About the STELLAR program
vicki:
From what I understand, Stellar program - storybook will teach different aspects - eg tenses, verbs, pronouns. P1/2 is using Stellar program...read in ST that this program will extend to P3 onwards.Was reading through the thread...
So, this Stellar program is basically - read a storybook - look at keywords - learn sentence structure - and then piece together a compo/ paragragh with those key words???
Hmm..... sounds similar to the R&W program at Julia Grabriel. I wonder if my boy's school is totally on Stellar - sounds like it though - but i guess i will only know when he actually start school next year. -
I was told that from P1 ~P4, there will no text book for them.
ctct61t:
I was told that from P1 ~P4, there will no text book for them.
Really ? The Stellar program has now extended to P4 already ?
My son going to P5 next year will still be using 'My Pals'. The textbook is not that helpful, but still beats the idea of not having one.
Daughter's P1 booklist has a English guidebook in the 'optional' list. -
personally i dun like stellar cos i prefer a more structured approach.
stellar may be interestg but u still hv to supplement teaching the grammar, vocab etc. plus we dont hv any storys to bring hm to read at hm, if the child doesnt listen in class and come back to ask me, i wont know how to explain cos i dont hv the context to explain the vocab as the same words can differ in meaning dependgg on context.
i prefer the old fashioned way in our sch days where teachers get us to memorise our tenses, adjectives, antonyms, synomyms etc -
24hr-mum:
The same as me...I prefer textbook teaching style. At least, parents know what kids are told in school.personally i dun like stellar cos i prefer a more structured approach.
stellar may be interestg but u still hv to supplement teaching the grammar, vocab etc. plus we dont hv any storys to bring hm to read at hm, if the child doesnt listen in class and come back to ask me, i wont know how to explain cos i dont hv the context to explain the vocab as the same words can differ in meaning dependgg on context.
i prefer the old fashioned way in our sch days where teachers get us to memorise our tenses, adjectives, antonyms, synomyms etc -
24hr-mum:
personally i dun like stellar cos i prefer a more structured approach.
I was initially sceptical of this method too, hence i bought My Pals
series on my own for DD1. But truth be told, i hardly had to use it.24hr-mum:
I was already ahead with starting her on the structured with My Pals b4stellar may be interestg but u still hv to supplement teaching the grammar, vocab etc.
she started P1. (ie. school holidays) but i realized that she did soooo
much in school; and i was truly wrong about Stellar being solely book
or story based plus i thought NO WORKSHEETS at all but nooo..
The idea is to use the storybooks as a base concept for what they're
gonna teach... ala thematic curriculum. As each school uses different
books and have different approaches to Stellar, i would say that this
method is highly dependent on the teacher herself.
My DD's teacher did many booklets (one booklet for one story book);
covering all areas ie. grammar, vocabulary, comprehension cloze,
spelling lists, dictation, punctuation, adjectives, written expression,
show and tell and more!.... based on every single story book she
introduced to the children. I was highly impressed! :salute:
The idea is to integrate and blend all lessons around the stories.
Phonics revision is also included. Hence, children who never did Phonics
enrichment or are slower readers can still have the opportunity to catch
up.... of course, that is if the parents do follow up with the school
activities and are updated of what is being covered.24hr-mum:
Some of the books used in Stellar have been covered during preschoolplus we dont hv any storys to bring hm to read at hm, if the child doesnt listen in class and come back to ask me, i wont know how to explain cos i dont hv the context to explain the vocab as the same words can differ in meaning dependgg on context.
years, for those who attended childcare and kindergartens that offer
reading programmes to students. Some familiar titles you may know
of are like... The Grandmother Who Swallowed The Fly... Dan, The
Flying Man... The Giant's Ice-cream... Mrs Wishy Washy... The Farm
Concert... (etc).24hr-mum:
With a good teacher who is well prepared with props and interestingi prefer the old fashioned way in our sch days where teachers get us to memorise our tenses, adjectives, antonyms, synomyms etc
activities, Stellar programme can be a success in teaching English the
unstructured way..
Just sharing my thoughts and experience
with my DD and her wonderful team of teachers.
ctct61t:
Oh.. but the parents will know.The same as me...I prefer textbook teaching style. At least, parents know what kids are told in school.
The teacher will give in advance the
objectives set for the whole semester leading up to SA1. My DD's teacher
will also paste brief notes in her school diary to inform us of any stuff to bring
to class for some of the activities. They have done sandwiches in class,
ate ice-cream, did crafts from recyclable materials.. (etc) -
buds, ur child is lucky to get a good teacher.
my girlβs teacher never update us anything they learn.
the child must bring home the wksheets then i can see. but she often leaves in sch cos the teacher wants them to do the filing in sch, and brings home only once in a blue moon. n since the file is thick, the child really dont want to bring hm unless being asked to. -
Thanks for sharing buds. You just helped me to save some money.
I was initially sceptical of this method too, hence i bought My Pals
series on my own for DD1. But truth be told, i hardly had to use it.
I had intended to pick up the My Pals series on Sunday while the gals are having their lessons.
At least now I know what to expect. And if the teacher will be up to standard :lol:
:celebrate: -
I was initially sceptical of this method too, hence i bought My Pals series on my own for DD1. But truth be told, i hardly had to use it.
RRMummy:
I may have a couple of unused ones to sell off cheap cheap.Thanks for sharing buds. You just helped me to save some money.
I had intended to pick up the My Pals series on Sunday while the gals are having their lessons.
Will sms u okie?RRMummy:
Hahaa... :lol: Funnie lar you. :laugh:[At least now I know what to expect. And if the teacher will be up to standard :lol:
Your ger in Ah-Lang leh... better have standard hokay!
RRMummy:
:celebrate::celebrate:
24hr-mum:
buds, ur child is lucky to get a good teacher.
Yes, that's definitely one of the BONUS!
She's one rare gem!24hr-mum:
I also think as parents we can make the first move and initiative if wemy girl's teacher never update us anything they learn.
sense the teacher ain't exactly reaching out. :roll: DD1's P3 teacher is
like that and i specifically arranged an appointment to see him to trash
things out. From then on, he does on and off take the trouble to work
out certain kinks in his all-boring-rigid routine and makes effort to keep
in touch.... with me at least. :lol:
Not all teachers are automatic i tell you... some need some sorta push...
some need compliments... some oso need complains... :lol: but on a
serious note, parent-teacher partnership is how i see how things can
work for our children in primary schools. If we're lucky, the teachers
are good-natured enuff to accept ideas, suggestions & some thoughts
from us instead of either brushing us off as nuisance parents or worse
black mark our kiddies. :!:24hr-mum:
Our files are kept at home because it is heavy. We have the option to filethe child must bring home the wksheets then i can see. but she often leaves in sch cos the teacher wants them to do the filing in sch, and brings home only once in a blue moon. n since the file is thick, the child really dont want to bring hm unless being asked to.
the wksheets at home once they're completed and it's kinda a weekly clean
up that i truly appreciate, so we are always in the know... always up to date
with the goings-on in class. The teacher also emails us when she has games
to share or there are certain things needed to carry out with the children or if
she needs to remind us busy (and forgetful) parents to bring stuff despite the
brief notes in the diary. :oops:
Children will bring empty files to school to have their next wksheets and other
activities for eg. crafts to be filed in and brought back home to sign and provide
our feedback if any... once the storybook activities are completed the teacher
will return the file to the child to bring home for parents to keep.
I honestly dislike the idea of children bringing the files in their bag daily. :roll:
Serves no purpose if filing is done only once in awhile... so we only need to
remind our children to bring theirs on certain filing days... which the teacher
will inform in advance.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.