Newton Kindergarten
Newton church kindergarten is a very good kindergarten !
In the past since 1956, it was a pure 100% Chinese speaking kindergarten.
Today 2011, its curriculum is based on (60% Chinese, 40% English).
a) 4 hrs comprehensive curriculum
=========================
Most kindergarten curriculum in SG are (50% Chinese, 50% English).
However, Newton church kindergarten places heavier emphasis in Chinese. The standard of Chinese taught at Newton is high - so as to ease / facilitate kids into learning Higher Chinese, as they enter Primary 1.
do consider Newton kindergarten if :-
a)\tyr child comes from an English speaking family, and you like child to get exposed to more Mandarin, speak more Mandarin.
b)\tyou worry that yr child dislike Mandarin from young.
Chinese is a lot harder to learn !
English much easier to learn - over the next 20 yrs of yr child’s life, anytime.
A number of Newton K2 graduates had gone on to primary schools located at Bukit Timah area. They have no problem coping with Chinese.
Many parents are concerned that – if so much Chinese is taught, then won’t English be compromised? After all, English also very important !
for this reason, wef 2011 - all Nursery N2, K1 and K2 classes enter into 4 hrs programme. Newton is one of those few rare kindergartens in SG that offer 4 hrs.
however for PG playgroup or some call it nursery N1, parents have a choice – they can choose 3 hr or 4 hr programme, as kids are very young, some as young as just turned 2 still in diapers, esp. those born year end. Normally for Term 1 January beginning of yr, parents choose 3 hrs. Once child settles down, parents can take time calmly, gradually to switch toddler over to 4 hrs programme. If not, PG child can remain in 3 hrs.
4 hrs is great ! Both parents and teachers welcome 4 hrs !
Teachers have more time to teach / impart curriculum to students.
Parents are happy - because their kids get to learn more stuff !
One extra hr everyday, every month per year from Mon – Fri counts a lot, in the long run!
b) quality of teachers ?
===============
Teachers at Newton kindergarten are very experienced, patient, caring, efficient. Some had taught there > 20 yrs, hence very experienced !
Thus, you can have peace of mind – that yr child is in safe hands.
Some of the K2 kids who’d studied Newton kindy 20 yrs ago - are now grown up, studying at poly / university !
c) Phonics ?
========
Letterland phonics is taught at Newton - not Jolly phonics, not Zoo phonics.
Letterland phonics is popular in Primary schools.
d) good, wide availability of enrichment programmes to choose from
==============================================
Besides having good curriculum, the enrichment programmes available at Newton are also very good ! Seldom do you come across rare kindergarten that offer such good, wide variety of enrichment to choose from, at affordable costs.
Due to bulk students available at Newton, parents can reap economies of scale. ie. the enrichment costs $ are reasonable, avoidable.
example:
======
Fast track kids is much cheaper at Newton kindy, than if you were to enrol yr child for the same progamme outside, at commercial, privately run profit centre orientated schools.
To inquire costs of enrichment, call up admin office at telephone
6251-5586.
the list of available, enrichment programmes are listed below:-
===========================================
1) Fast track kids
==============
this programme originates from America, US.
It trains / stimulate kids to think creatively, \"think out of the box\".
This crucial life long skill is important, every child ought to acquire.
When a child encounters problems , the child asks himself – Now, how am i going to solve this problem?
for more info, kindly refer Fastrackids website:-
http://www.fastrackids.com/
2) John Langheir critical thinking
======================
John Langrehr Thinking Program - focuses on teaching young students positive mindset and thinking skills, needed for creative and critical thinking.
The Goals of this program include:
•\tDevelop the essential thinking processes associated with creative and critical thinking.
•\tLearn the questions Creative and Critical thinkers ask themselves.
•\tApply these essential thinking skills in solving problems.
•\tInstill the mindsets or attitudes needed for flexible and judgemental thinking.
•\tI hear, I forget. I see, I remember.
But if I do, I understand deeper.
And Now, through JLTP,
I Question, I Think.
I Think, I Create
•\t http://www.todaysmotherhood.com/2010/07/interview-with-dr-langrehr/
JLTP website:-
http://www.jltp.net/
3) English Speech and drama, by famous Helen O Grady
========================================
this programme is good - it helps yr child articulate and be able to express himself confidently, orally in English:-
http://www.helenogrady.com.sg/dramaclasses.htm
in Primary 1, there is this Show and Tell assessment in English.
So, do train yr child to speak / express confidently early.
4) Chinese Speech and drama, by ApplePie
==============================
this programme is good - it helps yr child articulate and be able to express himself in Mandarin confidently, orally:-
http://www.applepie.com.sg/
in Primary 1, there is this Show and Tell assessment in Chinese.
So, do train yr child to speak / express confidently early.
