Science Guide Books
I'm just waiting for BookFest or 20% discount to get CL assessment books for daughter...otherwise like what you mentioned, sufficient to last till end of P6 for sure.janet_lee88:
It's an achievement not buying any assessment books right ? HaHaHa. My kids asked me yesterday, 'Mummy, why didn't you go to Popular ? Don't you always go there ?\" I avoided Popular completely :rahrah:
You may have enough to last till end of P6.
Funnily tho, my girls asked me the same thing..
\"Mummy arh there's Popular. Anything to get?\"
When i shook my head, she continued, \"Sure
have right? Let's think.. i'm sure you need something..\"
My kids are so used to me walking into Popular...so when I avoided Popular, they will ask me whether I need to buy stationery or anything. \"There must be something you need...how about pencil lead or plastic cover?\" -
Dun have already. that time he got inclusive of shipping, now with shipping it's pricier (though I think it's still very much cheaper than if I were to buy in SG with the usual discounts).Heyya Champion, ChiefKiasu once broadcast he bought from Scholastic
directly and got a handsome price for them too inclusive of shipping.
Dunno got what promotion that time.. -
3 girls ok...but prospect of 3 boys scare me. Love my sons to bits, but idea of 3 of them running around shopping centres, markets, playing, fighting...you get the idea.
Time to try for a girl then...? :please:buds:
[quote=\"hquek\"]
Too bad, I only have boys...cannot compare. hee
Therefore, factory stop production.
(I hear of families with 4 boys!!! :shock: cannot imagine)[/quote]David Beckham has 3 boys and lucky for him and wife...4th one is a girl. Never mind, he can afford. My son asked for a brother, daughter asked for a sister...told them, 'NO WAY.' -
Thanks Bud, for the info :hugs:Heyya Champion, ChiefKiasu once broadcast he bought from Scholastic
directly and got a handsome price for them too inclusive of shipping.
Dunno got what promotion that time..
Will go take a :peekaboo: in Popular and let DD1 reads it there before I decide whether to buy or not... -
David Beckham has 3 boys and lucky for him and wife...4th one is a girl. Never mind, he can afford. My son asked for a brother, daughter asked for a sister...told them, 'NO WAY.'[/quote]I got a neighbor here with 5 sons.....in the range of 2-8 yo... :yikes: :faint:
3 girls ok...but prospect of 3 boys scare me. Love my sons to bits, but idea of 3 of them running around shopping centres, markets, playing, fighting...you get the idea.hquek:
[quote=\"buds\"]
Time to try for a girl then...? :please:
Therefore, factory stop production.
(I hear of families with 4 boys!!! :shock: cannot imagine)
thanks to her, my storey here is the MOST productive floor...... -
A bit off topic. but 5 sons! the father’s ancestors must be smiling their teeth off.
going back to the horrible science. I think it’s a fun read, but really am not sure if there is any ‘psle’ value in those books - please correct me if I’m wrong.
I recently got started on the korean comics "surivival" and "escape from" series. It covers a whole lot like survival in the insect world, uninhabited island etc etc. But I only got the ones translated into english; there is a chinese translation series but DS would never touch the chinese ones. Seems quite educational and DS1 enjoys that also. It was selling in bookfest at 6.90; now can only get at best 7.60 after 20% off. -
Thanks for the post - I hope my DD1 can pick up some Science related stuffs to read
going back to the horrible science. I think it's a fun read, but really am not sure if there is any 'psle' value in those books - please correct me if I'm wrong.
actually if one is looking for natural sciences, I think the comics may be of value. i recall one psle year question on how to make water if given a set of things. Thought I saw some steps being outlined in one of those survival books. Not sure if I'm hallucinating.
anyways, think those books are fairly popular becos each time there is a sale, those things disappear fast.
http://www.mphonline.com/books/nsearch.aspx?do=detail&pcode=9789833421237
and now that I see the price in ringgit, I'll go jb to check out (after the finger printing mess is sorted out that is). meanwhile, I'm off to bang my head against a wall (paid $7.60, and the price in ringgit is RM10.50). -
Hi Mummies,
Read from the other thread, there is this recommendation on \"Horrible Science series\"
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16765&start=1040
I find this link
http://www5.scholastic.co.uk/zone/book_horr-science.htm
Any parents read this before?
Hi Champion
We had bought the whole set inclusive of Horrible History and Georgraphy last year.
Total 43 books if I am not wrong but so far dd only read about 7 - 8 Horrible Sciecne and the rest are still in the box. -
Hi, DD had bought a few ‘Sir Fong’s Adventures in Science’ during the school bookfair this year and seems that she like them and see her read a few times.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.