DSA 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    5.5k Posts 388 Posters 3.2m Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      GoodDad

leeven:
      8228:

[quote=\"leeven\"]GEP RI DSA all complete ? I dont see any KP's msg's on it. I followed it till last 18th then no more I see please share your experience

Should have completed. My ds said it was just chit-chat, no tough questions. Now, just have to wait for the results patiently.

when was your DS. thats great to hear no tough questions . some questions was really like what is the capital of Africa. :siao:[/quote]May I asked anyone who went for the RI interview, did the inteviewer ask you to study hard for PSLE at the end of the interview?

Understand this is a hint from my last year RI DSA experience. Quite a number of my DS classmates and friends got this remark and get rejected.

• Z Offline
        Zann

GoodDad:
        leeven:

[quote=\"8228\"]
        Should have completed. My ds said it was just chit-chat, no tough questions. Now, just have to wait for the results patiently.

when was your DS. thats great to hear no tough questions . some questions was really like what is the capital of Africa. :siao:

May I asked anyone who went for the RI interview, did the inteviewer ask you to study hard for PSLE at the end of the interview?

Understand this is a hint from my last year RI DSA experience. Quite a number of my DS classmates and friends got this remark and get rejected.[/quote]But I also read last year thread and remember they said does not mean anything leh.

Herbie

Over at rgs, the interviewer told 3 girls after the interview that

they can eye big big walk into rgs.
          The girls were shocked, wondering wat is the hidden messenge

Kiasucy

leeven:
            8228:

when was your DS. thats great to hear no tough questions . some questions was really like what is the capital of Africa. :siao:

They usually begin with \"chi-chat\" questions to ease the tension of the kids. Some kids were really nervous but after they start talking, they become more relax. Then they start to ask more challenging questions. Ds kena a politic question of Singapore, luckily he likes to read the newspaper plus his knowledge thru SS.

• G Offline
              GoodDad

Zann:
              GoodDad:

[quote=\"leeven]

GEP and <80% is disadvantage cause hear it is mostly WL . if > 80% still RI is looking for some unique talent. Each domain has its own + / -

Based on RI 2011 DSA result. GEP boys with SA1 less then 77.5% mostly rejected unless the boys with VERY special talent. 77.5% - 79.9% - WL. Most with 80% and above were given CO. However, some GEP boys with 80.x% were given WL.

However, in the year of Dargon, understand that generally GEP SA1 result for 2012 were fairly good. Some even scored above 90%. Guess this year the cut off point for RI will be higher.

:please: hope the high scorer are gal gal only :please: boys are boys, just so playful[/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote][/quote]

Agreed. But there are more boys then girls in GEP. To my understanding, all the GEP classes regardless of which year, The ratio are 2/3 boys and 1/3 girls. Average about 500 GEP students per year. 330 boys and 170 girls.

So most of the GEP girls will go to RGS, NYGH and a small number goes to NUSH and others(E.g NJC & DHS). As for boys, almost all will fight for a place RI and HCI(as 2nd choice). A small number will go to ACSI(ACS die hard fan) and NUSH.

In summary, to me the competition among the GEP boys are more tough.

• Z Offline
                Zann

Kiasucy:
                yukilei:

[quote=\"leeven\"]

:grphug: and we start doing count down and wait for results . I belive in if some thing is for you then it is always for you , no body can take it.

leeven,

while we start counting down & wait... our necks will start to grow.. like many last year parents.... :rotflmao:

Phew! just feel off loaded from DSA thingy, but only got to recall there is still a SS test soon and school prelim. DS is feeling impatient that why he needs to be drilled again and again on those practice papers. Asked why can't they allow GEPpers tobe exempted from PSLE if they have achieved above 80% in the GE exam? :sad: Got to be tied down for two more over months before he can really move on.[/quote]And two more months to hang around after PSLE. Heard in the past those who got CO from NUSH already report to NUSH to kick-off enrichment program. Feel RI/RGS/NY/HCI who has the most DSA CO offers perhaps could do the same to engage the kids with CO first, perhaps do projects or something like that. πŸ˜‰

• G Offline
                  GoodDad

Zann:
                  GoodDad:

[quote=\"leeven\"]

May I asked anyone who went for the RI interview, did the inteviewer ask you to study hard for PSLE at the end of the interview?

Understand this is a hint from my last year RI DSA experience. Quite a number of my DS classmates and friends got this remark and get rejected.

But I also read last year thread and remember they said does not mean anything leh.[/quote]Yes, at first I also concole myself that it does not mean anything, However, when the result were out and I cross checked. It has some meaning in the remark.

I remember one of my DS classmate, the interviewer directly told him, \"please work hard for your PSLE, you still have a chance to come into RI\"

• Z Offline
                    Zann

GoodDad:
                    Zann:

[quote=\"GoodDad\"][

But I also read last year thread and remember they said does not mean anything leh.

Yes, at first I also concole myself that it does not mean anything, However, when the result were out and I cross checked. It has some meaning in the remark.

I remember one of my DS classmate, the interviewer directly told him, \"please work hard for your PSLE, you still have a chance to come into RI\"[/quote]If they only look at result, then why call them for interview. Heard the interview perform is also important. πŸ¦†

• G Offline
                      GoodDad

Zann:
                      Kiasucy:

[quote=\"yukilei\"]
                      leeven,

while we start counting down & wait... our necks will start to grow.. like many last year parents.... :rotflmao:

Phew! just feel off loaded from DSA thingy, but only got to recall there is still a SS test soon and school prelim. DS is feeling impatient that why he needs to be drilled again and again on those practice papers. Asked why can't they allow GEPpers tobe exempted from PSLE if they have achieved above 80% in the GE exam? :sad: Got to be tied down for two more over months before he can really move on.

And two more months to hang around after PSLE. Heard in the past those who got CO from NUSH already report to NUSH to kick-off enrichment program. Feel RI/RGS/NY/HCI who has the most DSA CO offers perhaps could do the same to engage the kids with CO first, perhaps do projects or something like that. πŸ˜‰[/quote]This has already happen in Sport DSA. The sportman started to train with the sec school team when they are in P6.

As for DSA to RI/HCI/NUSH/RGS/NYGH, some might not decided which school to choose, how to start project? Some GEP students might have COs from more then 3 schools.

• 2 Offline
                        24hr_mum

anyone had idea what will RGS visual art domain test will be like?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 554 / 555