CMA Math - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    3.1k Posts 1.1k Posters 753.9k Views 1 Watching
      soursop

Hi!

Can anyone tell me how much involvement parents need to give if we follow the CMA programme? My daugther has been with the programme for almost 4 months (once/week) and I find that her progress is still very slow. She's still in grade 13 foundation class. I don't see much interest coming from her to do her homework, i have to force / bribe her to do them....which makes me feel guilty sometimes. 😞 Is this speed normal? I understand this is based on the child's ability but she's already 5 so I thought she should be faster than this.

Should I pull her out and let her try other math enrichment classes like Kumon or MPM?

Anybody in the same situation as me? :?:

Celyw

any feedback on Jurong East branch? can CMA help to improve my K2 boy mathematics concept? Will it hinder him in Primary 1 mathematics?

Pen88n

Celyw:

any feedback on Jurong East branch? can CMA help to improve my K2 boy mathematics concept? Will it hinder him in Primary 1 mathematics?
          Hv PM you. Please check. Thanks

princeton

hi soursoup

I’ve got the same doubts too, just that mine could be worse…one of my gals is already 8 and still doing grade 13 foundation. She did pretty quickly, just don’t know why they have not "promote" her, will talk to the teacher this week.

My the other girl is 5, like yours, also grade 13 foundation. The books are also very easy to her, and she doesn’t really like them, just guai guai do it, not much interest.

My greatest concern is i don’t see any "substantial result", as in it didn’t help to improve my gals’ math in general. seems like my hubby’s method works better.

Should we perserve or should we spend the $$ on more useful enrichment?

which branch are you in? i’m in pandan valley.

Pen88n

Princeton & Soursop,

Hv your kids completed the friends / siblings / neighbours book? It is a light pink thick book (it is counted as 2 books for that term) that is the foundation of all the subsequent computation. Usually, if your kid complete that book and is fast in computation, you should see the progress faster in the next few grades.

Princeton,

If your DD is already 8 and progressing well, the teacher should be able to promote her. You should talk to the teacher to find out - is she using the abacus computation formula (they call it friends / siblings / neighbours) confidently? The issue I used to see for older kids doing abacus was that they were able to add / subtract easily by then, and would not use the abacus formula. This will work for simple computation, but when progress to 2 / 3 digits number, the issue will surface and it is back to square one aain. Talk to the teacher to find out and address the issue.

soursop

Hi princeton,

Oh, looks like I'm not alone in feeling this way. I actually moved from a few CMA centers already cos I find some teachers are better than others but the recent moved is because I relocated. Anyways, I was at Woodlands Civic Center branch and I moved to Jurong East and now at their headquaters in Yishun. She's been there for only 2 lesson so can't tell how good Yishun branch is yet....but think should be good since headquarters right??..Must keep std lor...
                I managed to ask her teacher on my DD's progress last tues and well well to my surprise she said that she's actually doing ok!? I asked if that's normal that her speed is not so fast..she said that for her age, still okay....not the super duper one but not too bad afterall....so I guess she's probably on the right track.. :?

I think maybe the best way is to check with her teacher on her progress, and maybe can ask some tips on how to \"motivate\" the children. My DD's teacher did agree that she need to do some pushing to ask her to do her work even in class....so I'm still monitoring the progress cos I really don't want to push so much and end up in a situation where she's going to \"hate\" doing maths....I mean that would be the worst!!! :!:

Pen88n,

Thanks for your note. yeah, my daughter has not completed the friends, neighbours/ siblings yet...so I see...maybe that's why she's \"slow\"....? I mean i hear stories about children going thru the entire workbook in a week!! But mine's taking ages!!! So sorry lah....but this is the kiasu forum isn't it...so just being at home and being kiasu that's all....hehehe :lol: Okay, at least I'm a little relieved now that her progress is normal and I'll see what happens after this sibling/neighbour/friends stage is over....will she 'zoom' away??? let's see...

Thank you both..and keep me posted on your daughters progress princeton...would be good to exchange notes.. 😄

princeton

hi soursop

My no.2 is 6 years old, and have NOT started on the pink book leh... 😞
                  She is a focused child, and has finished quite a number of books already, but still not given the pink book leh...MUST MUST ask the trainer this week!!!
                  My no.1 who is eight, not very focused, need to push hard...still working for the pink book...sigh...how much more $$$$ to go....

ya, do keep each other in progress, hope our kids can finish the course (my target is grade 5 or 6 or even just 7) asap...

princeton

Pen88n

thanks for your advice. Btw, i think I asked you for the code to get discount, but they said cannot, cause i should give them upon registration (i forgot to bring the code :stupid: ). so sorry about that.

come to think of it, the fees are very ex hor. $28 per lesson for a group lesson. aiyo, really hope to see some results.

Can tell me at which grade will they start learning multiplication? thanks.

Pen88n

princeton:
                      Pen88n

thanks for your advice. Btw, i think I asked you for the code to get discount, but they said cannot, cause i should give them upon registration (i forgot to bring the code :stupid: ). so sorry about that.

come to think of it, the fees are very ex hor. $28 per lesson for a group lesson. aiyo, really hope to see some results.

Can tell me at which grade will they start learning multiplication? thanks.
                      No worries about the referral. Pity you did not get the discount - sorry to hear that.

My DD started multiplication around grade 7, then division. She learn division formula then forgets the multiplication formula and vice versa. so need to revise again :stupid: I'm just letting her go at her pace as I think what she learned is enough for her to cope with her P1 and P2 Maths school syllabus.

Have not decided to stop yet, but will do so once I know she is able to use the mental computation for +-X/ with ease. Don't need her to be a human calculator that must calculate x number of digits, numbers, etc. DS stopped after about 2+years (but start at older age), and he is still able to do mental computation now.

• Q Offline
                        queendom

Halo all

I am considering to enrol my girl at CMA kovan branch.
                        Anyone who can provide me referral to enjoy the discount?

Thanks.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 56 / 310