In-law problems?
Zack:
Should have cooled off by now right?
To tell you the truth, it's difficult to forget such a thing. The photographer there even, coincidentally, took a shot of us when my head was being lowered down. So I had this photo in my album. My head has never been held that low before, so it was THE insult of my life. But diplomatically, I shouldn't be raising this issue in front of my MIL anymore.
My wedding dinner was even messier with that stupid 媒婆 calling shots around during our preparation. You see, that 媒婆 was a divorcee, so married twice, and have seen through 2 other marriages for her sons, so supposedly the better experienced one. Wa... that was a nightmare too.
Sometimes, I just wished I could do the dinner again - at my terms, of cos. -
My hubby has the patience of a saint (truth be told, I think it's developed from years of training by his mom...
)
I kinda had my wedding day spoiled by my MIL too... last minute detours to the temple to pray to ancestors (which she didn't inform us despite asking several times), insisting that I had to had a SEPERATE tea ceremony JUST before the wedding dinner for the elders (uncles, aunties) who weren't there in the morning for the actual ceremony.
When asked by my 'sister' (who was coordinating the affair) who was involved in the tea ceremony (as it was already getting late), MIL replied 'I dono leh, see who is here lor'
I don't get it. Were these people not once DIL's before???
Given a choice, I would have opted for a very simple wedding ceremony. But. For their face. They took almost 30 tables out of the 47 for the wedding. For their relatives and friends. My mom requested for 3 tables. -
EstherTan:
Were these people not once DIL's before???
Maybe it's time to show their prowess as MIL?
You know, like oohh... finally i get the chance liao after so many years...
Or maybe it's just some woman's instinct about their DIL?
They just dun like this woman who is going to snatch their precious son from the cradle?
Maybe, when I become a MIL one day, I might not like what I see too in the DIL-to-be...
------------------------------------------
There was once a guy (read from marriage builder book, so dunno real one or not) who was puzzled why his mum didn't like all the gfs that he brought home for dinner.
And bec of that, he does not bring anymore girls to his house for dinner.
Soon, he fell so in love with this woman and knew that she was gonna be the love of his life. So he decided that his mum needs to see her before they get married.
He also did an experiment. He invited his gf along with 2 other lady friends over for dinner and behaved like mutual friends.
When everything was over and he sat down with his mum to tell her that he's gonna marry one of them.
Without hesitation, his mum said, 'It's the red-haired'.
Guy replied, 'How did you know?'
His mum answered, 'Cos I don't like when I first saw her.'
-------------------------------------------- -
winth:
Hahaha if I were you... I would have burnt that photo so that I wont be reminded of it. Anyway no pt feeling sore abt such things lar... Wah seems like the 媒婆 is the one that was 搞鬼 :stupid:Zack:
Should have cooled off by now right?
To tell you the truth, it's difficult to forget such a thing. The photographer there even, coincidentally, took a shot of us when my head was being lowered down. So I had this photo in my album. My head has never been held that low before, so it was THE insult of my life. But diplomatically, I shouldn't be raising this issue in front of my MIL anymore.
My wedding dinner was even messier with that stupid 媒婆 calling shots around during our preparation. You see, that 媒婆 was a divorcee, so married twice, and have seen through 2 other marriages for her sons, so supposedly the better experienced one. Wa... that was a nightmare too.
Sometimes, I just wished I could do the dinner again - at my terms, of cos. -
EstherTan:
I am thankful that I had my way during my wedding... we made do with a tea reception for abt 300 guests and we were done with the \"rites\" by 5ish... So we pretty much had time to ourselves at nightMy hubby has the patience of a saint (truth be told, I think it's developed from years of training by his mom...
)
I kinda had my wedding day spoiled by my MIL too... last minute detours to the temple to pray to ancestors (which she didn't inform us despite asking several times), insisting that I had to had a SEPERATE tea ceremony JUST before the wedding dinner for the elders (uncles, aunties) who weren't there in the morning for the actual ceremony.
When asked by my 'sister' (who was coordinating the affair) who was involved in the tea ceremony (as it was already getting late), MIL replied 'I dono leh, see who is here lor'
I don't get it. Were these people not once DIL's before???
Given a choice, I would have opted for a very simple wedding ceremony. But. For their face. They took almost 30 tables out of the 47 for the wedding. For their relatives and friends. My mom requested for 3 tables.
winth:
Ehhhhhhhh.... that means it's a lose-lose situation for us!
His mum answered, 'Cos I don't like when I first saw her.'
