30-40. In the tuition setting, it's 1-to-1, sure to understand and improve.

Maybe if the school teachers are dedicated enough to provide individual attention to weak students, it would be better. But we've so far only experienced teachers that agree to help, but don't make good the appointments made.

I think school teachers too bogged down by too many commitments., compared to private tutors.

• Z Offline
          zeemimi

teacher_girl:
          Math in sec1 is very similar to primary school.

The problem comes in a lot in sec2 when algebra comes in.

History, geography and literature is very closely linked to English itself.

A typical kid takes about 10 subjects in sec1-2 (not all at same time though) but you really shouldn't worry about tuition teachers, I'm sure there are really good teachers in school. In case that teacher is not available, there are many other teachers of the same subject/department available in that school too. Encourage your child to make friends with good friends so that they can each other too.
          math in sec1 is NOT similar to pri sch math. it is very different. you no longer need models. algebra is already taught at sec 1. a check of sec 1 textbooks will confirm that.

an observation of some students i know: some of them were not A* math students at pri school but they excel in secondary school maths. these students caught on to algebra with little problem. but many others who are well versed with modelling and heuristics have problem switching to algebra in sec school.

so an encouragement to those who may not have hit A* or A at PSLE math, you still have plenty of chances to excel in sec sch math. Work hard, practice a lot, be consistent in your work.

• Z Offline
            zeemimi

Precious2.lee:
            Schools should release the stat to parents from all levels and not just to P5 parents. P1 parents need to know too so we can monitor the trend to decide the next course of action. For example, if consecutively for 2 years, quality passes for math is only 40% and this % never improve or worse still, has dropped, parents need to question the school what is the problem?? Is it problem with the P? HOD? Or teachers not strong or not motivated to teach? Or is it poor teaching materials?? Very important to know the root cause and improve. In worst scenario, some parents may also wish to transfer their children out from that school at P3 or P4. This may be a bit extreme but at least, parents knows early that external help is definitely required!!

judging a school by the percentage of quality passes makes the unfair assumption that students across all schools are similar, e.g. same academic calibre, have access to the same resources, etc. however, the truth is, they are not.

whether we like it or not, it is obvious the educational arena is not a levelled playing ground.

Rational_Parent

zeemimi:
              Precious2.lee:

Schools should release the stat to parents from all levels and not just to P5 parents. P1 parents need to know too so we can monitor the trend to decide the next course of action. For example, if consecutively for 2 years, quality passes for math is only 40% and this % never improve or worse still, has dropped, parents need to question the school what is the problem?? Is it problem with the P? HOD? Or teachers not strong or not motivated to teach? Or is it poor teaching materials?? Very important to know the root cause and improve. In worst scenario, some parents may also wish to transfer their children out from that school at P3 or P4. This may be a bit extreme but at least, parents knows early that external help is definitely required!!

judging a school by the percentage of quality passes makes the unfair assumption that students across all schools are similar, e.g. same academic calibre, have access to the same resources, etc. however, the truth is, they are not.

whether we like it or not, it is obvious the educational arena is not a levelled playing ground.

You are spot on.

And children with mild intellectual disabilities are often enrolled in mainstream primary schools. This is why there are such terms as \"Normal Maths\", \"Normal Science\", etc to tailor to children with mild intellectual abilities in some schools.

zeemimi:
                teacher_girl:

A typical kid takes about 10 subjects in sec1-2 (not all at same time though) but you really shouldn't worry about tuition teachers, I'm sure there are really good teachers in school. In case that teacher is not available, there are many other teachers of the same subject/department available in that school too. Encourage your child to make friends with good friends so that they can each other too.

math in sec1 is NOT similar to pri sch math. it is very different. you no longer need models. algebra is already taught at sec 1. a check of sec 1 textbooks will confirm that.
                an observation of some students i know: some of them were not A* math students at pri school but they excel in secondary school maths. these students caught on to algebra with little problem. but many others who are well versed with modelling and heuristics have problem switching to algebra in sec school.

so an encouragement to those who may not have hit A* or A at PSLE math, you still have plenty of chances to excel in sec sch math. Work hard, practice a lot, be consistent in your work.

my neighbour can confirm that sec 1 maths is different from primary school...no longer models.

