CMA Math - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    3.1k Posts 1.1k Posters 752.4k Views 1 Watching
      happyhearts

thanks! 😄

• E Offline
        elle_yv.03429hotmail.03429com

I am interested to send my 6 yrs old girl to attend CMA abacus oso. Can anyone give advise on the different of CMA abacus vs Kumon.

sleepy

[email protected]:

I am interested to send my 6 yrs old girl to attend CMA abacus oso. Can anyone give advise on the different of CMA abacus vs Kumon.
          Both involve mental calculation.
          abacus also uses 'apparatus' and need to memorise a certain set of formulae
          Kumon is plain drilling until the child masters addition/subtration, no formulae

Can't say which is more superior. Depends on your child, whether can tahan daily worksheets (Kumon) or memorise the rather complex formulae (abacus) 😄

• E Offline

she learns few mths back at CC for basic abacus.

Out of 20 question she only do 1/2 correctly, consider a bit slow.

After read thru all the members discussion in this topic thought of putting her back to abacus.

Worried need a lot of hard work, coz previously i sit in in together with her for the class so be able to teach her at home.

I find it like quite tough as a working mum that we need to work daytime & have to attend the class together with them.

sleepy

[email protected]:
              she learns few mths back at CC for basic abacus.

Out of 20 question she only do 1/2 correctly, consider a bit slow.

After read thru all the members discussion in this topic thought of putting her back to abacus.

Worried need a lot of hard work, coz previously i sit in in together with her for the class so be able to teach her at home.

I find it like quite tough as a working mum that we need to work daytime & have to attend the class together with them.
              Maybe she's not ready? or you may want to trial another method to find which one best suit her?

After taking abacus for almost 1.5 year, I stopped my girl's lessons. She need to add/minus a long string of numbers, too overwhelming for her until she sees stars, only 3 out of 10 correct. Right now we continue with home practice until she's ready to resume.

In fact, I have not decided whether to resume her. In primary school, the child is not required to add/minus a long string of numbers anyway so I wonder is it necessary to go to the advanced stage of abacus to churn out those big numbers?

• E Offline

Hi Sleepy,

Thanks for your valuable advice.

Read from this web got parents advise to go for MPM.

Can any parents with kids study from MPM give some valuable advice?

Many thanks!

H2O

My son is attending MPM since he was in Mid-K2.

Like the way the questions were structured.
                  Now I had sent him to abacus class.
                  My son belongs to the type that doesn’t like drilling and he doesn’t really enjoy abacus as much as MPM.

• E Offline

Thanks for your advice H20.

May I ask that you said you prefer MPM question were structured, but why you change to abacus at later part?

H2O

My son is still attending MPM.

He is in P1 now.
                      the school has the abacus class conducted by 3rd party.
                      Being Kiasu, I wanted him to learn Abacus so that he can do his mental calculation faster.
                      End of the day, it doesn’t help much as my son doesn’t like the drilling…

• E Offline

OIC, thanks for your advice.

Will consider MPM vs Kumon.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 310

james2000J
                        james2000