7 New IP schools
WeiHan:
Your reasoning is too long winded. By your reasoning, then no new JCs will be established and there will be no possible new good JCs other than the present few. The world will never change.
i think you had yet viewed carefully what myself and those others with alternate view point had written. IT all depends on the students/parents on the cultural/school spirit continuation issue... and the brand name continuation ....tanbh:
[quote=\"WeiHan\"]relax lah everybody...there is no such thing as \"similar culture continuation\" etc......so I don't see any problem with the scgs/chs/sng sec5-6 merger.
Didn't JCs like Hwa Chong, VJC etc already taking students from various top secondary schools in the past? What problem with the culture was there?
like what you mentioned, previous top secondary school students went HC or VJC... so you probably assumed \"no issue\"
but isnt that why Dunman high , SJI and RVHS wished to start their own IP with pre-U extensions? so that their students can have continuous or similar cultural /school spirit experience across 6 years.... and graduate at the end with DUNMAN/SJI brand... not let the prestige of producing good students end up in the hands of Raffles,Victoria or Hwa Chong at A LEVEL
unlike other schools like SNGS who had to somehow join other branded JC under separate brand NAME and join in other top brand JC and under different cultural environment due to NO CHOICE ... hence i am also saying: SNGS/CHS and SCGS dont really benefit as much through this feed into new JC plan.... because their students are already doing the SAME THING NOW/PREVIOUSLY (as you rightly pointed out) ! so i felt it is unjust to these schools and they should have tried other better ways of preserving the school culture and brand of these schools..... do read my earlier posts
also it probably is it \"no issue\" probably because they (students) are joining established JC....SO IT DOESN'T MATTER to the students and their parents...
hence i brought up the issue of the 3 schools feed into 1 new JC is : no track record, no established reputation (despite being fed by 3 new IP school), school culture is mixed of CL-catholic school with English Paranakan school.... which others also replied and countered with their different opinions why the new JC could succeed... please read what we already wrote earlier on different views
it can be totally irrelevant to some people, especially if their current school spirit is not really strong or not so emphasized and especially so if JC they entered is already a \"BETTER brand\" OR ESTABLISHED JC .... but i believe it is relevant for many parents or students....
DHS and RV's pre-U section is also new. Everything has to start new before they build brand name and establish reputation. DHS lost many of their first batch of graduates to VJC, RJC etc....because it isn't as established but slowly the problem subside as they prove themselves. RJC and Hwa Chong JC didn't shot to greatness overnight too.
Nanyang Girls High isn't from the Hwa Chong family too. They have totally differing independent board. By your reasoning, Nanyang lose much in preserving their own culture too by joining HCI IP. Same goes to RGS?
Lastly, you keep saying many students and parents are concerned about the culture mix but this is only an assertion not yet proven.[/quote]yes, i am known to be a long winded person, cant be help ...
and you clearly had NOT read postS what myself and others with alternate view point had already written/posted, otherwise you are unlikely have written those points in your previous post :roll:
i NEVER EVER said or ever imply no new jcs should be built. i even suggested / hypothesized that CHS-SNGS be feeder into 1 new JC while SCGS can pair up with SJI (or feed into other JC) so these 2 JCs or families can provide more keen competition to those like Raffles, HCI, Victoria, ACS \"gangs\" & possibly change the current situation..... you are not bothered to read so nevermind , please dont put words in my mouth or 'anyhow' guess or assume my \"intention\" or REASONING
regarding DH and RVHS: they indeed start JC classes ie Sec5/6 new but they had LONG established themselves as good secondary school , especially DH.... and the NAME and management is the same and hence culture and school spirit all the same across the 6 years.... therefore i dont see \"established brand\" or continuation of culture issue there , it is relatively easier to built on if you already have good name and people trust you... ( the sec5/6 are under still Same Dunman name... relative to the \"mixed culture\" jc from 3 schools with different cultures and names that do NOT follow on from their sec1-4 years)
Raffles and Hwa Chong JC reputation issued... i am quite amused with any people saying things along the line \"Raffles and HCJC also took time to built up, not done overnight\" ... sure it take some time but
if any people believes that RJC can become so successful (over taking NJC, HCJC etc...) had it been just named Bishan JC without RI , RGS as feeder schools, they should be loony (pardon my insolence). or for same matter, HAD HCJC been called Bukit Timah Area JC without Chinese High as affiliated feeder school and NYGS supplying girls (officially or unofficially before any formal ties were formed)
you do not considered (or know) NYGS / RGS had close cultural background and sport and school ties with HCI / RI ?.... hence there is no or LESSER cultural or school spirit being mixed issue there.... those were the POINTs being discussed or debated - all is to contrast / compare with the new JC with \"mixed & rather opposite culture\", brand NAME not belonging to either CHS, SNGS or SCGS , yet established track record etc... .... which i think is unfair to those 3 schools... hence i also suggested it would be better had only CHS and SNGS feed into the new JC ... since those 2 school are culturally similar ...
