Q&A - P3 Science

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 3
    1.4k Posts 217 Posters 715.9k Views 1 Watching
      ponyo

But there are articles also mentioning that the spiracles are found laterally along the thorax and abodomen...(e.g.)

http://www.cals.ncsu.edu/course/ent425/tutorial/respire.html

so it's rather confusing :nailbite:

HAPPYH

Yes, spiracles (breathing holes) are found in the abdomen regions

alamak. nowadays science test these type of stuff already ah? i thought the purpose of knowing insects in P3 science is to differentiate them from other animals categories and know how to differentiate what is an insect. now still have to know their breathing techniques? :faint:

auntieM

alamak. nowadays science test these type of stuff already ah? i thought the purpose of knowing insects in P3 science is to differentiate them from other animals categories and know how to differentiate what is an insect. now still have to know their breathing techniques? :faint:

Yalor... Scary de šŸ˜“

ponyo

scary indeed...another disaster of teach less learn more? Don't think teacher/textbook taught that to my kiddo. 🤷 suspect this is from some assessment book. :siao: maybe they all expect the kids to be entomologist in the making :yikes:

AgonyMum

Hi ponyo,

The questions are from Longman assessment book, I think. I cannot recall all these ginger, onion thingy taught in Primary schools. I find all these quite dry and boring šŸ˜ž

ponyo:
                Hi Agony Mum
                am surprised these are tested at P3. Remember studying some of these when I was P4/5 decades ago... (how times have changed šŸ˜“ ).

Just to add on to Champion's reply, both egg white and yolk serve as food for the embryo during incubation. Think it's the albumen in the white that provides nutrients /water to the embryo. However, the white also serve as a protection for the yolk.

Also, regarding the bulb/ginger question, to be more precise a ginger is a rhizome although they (be it bulbs or tubers or rhizomes or stolon/runners) are all broadly categorised as underground stems. But not all underground stems are bulbs. Hope I have not confused you. šŸ˜„

btw, just out of curiosity, did you get these questions from assessment books or exam papers?

Cheers
                Ponyo

HAPPYH

1) Is glass a man-made material or natural material?

Different books state differently. But I will go for man-made material. Glass is a man-made material made up of things that were obtained from the ground.

Again, I am not comfortable just to go and explain this to my DD as teacher may think differently. Hence decided to ask our experienced parents. Please share your views.

2) Metal - man-made material or natural material?

3) Tin - how to explain tin does not refer to coke tin but is a kind of metal?

Thank you in advance.

HAPPYH

I have one more question.

State 2 differences between seal and XXX (can not exctly remember what is given here)?

My DD's answer:
                    1) Seal is a mammal while XXX is a fish
                    2) Seal has hair as the outer covering and XXX has scales outer covering.

Is this answer acceptable? The reason why I am asking this is because if seal is a mammal, of course its outer covering will be hair. So will the examiner see this as one difference or two differences?

Thank you

HAPPYH

HAPPYH:

Different books state differently. But I will go for man-made material. Glass is a man-made material made up of things that were obtained from the ground.

Again, I am not comfortable just to go and explain this to my DD as teacher may think differently. Hence decided to ask our experienced parents. Please share your views.

Thank you in advance.
                      I know this question is discussed under Science assessment/guide books section few months ago. But any parent come across this kind of question in the school papers and what is the teacher's preffered answer?

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=19568&hilit=glass+material&start=1690

Thank you.

J and J

HAPPYH:
                        HAPPYH:

Thank you in advance.

[color=#4040BF]I would explain in term of whole pharses such as, if the question refer to glass material, then it is natural. But if it is refered as glass object ' like glass bottle or spectacles lenses, then it should be man-made.
                        \" A glass bottle is man-made object making up of glass material which is obtained from the nature (ground)
                        [/color]
                        I know this question is discussed under Science assessment/guide books section few months ago. But any parent come across this kind of question in the school papers and what is the teacher's preffered answer?

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=19568&hilit=glass+material&start=1690

Thank you.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 118 / 135