Poet2010

Dear Parents,

The following web page would further enlighten you on the school selection for the PSLE 2012 cohort.

http://www.acetutors.com.sg/Secondary-School-Ranking-2012-Based-On-PSLE-Intake

For ease of consideration;
                  1) what's our current standpoint
                  2) travelling distance (long hours in public transport can be quite tiring especially for full day school curriculum)
                  3) the child's progression and apptitude in learning

It's a norm for \"learning cultural\" shock to be experienced by kids transiting from Primary to Secondary education, primarily because the learning path changes (or what we termed as going forward to maturity). Just do not be alarmed, be patient, be supportive (what I meant no learning pressure). More tuition doesn't meant higher scores in test and exams. If the body cannot absorb the nutrients, no point feeding it to the bream, it's a waste of time and resources. Just be supportive.

Putting a child whom exhibited a moderate learning aptitude in a challenging environment may create undue stress for he or she. Be open, be clear, be objective, together as a team, Parents n' Child, make a sound assessment and be prepared to receive ... Cheers, All The Best@Poet2010

TREX8

I agree with Zeemini. Math in sec no longer relies on models but uses algebra. My dd, who had difficulty with models in pri sch, commented that sec math is so much easier.

Look out though for humanities subjects as the skills needed to answer exam qns will be new to pri students. Do not despair when they don't do well in the first few tests. Check that they understand the concepts, then allow them and their trs time to learn/teach the skills.

The good thing about grouping students with similar ability in sec sch, roughly based on COP, is that the pace of learning is similar, so trs are better able to teach at a suitable pace and students feel less threatened as majority of classmates are of similar ability.

加油 P6 parents. You have worked with your child to prepare and take one major exam. Whether the results are beyond/within/below expectations, just put aside psle results. Focus on helping your child settle in and find his/her place and niche in sec sch. They will blossom, in CCA, in leadership, in academics, when they are given opportunities and are in a place where they feel comfortable to try, to make mistakes and to take on new roles.

zeemimi:

[quote=\"teacher_girl\"]A typical kid takes about 10 subjects in sec1-2 (not all at same time though) but you really shouldn't worry about tuition teachers, I'm sure there are really good teachers in school. In case that teacher is not available, there are many other teachers of the same subject/department available in that school too. Encourage your child to make friends with good friends so that they can each other too.

my neighbour can confirm that sec 1 maths is different from primary school...no longer models.[/quote]

• O Offline
                      octoberbaby

kids used to score A star Maths in primary school, can flung maths in sec sch. Possible meh?

TREX8:
                        I agree with Zeemini. Math in sec no longer relies on models but uses algebra. My dd, who had difficulty with models in pri sch, commented that sec math is so much easier.

Look out though for humanities subjects as the skills needed to answer exam qns will be new to pri students. Do not despair when they don't do well in the first few tests. Check that they understand the concepts, then allow them and their trs time to learn/teach the skills.

The good thing about grouping students with similar ability in sec sch, roughly based on COP, is that the pace of learning is similar, so trs are better able to teach at a suitable pace and students feel less threatened as majority of classmates are of similar ability.

加油 P6 parents. You have worked with your child to prepare and take one major exam. Whether the results are beyond/within/below expectations, just put aside psle results. Focus on helping your child settle in and find his/her place and niche in sec sch. They will blossom, in CCA, in leadership, in academics, when they are given opportunities and are in a place where they feel comfortable to try, to make mistakes and to take on new roles.
                        i would like to ask a kiasu question :razz:
                        with increase of subjects to 8-9 at sec 1, i wonder if my son is able to take cca which doesn't require him to stay back often ? my concern is with the longer hours, he will need time to adjust and cope with the changes.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 98 / 155

InfoseekerI
                        Infoseeker
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        HannahjiH
                        Hannahji