i meant to say parents should be concern about CONTINUATION of cultural/school spirit AND ALSO HOW ESTABLISHED is the BRAND NAME ... i apologize for missing to repeat the latter in previous post's last paragraph
Lastly , This forum is no court of law, nobody needs to PROVE anything; those are my subjective opinions which i already reiterated many times. -
zacharykieran:
i rather agree leh on your current points on curriculum , but to me, curriculum is just 1 aspect, i very much prefer them to cling on to their brand name and school culture. letter... no lah, leave it to the old boys and gals and their alumni group...
Okay maybe it is the use of the passive voice in the media that makes it appear like these kids are being thrown into a totally nameless and brandless abyss of a JC.tanbh:
unlike other schools like SNGS who had to somehow join other branded JC under separate brand NAME and join in other top brand JC and under different cultural environment due to NO CHOICE ... hence i am also saying: SNGS/CHS and SCGS dont really benefit as much through this feed into new JC plan.... because their students are already doing the SAME THING NOW/PREVIOUSLY (as you rightly pointed out) ! so i felt it is unjust to these schools and they should have tried other better ways of preserving the school culture and brand of these schools..... do read my earlier posts
But that is not the case! Whatever unique brand of education these 3 institutions have is being transferred to this new school, simply because of the fact that the leadership of these 3 schools will be playing a part in the leadership of this new school!
And this new arrangement is not the same as the status quo. (Kids joining a top brand JC) They DON'T HAVE A CHOICE in the curriculum or programmes of XX TOP BRAND JC because of the fact that they aren't affiliated. But now, these schools HAVE A CHOICE in what programmes the new school will have, because of the fact that THEY DESIGNED IT. For instance, if one of the schools places particular emphasis on community service, it will be transferred to the new school. Now do you not agree this will benefit the students of these 3 schools?
I see you have really strong concerns about the viability of this merger. Perhaps you should consider writing a letter to ST Forum/principals of these 3 schools, then you can receive the official reply on the rationale behind such a decision. (Do publish the official reply here if you do send a letter, thanks) -
CJS:
true... Canto pronounced/SPELLED it as Yip or Ip... for 叶
Yah, my dh who is not a Cantonese pronounced it as \" I P man\". I was :? and told him it should be pronounced as Cantonese \"Yip Mun\" since it is a HK movie.Daddy

:celebrate: :celebrate:
Now I remember why I used to get confused on how to pronounce the \"IP MAN\" movie...
:lol: :lol: :lol:
I have read everybody’s posts. There are basically not many points. Your point is just basically the three schools is not a good mix and they cannot continue their unique culture. To avoid long winded post, I did not requote all the posts but don’t mean that I have not read them.
Another new point. Why can’t we see that all three schools have their share of culture continuation and brand name in the new JC.