5) Science enrichment programme
=========================
many parents queue up their kids for Science, as vendor Cheery Pie provides a comprehensive Science enrichment programme at K1, K2.
6) creative Art drawing and design
=========================\t
You can look at all the interesting, amazizng, creative art drawings, taught by this vendor teaching Art at Newton kindy:-
http://www.tolartventure.com.sg/Gallery.html
d) there are 2 types of school bus transport available – for both regular days’ transport, and for enrichment days’ transport.
Yes, school bus transport is available.
school bus fees is reasonable.
for enrichment lessons on certain days of the week, school bus transport can also be arranged.
Newton kindergarten school bus service very good !
The school bus operator very kind !
She provides flexible school bus service - unlike some other kindergarten’s inflexible + expensive school bus services which I’d called up to inquire. Newton don’t just provide regular school bus, but also caters to yr child’s enrichment days !
Besides regular day’s school bus transport, Newton school bus can help yr pre school child arrange for enrichment lessons days’ school bus transport - at additional, but very, very reasonable, affordable costs $ per term.
for school bus service contact telephone inquiries, you may call up admin office, 6251-5586.
sharing:-
======
On 4 Jan 2011 (Tuesday) – day 1 Parents’ orientation day, I sat inside the school bus with my child, taking our first maiden ride together to Newton kindergarten. I thoroughly enjoyed the school bus ride so much ! The school bus is fully air con, so cosy with room leg, spacious, got safety seat belt enforced for every child ! The school bus operator that operate the fleet of school buses & the school bus auntie – all very experienced !
Different school bus travels different directions in SG, to pick up students from various districts. Depends on where you stay ! -
Hi greenbean2011,
:welcome:
Erm, are u teacher/ committee from the school or r u a parent sending your child to the sch?? :? -
hi,
i am just an ordinary parent sending my child to Newton kindergarten this year, started only 1 week ago - 4 Jan 2011 (Tuesday). -
Oh, ok…I’m thinking of changing to newton kindergarten…my child is now at marymount kindy…
hello smurf,
Marymount (mmk) is also a very good kindergarten !
difference is - Marymount is Catholic, whereas Newton kindergarten is Presbyterian denomination church based.
similarity – kids in both kindergarten all say grace, give Thanks to God for blessing food on the table, before the little children eat their meals, to fill their hungry stomach.
On 4 Jan 2011 Parents’ orientation day 1 at mmk, my friend shared with me how mmk is run very efficiently, like a clock !
She said - all mmk teachers are superb ! Not too old, but very experienced ! Her child is in Nursery, turning 4 this year.
She said for initial first 3 days, mmk Principal deployed all K1 and K2 teachers to help out – in both the younger pre-nursery play group, and Nursery sections. All teachers were deployed to help the young toddlers settle down. So in her son’s class - there are not 2, but 4 teachers helping out per class, for the first 3 days start school.
She said in total, there’re about 300 children at mmk, just for 1 session alone ! That’s a lot !
And all the mmk teachers are very experienced, loud but polite. All run like clock work effiently ! Amazing !
At mmk, there’re 4 nursery classes, 3 pre-nursery classes, 3 K1 and 3 K2 classes – are all max up to the brim, with 24 kids each class. And this is just 1 session. Amazing !
Mmk teaches English well ! Mmk English is strong.
K2 graduates from mmk can cope with English well.
For Chinese, mmk also have daily immersion enrichment lessons - at K1, K2. Mmk also conducts computer lab lessons for children too.
now, the differences … to help you decide whether the switch over to Newton kindergarten is worthwhile ……
a)\tthere is no computer lab at Newton kindergarten.
So, no computer lesson at Newton. But mmk has.
at Primary 1, students will learn to use computer in schools to type, create, edit, cut and paste simple pictures into simple word documents, or create very basic, v simple powerpoint slides.
if you transfer yr child to Newton, you can help yr child learn IT at home. But dun worry. Nowadays, young kids learn IT very fast !
Look at the way how kids nowadays press their mobile handphone keypad so fast - like no need to see, close one eye, kids also know precisely which button to press !
b)\tat K2, there is hanyu pin yin enrichment class at Newton.
Because hanyu pin yin is tested and examinable at Primary 1.
I’m not sure if you’ve same enrichment at mmk.
note:
====
Hanyu pin yin is not taught within the regular K2 Chinese curriculum. Because MOE worry K2 kids got confused between English phonics sounds (be it Montessori phonics, Letterland phonics, Jolly phonics, or Zoo phonics) with Chinese hanyu pin yin.
So, hanyu pin is not inside the MOE syllabus for K2 curriculum. But when kids enter Primary 1, Yes, primary schools will teach hanyu pin yin.
If you want yr child to learn hanyu pin yin, then learn it outside under enrichment.
c)\tat mmk, K1, K2 kids have daily Chinese immersion, conducted by external vendor.
