Club Breadmakers

5.5k Posts 151 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Augmum

wow....bagua u also know how to make...hats off to u....

how is the taste like ?? last time, i have a fren who let me sample her home-made bagua,
      dun taste like the commerical one, like short of some spice taste ....
      i believe there may be some \"secret ingredients\"

No secret ingredients involved, but mine taste like commercial ones minus the preservative and colouring used.
      at bedok??...good, i'll try to look for it,
      u mean the bedok central shop n Save ??
      Not sure how many Shop n Save there are in Bedok and I am not very familiar with that place, but all I know is that there used to be a Phoon Huat next to the Shop n Save.

i also dunno how many Shop N save are there in Bedok, think can try the central one
      thks maid for the info.

Augmum

btw, maid, what type of cooking wine u used to marinate the bakgua ??or no??

tweety17

Oh I see, but then 25hourmaid made 3 mini loaves with 1 z loaf recipe. So if you need to make more, then you will have to double or triple your ingredients πŸ˜‰

Hi Happy Mama,

Thanks for yr advice. But wonder if the Z can knead properly with double or triple ingredients. Hee hee, but I better don't stress it now, better bake loaf by loaf, don't be too kancheong n end up machine overwork n kaput be4 i can have positive return of investment πŸ™‚

btw, maid, what type of cooking wine u used to marinate the bakgua ??or no??

No cooking wine involved.

Happy Mama

tweety17:
              Hi Happy Mama,

Thanks for yr advice. But wonder if the Z can knead properly with double or triple ingredients. Hee hee, but I better don't stress it now, better bake loaf by loaf, don't be too kancheong n end up machine overwork n kaput be4 i can have positive return of investment πŸ™‚
              Oops, I think you misunderstood me... I meant kneading them 1 by 1...

Oh I see. So to grill bak kwa, what electrical appliance should I get now? :? Oh dear, must spend more $$$ again. πŸ˜‰

Those table top oven face electric grill. I am using one from Severin, very happy with it. :celebrate:

Depending on circumstances, we sometimes use charcoal to grill (at BBQ parties) the BK, sometimes use our trusted Severin (for small quantities).

tweety17:
                  Hi Happy Mama,

DO NOT attempt to use your mini Z to knead more than one loaf. You will overstress it. It's not called a mini for nothing.

twinklejoy:
                    guess what?

after reading all the exciting breadmaking last week, I've finally convinced DH to buy me a breadmaker! πŸ˜„ we are actually bread-face family! πŸ˜‰
                    called GAB last sat and confirmed that they still have stock for that z brand and cost the same price ksi has mentioned and even further confirmed their operating hours(was told they would closed at 9pm).so the whole family went down...(please be warned that it's extremely difficult to find a parking slot..we waited for a full 35mins to get one!!)dashed to the shop and only to find out that they were CLOSED for the day!!! :!: :stupid: my watch indicated as 8.20pm ONLY 😞 was so disappointed!! 😒
                    then yday, we went to courts to continue our search(GAB was not open for biz yday)..and found Severin and Kenwood.
                    We bought Severin as I remember this brand was mentioned here so.. it's sitting comfortably on my kitchen top now πŸ˜„
                    I have bought all the ingredients and is ready to start my virgin baking... yahoo! :dancing:
                    thanks to ksi, happymama, 25hoursmaid and the rest, to have started this breadmaker searching and making discussion... :rahrah:
                    :congrats: twinklejoy, another owner of breadmaker.

GAB closes at 8pm. Weekend that place is a nightmare and I avoid it at all cost. Anyway, the lazy me \"forced\" them to deliver to me after they closed at 8pm that night I got my breadmaker.

Anyway, whatever brand, as long as it works, that's most important!!! :celebrate:

Hi 5 to another bread-face family...kekeke :hi5:

tweety17:
                      Dear All,

I have also bought the Z machine :). Thanks to everybody here, it's great to know we r eating preservative free bread πŸ™‚

Dear 25 hour maid,

How to bake in oven after kneading? What should I set the oven to? Many thanks in advance for yr help.
                      :congrats: tweety17....another proud breadmaker owner!!!! :celebrate:

All breadmaker owners, please post your masterpieces here whenever you like...to let our eyes feast on them!

Haha, welcome to the breadmachine family.

I set my oven to 175 to 180 and bake for about 20 mins or so, but then again, first of all, you have to know your oven, secondly, have to play by ear and see if the browness is to your liking or not.

Oh yes, must remember to grease your loaf pan hor! πŸ˜‰

Eh, but then again, why does tweety17 need to use the oven since she has already bought the z machine and can \"dump\" everything into it? :?

Sweet bread with fillings need oven to bake cos it is not loaf shape.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 74 / 546