I see that you are very concerned about name. Actually…I think even if RJC is called Bishan JC but still affiliated to RI, they will still continue to excel. The same reasoning goes to Hwa Chong, even if they are called Bukit Timah JC. The same goes to the new Catholic Nicks Chinese Gals JC. It depends on how well these feeder schools students perform. Unless you are arguing that bcos of the "culture continuation" and "brand name" "problem, these students will all quit at sec 4 to join other JCs. -
actually i am not worried about the chs-sng-scgs model…i am more worried about dunman high school and river valley high school model…they may be able to produce academically brilliant students but i think a lack in numbers (of students) made them become more like 70s pre-u classes rather than jc like ri and hci…something seem to be lacking…
Skipped to the last page... nothing to see... :celebrate:
kiaaik:
actually i am not worried about the chs-sng-scgs model....i am more worried about dunman high school and river valley high school model...they may be able to produce academically brilliant students but i think a lack in numbers (of students) made them become more like 70s pre-u classes rather than jc like ri and hci....something seem to be lacking...
But what exactly is wrong with smaller number of students? As far as you may be able to state some disadvantages, I can also come out with a corresponding advantage. -
tanbh:
i rather agree leh on your current points on curriculum , but to me, curriculum is just 1 aspect, i very much prefer them to cling on to their brand name and school culture. letter... no lah, leave it to the old boys and gals and their alumni group...[/quote]I tend to agree. No doubt academic excellence & curriculum are important, to me school culture is equally if not more important. Realistically CHS-SNGS do have a different school culture/background vs SCGS. I think there are many parents who send their children to a certain school precisely bcos of the school culture. There is also no doubt that the unique culture of each school will be diluted when all's blended together. At the end of the day, feeder schools do contribute to the shaping of the school culture and when it's so diverse, I dun know.... It's just different from existing models when the feeder schools are somewhat connected/affiliated and progress to an institution with dominant/common culture. Personally, I will be really sad to see another academically excellent government JC, tho only time will tell.[/u]
Okay maybe it is the use of the passive voice in the media that makes it appear like these kids are being thrown into a totally nameless and brandless abyss of a JC.zacharykieran:
[quote=\"tanbh\"]
But that is not the case! Whatever unique brand of education these 3 institutions have is being transferred to this new school, simply because of the fact that the leadership of these 3 schools will be playing a part in the leadership of this new school!
And this new arrangement is not the same as the status quo. (Kids joining a top brand JC) They DON'T HAVE A CHOICE in the curriculum or programmes of XX TOP BRAND JC because of the fact that they aren't affiliated. But now, these schools HAVE A CHOICE in what programmes the new school will have, because of the fact that THEY DESIGNED IT. For instance, if one of the schools places particular emphasis on community service, it will be transferred to the new school. Now do you not agree this will benefit the students of these 3 schools?
I see you have really strong concerns about the viability of this merger. Perhaps you should consider writing a letter to ST Forum/principals of these 3 schools, then you can receive the official reply on the rationale behind such a decision. (Do publish the official reply here if you do send a letter, thanks) -
MotherHen:
today......I tend to agree. No doubt academic excellence & curriculum are important, to me school culture is equally if not more important. Realistically CHS-SNGS do have a different school culture/background vs SCGS. I think there are many parents who send their children to a certain school precisely bcos of the school culture. There is also no doubt that the unique culture of each school will be diluted when all's blended together. At the end of the day, feeder schools do contribute to the shaping of the school culture and when it's so diverse, I dun know.... It's just different from existing models when the feeder schools are somewhat connected/affiliated and progress to an institution with dominant/common culture. Personally, I will be really sad to see another academically excellent government JC, tho only time will tell.[/u]
CHS/SNGS/SCGS > up to \"O\" levels (own culture) > go to various JCs (other cultures)
tomorrow...
CHS/SNGS/SCGS > up to year 4 (own culture) > go to Catholic Nick Chinese Gals JC (mixed but contain a bit of own culture)
nothing is lost, right? :? -
Agree. All are "Singapore culture". So what is the problem?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.