But Newton don’t have. Why ? because the 60% daily Chinese in-house built in curriculum taught at Newton has already incorporated this. Newton will teach kids Chinese vocab, learn to read and write. Hence, there is no need for extra daily Chinese immersion, by external vendor.
However, yr child may still need to go for Chinese speech & drama enrichment. This is different. The purpose of s&d is to build up confidence in a child - to speak / articulate clearly, coherently, confidently in front of audience. Not stammering.
S&D will help yr child at Primary 1 in Show and Tell, where kid holds a favourite toy in his hand and share with the whole class his favourite toy, or some other favourite topic of his to talk about.
Speaking & writing are different. Some kids can write well, but can’t speak properly. And vice versa !
d)\tNewton has Fast Track kids enrichment. Mmk don’t have.
Newton has Creative Art drawing, JLTP.
I’m not sure if mmk has.
e)\twhich kindergarten nearer yr house ?
you shifting house ?
unless got very good reasons to transfer, otherwise, stay put mmk.
changing kindergarten is traumatic for young child - esp. when he has got used to his form teachers, his classmates. The close, precious relationship bond has been built up overtime.
just for sharing
============
my child currently has a classmate from mmk.
last yr, her classmate spent one yr at mmk.
But because family shift house to Newton, so transfer over, nearer to Newton. -
Hi greenbean2011!
Welcome to KSP!
Thanks for the brilliant sharing on Newton kindy and MMK! Told you you should post here to share with us your great insight and detailed research as a real KSP through & through. Already you are mistaken to be in the school admin. or in the school committee!
Looking forward to hear more from you and share more on the various topics of interest ok?
:celebrate: -
hello smuf,
a)\tif yr final decision is to come over Newton kindergarten from mmk, you can help smoothen the process of transfer over.
i)\tfortunately, children at this young age adapt easily, so not to fret.
ii)\tBut you need to explain to yr child why you’re transferring him to the new kindergarten. Let yr child be mentally prepared. Once you explain the situation to him - yr child will understand, even if child is as young as 2.5 yrs old. Young kids do understand many things. And once child understands why the need for the transition, he won’t kick up a fuss nor throw tantrum, cry, nor refuse to wear new school uniform.
if you’re a Christian parent, you can pray together with yr child or anoint olive oil on his forehead and pray with him first, before he begins his first day in a new school. Prayers always work wonders! Because God always hear our cries for help, from the bottom of our heart.
sharing
======
Initially, I was concerned - when I transfered my daughter from another pre-school to Newton. Last yr 2010, she spent the entire year in nursery N1 in another pre-school, just after she turned 2. I worried she can’t get over her previous pre-school. So I explained to her the reasons behind why she is joining a new kindergarten, Newton.
On day one, 4 Jan 2011, I thought she’s going to kick up a fuss - like refuse to wear her new pink school uniform, scared or cry when she sees an unfamiliar new sch environment – unfamiliar school teachers, unfamiliar new classmates’ faces.
But Thank God she did not. In fact, she co- operated very well. On day 1, she did not cry, but obediently followed her new form teacher (FT) into the new class - ate her lunch quickly, and asked her FT for some more fried rice, 2nd helping, extra portion.
On day 2, she told me – Mommy, no need to follow me into class anymore. I know what to do, what to ask. So she settled down quickly last week, faster than I’d expected.
Time flies! In the blink of an eye, parents’ orientation first 3 days, first week 2011 over !
b)\tschool bus
different school bus pick up students, from different parts of SG:-
-\tone picks up students staying at Toa Payoh, Bishan, AMK.
-\t2nd one picks up those staying at Serangoon Garden, Hougang, Kovan, Geylang, Aljunied, Kallang, Whampoa, Balestier, Novena, Newton.
-\t3rd one picks up those staying at Bukit Timah, Upper Bukit Timah.
-\tothers.
for logistics, sch bus should not be an issue.
Sch bus operator also walk the extra mile !
Besides regular sch days, sch bus fleet organizer Auntie Ong is kind enough to - help you arrange transport even for those days when yr child goes for enrichment. At an additional costs, but it’s a small amount.
sharing
======
Your child may fall asleep inside the sch bus, after a tiring day in school.
To prevent yr child from keep nodding his head as he falls asleep, you can put a small pillow inside his school bag everyday. Alert sch bus auntie. That whenever yr child wants to sleep, help him take out the small pillow from his school bag, gently put it underneath his head, lie his body flat on the sch bus, and let him sleep soundly till reach home – but very impt, remind auntie gently pls ensure that the safety seat belt must be strapped to yr child’s body / waist, at ALL times, even when child sleeps.
