Cameras

102 Posts 28 Posters 23.5k Views 1 Watching
      twinklejoy

30plus:
      Although DSLR produces better quality images than compact camera, you need to consider its size and weight, especially if you are a lady. Are you willing to carry a brick around?

Thanks for your info 30plus.
      I'm carrying a big bag whenever I'm out with my ds so I really don't mind an additional camera. It's fine with me. guess one will get use to it bah πŸ˜„
      otherwise, get dh to carry 😎
      most important is I can capture the precious moment with my family, especially ds. he's growing fast! :lol:
      I have been taking pictures with my iphone daily..effect no so good :idea: but better then nothing

jtoh

twinklejoy:

Silly salesman. Lost a potential sale. :lol:

hahha..no lah..will return if their price is right for me.
        I'm also too shy to ask more on DSLR..know nuts and don't know how to ask tactfully :lol:
        anyways, I will look around for canon and nikon!
        Gam xia!

A good and knowledgeable salesman will take the time to explain everything to you. Try another shop which may have a friendlier salesman. A DSLR is not a small investment and I like to have all my questions answered too. πŸ™‚

I googled and found this comparison between the Canon EOS1000D and the Nikon 3100. Hope it's useful.

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon_EOS_1000D-vs-Nikon_D3100

twinklejoy

twinklejoy:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]Silly salesman. Lost a potential sale. :lol:

hahha..no lah..will return if their price is right for me.
          I'm also too shy to ask more on DSLR..know nuts and don't know how to ask tactfully :lol:
          anyways, I will look around for canon and nikon!
          Gam xia!

A good and knowledgeable salesman will take the time to explain everything to you. Try another shop which may have a friendlier salesman. A DSLR is not a small investment and I like to have all my questions answered too. πŸ™‚

I googled and found this comparison between the Canon EOS1000D and the Nikon 3100. Hope it's useful.

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon_EOS_1000D-vs-Nikon_D3100[/quote] :thankyou: so much!

[quote=\"smurf\"]I went to Cathay photo, they quoted $899 for nikon d3100.but they also recommended Sony alpha series, saying that Sony is now making better DSLR wor...price wise is quite competitive...and alpha can take full HD video leh...

Any comments?? :?

My pro friends were laughing at the Sony Alpha. They say it's not a DSLR. It just gives the effect of a DSLR. Also, the lens don't seem to be inter-changeable. I would think Nikon D3100 would be a better choice for a beginner. My 2 cents worth πŸ˜‰

I have that impression too. I think Sony's probably giving the retailers a better profit margin and that's why they're trying to promote it.[/quote]I also went to Cathay

they told me why they promote Sony : sales commission for the sales men

so, they ask you to buy Sony, even when you ask for a Nikon

but of course they won't object if you insist on a Nikon or a Canon, just no discount no freebies lor......gone were the day when the salesman knows everything of the camera at finger tip and recommend a camera purely based on merit, not commission

smurf

Lucikily I never buy…that’s why buy electronic goods must either bring someone who knows a lot, or go to reputable shop…sigh…

twinklejoy

smurf:
                Lucikily I never buy...that's why buy electronic goods must either bring someone who knows a lot, or go to reputable shop...sigh...

Agreed & :thankyou: cyber friends!

Brainkid

Nikon 3100 sure have video...cos I just bought one. I just returned from my oversea trip with my 16months but did not bring my DSLR..as I was too busy looking after him...making sure he enjoy the trip.

I leave my DSLR at home to familarise myself more before I strike.. :lol:

smurf:
                    Lucikily I never buy...that's why buy electronic goods must either bring someone who knows a lot, or go to reputable shop...sigh...

Cathay is a very reputable shop, in the trade for many many years liao

peterch

For lightweight point of concern, I would recommend Panasonic GF2 with interchangeable lens. πŸ˜„

The picture could be comparable to DSLR.

Please note, if you buy DSLR, please buy with one has focus motor on the body, so you would save troubles later if you want to upgrade/buy a premium lens πŸ˜„

peterch

smurf:

Cathay is a very reputable shop, in the trade for many many years liao

Could try TK at Funan

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 11

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo