All About HFMD

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    316 Posts 95 Posters 297.9k Views 1 Watching
    • Y Offline
      Yong HL

I'm sorry to hear that, Yong HL. We've been through it ourselves last year for our daughter... an experience best never to be repeated. There's really little that anyone can do except to sit out the fever and the ulcers, a process that takes about 10 days.

Hi Chief,

I have some kia-see questions :
      1. I heard must seperate out the cutlery sets for my kid and rest of family. Is it true?

2. Do i have to sanitise all the things she has touched in the house incl her toys, furnitures and even books? If so, i am just wondering how to sanitise the books...

3. Yesterday she was still playing and jumping. But today, she all day sian sian.. just lie and not eating much.. not even porridge water. she complained ulcers pain but still need to eat ya? My in laws cooked green bean soup for her and she also drank some glucolin, just to give her energy i thought since she's not taking much food. Is this alright?

4. She currently has ulcers in her mouth.. no blisters on hand and legs. Will the blisters eventually come out or depend on individual?

5. I am really worried about her temp coz her temp now is always at 38 mark. Does hfmd really come with such high fever and if it does, how long did it last in your case?

pai-seh ask you so many questions at one go.... really worried and just want to hear from someone who has been through.... thank you thank you... 😞

Yong HL:
        Hi Chief,

I have some kia-see questions :
        1. I heard must seperate out the cutlery sets for my kid and rest of family. Is it true?
        Depends on whether you have another kid under 12yo living with you in the same house. If yes, then you need to take extra care to separate your sick child from the rest. Adults are much more resistent to the virus.

Separating cutlery is always a good hygiene practice.
        Yong HL:
        2. Do i have to sanitise all the things she has touched in the house incl her toys, furnitures and even books? If so, i am just wondering how to sanitise the books...
        Again, depends on whether those things will be used by another kid. You should try to ensure they don't share the same toys or stationery.
        Yong HL:
        3. Yesterday she was still playing and jumping. But today, she all day sian sian.. just lie and not eating much.. not even porridge water. she complained ulcers pain but still need to eat ya? My in laws cooked green bean soup for her and she also drank some glucolin, just to give her energy i thought since she's not taking much food. Is this alright?
        As long as she is taking fluids, it is ok. You need to worry only if she's not drinking even that. Give her ice-cream and fruits.
        Yong HL:
        4. She currently has ulcers in her mouth.. no blisters on hand and legs. Will the blisters eventually come out or depend on individual?
        Depends on the individual. My daughter had zero signs of blisters on her body throughout the whole process. Only ulcers deep in her throat.
        Yong HL:
        5. I am really worried about her temp coz her temp now is always at 38 mark. Does hfmd really come with such high fever and if it does, how long did it last in your case?
        Yes... the fever is pretty much the most troubling and dangerous of the entire episode. Her temperature ranged from 37.5C to 39.5C. We were particularly worried because she had febrile fits as a younger toddler when her temperature exceeded 40C. There's nothing much we can do, but to keep monitoring her temperature. Stock up on cooling pads, paracetomol and neurofen/blufen. Feed her paracetomol every 4 hours. Use neurofen inserts as the last resort, if the temperature does not go down even 60mins after a paracetomol feed. Sponge her everytime her fever exceeds 38C. Keep an icepack in the freezer at all times to be used in emergency. I actually had one of those gel cooling seats kept in the freezer which I will let her sleep on after covering it with towels. It was very effective in keeping her temperature under control. Put it back in the freezer when she is awake.
        Yong HL:
        pai-seh ask you so many questions at one go.... really worried and just want to hear from someone who has been through.... thank you thank you... 😞
        No problem at all. I'm sure there are lots of other parents out there that can give u more tips than I have. I hope your daughter will recover soon.

• Y Offline
          Yong HL

Thanks Chief… will take note.

I have only 1 kid… so no other kids at home. But she taken care of by my inlaws now… so just scared pass to them thats all… I also told them to practice personal hygiene too… hiaz… today ONLY 3rd day… 7 days more to go… sighz…

MLR

Like to add about fever meds. Its very important not to exceed 4 feeds in 24 hours. If fever is recurring, can give paracetamol and brufen alternatively. If you start with paracetamol, then 3 to 4 hrs later give ibuprofenfen (brufen), then 3 to 4 hrs later give paracetamol, then brufen.... In this way you can control the fever without exceding 4 doses of each meds in 24 hours. Another important thing is that brufen should not be taken on empty stomach. I normally make a thin rice cereal (those instant Nestle ones), give a few spoonfuls then give meds. Once fever drops to less than 39, then stops brufen.

• Y Offline
              Yong HL

Thanks MLR for your fever med advise too… will take note.

Meantime, i have a question to ask on hand sanitizer. I saw an advert on tv showing this family going supermarket and they apply hand sanitizer on hand BEFORE touching the pushcart. Just wonder, does hand sanitizer not only kill germs on hand, but ALSO kill germs on tings you touch? Or its merely prevent germs from sticking onto your hands? And is there such thing as over-apply sanitizer? Appreciate advise, thanks…

KopiYing

My son kena HFMD after we brought him for crawling contest! He was only abt 9 mths! I’ve learnt a lesson - must remember to wash his hands n feet.

jo.010813ong

Most parents thought that children contacted HFMD from the childcare centres/schools but from what I gathered, most of the cases happened when the kids were in the public playground.

Parents who dun practice hygience ie wash/clean their kids’ hands and feets after contacting with the other kids in the public playground, brought them to the childcare centres/schools the next day. So the next few days, the symptoms started showing.

Schools continue to instill the good hygience practice to the children. What about at home and when you bring your kids out ???

Naviseal

there is an outbreak of HFMD at My 1st Skool AMK Blk 329. So far what i heard is that the no. of student affected is around 12~13 cases.

BlurBee

😢

My DS2 is having HFMD after 1 week of CCC.
                      And he is the 1st confirm case in his CCC.
                      So glad to find so many information here.

Visited the MOH website on the weekly report:
                      Wk 6 (7-13 Feb) - 330
                      Wk 7 (14-20 Feb) - 367
                      Wk 8 (21-27 Feb) - 526

http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/statisticsweeklybulletins.aspx

All parents with young children pls take note.

auntieM

Hi BlurBee,

Hope he gets well soon.
                        Does he have problem eating? My DS was told to gulp ice cream by the doc coz he kena in his tongue and didn’t want to eat.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 32