Last yr when my child turned 2, I let her take sch bus, train her independence from young. I put the small pillow inside her sch bag everyday. All got seat belts. Both driver and sch bus auntie are experienced.
c)\tCHARACTER Education, at Newton
===============================
while focus on academics, also remember yr child’s
i)\tCharacter building, and
ii)\tfear of God.
In Proverbs 22 verse 6, the bible teach us:-
Train up a child in the way he should go, even when he is old – he will not depart from it.
父母应该教孩子如何生活,
当他老, 他也 不偏离
In Proverbs 1 verse 7, the bible also teach us:-
The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.
敬畏神是智慧的开端
from year 2015 onwards, the focus in Education is Character Education. This will come in a big way in schools, starting from pre-schools, primary schools upwards, all the way to Secondary schools.
Why the sudden focus in Character Education, after so many years ?
================================================
Today, our society realizes that they need to act on this fast, as many youths today have / adopt the I, me, myself, self-centredness attitude.
Newton kindergarten is Presbyterian denomination, church based.
Teaching is strict.
At Newton, kids are taught good, moral Character values from young.
Everyday, they go to the Assembly Hall and listen to bible stories, bible heroes, sing songs. Sometimes, they also watch cute, funny, cartoon animations DVDs like Fluffy learns Obedience.
From Mon – Fri, 3 times a week, the assembly is conducted in Mandarin,
at the children’s chapel. The remaining 2 times a week, the assembly is conducted in English.
The objective behind is to let kids learn good, moral values out of them like –
-\tObedience
-\tHonor your parents
-\tRespect for others/ Parents / elders / siblings at home, respect for Principal, respect for Teachers, respect for classmates.
be respectful by Not bullying, by using good manners, by helping those less fortunate, by expressing gratitude.
-\tResponsibility
be responsible by choosing the right action, by accepting consequences, by dealing with disappointment, by being a good listener.
-\tIntegrity
have integrity by being true to yourself, by being loyal to others.
-\tHonesty
-\tJustice
-\tFairness
be fair by Sharing, by taking turns, by co-operating.
example
======
The toys in the classroom do not belong to yr child alone. They belong to the whole school. So, any children can also play with the toys. Eliminate the mentality - that toy is mine ! don’t touch.
Kids are taught to learn to share toys when play together, not grab all the toys to himself, and refuse to let other children touch.
-\tPatience
example
======
kids are taught - do not snatch yr classmates’ toys.
Be patient. If you want to play the same toy, wait patiently for yr turn.
-\tPerseverance, Resilience, Determination.
Persevere by trying, by learning from yr past mistakes, past experiences, persevere by learning hard.
-\tSelf disciplined.
Be self disciplined by obeying parents, by doing yr daily chores, (example: keep yr toys properly after playing), by watching what you say.
-\tCompassion, Kindness, Mercy.
Show compassion, kindness by being forgiving, by being kind, by being helpful, by being considerate.
-\tThe 10 commandments – thou shall not steal, thou shall not tell lies, etc. -
Hello! :rahrah:
You sure don't sound like a mum with a kiddo that just started new kindy..
Hi Greenbean,
Thanks for the insight!
It was very useful!
My elder who was with MMK for very long has graduated, and I know that he enjoyed his days in MMK. The English standard is quite high but I couldn't said the same for Chinese. But the Chinese teachers are very nice and caring. My boy couldn't recognize Chinese words, but I guess it's partly my fault also, as I dun revise work with him. I left it to the school. I didn't even read Chinese story books to him. :oops:
Why I said the English standard is very high is because, he could read long chapter book ( but no understanding of the story lah) and he can recognize many english words, even words he never seen it before. I credit this to the phonics that he learned in school. Same as for Chinese, I didn't not revise English with him.but probably as what u said, Chinese is more difficult. (which I find it strange, because I find that English is more difficult!)
For computer lesson, I dun mind that newton dun have computer lab, in fact, I wanted to stop computer lessons for fear that he would be hooked up the computer games, but continue because I did not want him to be left out and play in class alone. I dun think MMK has Chinese immersion. They have Chinese immersion enrichment, and that is twice a week after school hrs.
MMK is nearer to us, quite near in fact, and we are Catholics. But we are on the lookout for other good preschools. And one thing that caught my attention is newton is 4 hrs, and MMK is 3 hrs, I would prefer longer hrs, can learn more thing.
Just want to check, do you how many classes they have for each level (from pre nursery to k2) for 1st session? And also, do parents have to pay for enrichment such as speech and drama, fastrack kids, etc...
Thanks!:) -
Hi green bean,
Your post has enlightened me! Especially the school bus part...take out the pillow, etc... :lol:
Very very useful tip!
One thing newton lose out the MMK is that MMK has very big and airy compound, no aircon is needed!
Saw your last post, you mentioned that the kids watch cartoon? Hmm, that's not what I want leh...prefer no TV around...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.