-------------------------------------------- -
EstherTan:
Ehhhhhhhh.... that means it's a lose-lose situation for us!
it's okay lar...
maybe when we promote to MIL liao, then can do the same thing to DIL leh...
Just kidding.Zack:
That 媒婆 is her god-sis, so my MIL takes her advice like bible.Wah seems like the 媒婆 is the one that was 搞鬼
Zack:
My mother taught me never to burn photos, not good.Hahaha if I were you... I would have burnt that photo so that I wont be reminded of it. Anyway no pt feeling sore abt such things lar...
Anyway, it is really over liao, and my MIL seems to know her place liao. So I'm happy. Think things will only get easier since I know all her 'patterns'. -
ZacK:
talk about having our way... I think my mum subconsciously peg her standards against my sis' wedding ceremony (she has pig, candles etc etc). But me and my then-bf wanted a fuss-free one (cos of budget too). The tension was pretty strange at that point. We had traditional dinner for my relatives and buffet for my dh's relatives. It was a memorable event as it was an informal gathering of sorts for my relatives and my parents were very at ease throughout the whole dinner (cos only our relatives and my PILs are present ie no need to entertain dh's relatives).
I am thankful that I had my way during my wedding...
We didn't involve any 'bros' or 'sis' cos dh's close friends were all still schooling (dh took the short-cut way and gotten his degree before 21yo
) and I am not a people-person (aka not much close friends). So we only have the help of our parents, and my siblings - my PIL cleared up the buffet (next day following our dinner) while me and dh rushed to the airport for honeymoon, my bro made my dh sing a song before allowing him into the room, my BIL was the photographer, my sis accompany me along, and my dh is the bridal car driver! hohoho....
I guess it is easier to 'standup' to your own parents rather than your PIL...so the only issue is in such instances, will the groom stand up to their parents for their bride-to-be.... -
Wow yours does sound kinda \"fuss-free\" kekeke, which should be the way really cos it is really the bride and groom's affair... Traditional wedding dinners are more for parents to \"show off\" and also to intro a new family member etc etc to relatives and friends...
talk about having our way... I think my mum subconsciously peg her standards against my sis' wedding ceremony (she has pig, candles etc etc). But me and my then-bf wanted a fuss-free one (cos of budget too). The tension was pretty strange at that point. We had traditional dinner for my relatives and buffet for my dh's relatives. It was a memorable event as it was an informal gathering of sorts for my relatives and my parents were very at ease throughout the whole dinner (cos only our relatives and my PILs are present ie no need to entertain dh's relatives).ZacK:
I am thankful that I had my way during my wedding...
We didn't involve any 'bros' or 'sis' cos dh's close friends were all still schooling (dh took the short-cut way and gotten his degree before 21yo
) and I am not a people-person (aka not much close friends). So we only have the help of our parents, and my siblings - my PIL cleared up the buffet (next day following our dinner) while me and dh rushed to the airport for honeymoon, my bro made my dh sing a song before allowing him into the room, my BIL was the photographer, my sis accompany me along, and my dh is the bridal car driver! hohoho....
I guess it is easier to 'standup' to your own parents rather than your PIL...so the only issue is in such instances, will the groom stand up to their parents for their bride-to-be....
I was lucky that my parents had gone thru my brothers and sisters weddings before mine (being the youngest), I didnt have to fight with my parents or my MIL to have the way we wanted the ceremony to be. We had the usual morning affair of fetching the bride and tea ceremony... Followed by the wedding reception from 2-5pm... Both my wife and I sang a duet, both of us got touched and we cried :oops: ... was definitely memorable :celebrate: -
Story 1.
10 years ago
I received a jewellery set from my MIL's good friend aunty Lucy as my wedding present. I like it a lot and wore them immediately the next day after my wedding.
One week later,
DH told me that it was a mistake and my aunty Lucy would like to take the present back. It was meant for Lucy's daughter .
I did not want to put DH in a difficult postition so I agreed to return it. Even though I knew it was not auspicious.
In exchange was a gold braclet with a note attached from Lucy : Saying she specially selected the jewellery for her daughter and it was very important to her as it was her birthday.(So my wedding not important la... very angry),
My MIL did not do anything to help.
Story 2
My MIL would boil bird nest and then in front of DH and me, ask DH go drink (as if I transparent). DH always offer it to me :lol:
Story 3
During pregnancy, crave for home cooked food, requested thru DH to cook a simple soup for me... she refused......
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.