In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

cwc:

Some help better than nothing. Yes, cOoking is the most tedious bcos gotta go marketing, prepare, cook and wash up...unlike tv cooking programs where food all prepared...cook just have to introduce ingredients, cook that little bit and bye bye.

If your old lady doesn't like to cook but yet eat a lot, that can be tough.

All those 20min cooking.....they forgot to multiply by 5- marketing, cutting, marinating, cook, wash.
      MIL eat a lot, that one easy to settle....got helper liao remember ?! 🙂

Your marketing bill must high then. Close 1 eye or maybe 2 where chores are concerned. Just focus on what is urgent/impt ie the kids.

BeContented

Pissed.....pissed.....pissed :x

Ridiculous. yesterday, my 2yo nephew came and tore the front page of a book. I told him firmly NO and took the book away. MIL looked at me disapprovingly. If it was my own kids, they would have gotten a slap on their hands.

The toddler has also started to develop the bad habit of throwing things he laid his hands on (not all, but some). So when he did that, I gave him a stern look and shook my head. Guess what, MIL stared at me, put her hands around him & started patting his chest telling him not to be frightened.

Just what is this?? I complained to DH about MIL telling the boy not to be frightened, what kind of values is she teaching him? Guess what, he jumped to her defense saying that's not what she meant. Can anyone tell me, what else could it mean???

:x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x

I am really not going to bother helping to babysit next time. MIL can yell for all she want and complain about bad manners, tired etc. And I am going to state clearly that dun she dare let the boy tear any books in MY house. And I dun think I'm being unreasonable right?

AND I'm now also :x with my DH.

cwc:
          Ridiculous. yesterday, my 2yo nephew came and tore the front page of a book. I told him firmly NO and took the book away. MIL looked at me disapprovingly. If it was my own kids, they would have gotten a slap on their hands.

The toddler has also started to develop the bad habit of throwing things he laid his hands on (not all, but some). So when he did that, I gave him a stern look and shook my head. Guess what, MIL stared at me, put her hands around him & started patting his chest telling him not to be frightened.

Just what is this?? I complained to DH about MIL telling the boy not to be frightened, what kind of values is she teaching him? Guess what, he jumped to her defense saying that's not what she meant. Can anyone tell me, what else could it mean???

I am really not going to bother helping to babysit next time.
          Cool down...don't get mad over this...be smarter and don't babysit next time. If old lady wants to, make sure she is the one doing it and leave the house.

bebe

CWC - can sympathise you…that is why I told my man…dun ask yr mum to babysit nieces and nephew in MY house if they cannot follow my rules. I do not wanna set double standard for my own kids. MIL can let the other grandchildren do whatever they want at their own house, but at my place, they have to listen and abide my rules.

jessicawongcs:

[quote=\"jessicawongcs\"]

anyway she's a modern MIL, dressed so in-fashion that some frds thought she's my sister 😉

friends didnt say she's your younger sister, i hope. :wrongmove:

:lol: no lah of coz older sis :p[/quote]So she isn't giving you problems since her mindset is modern, I hope.

BeContented

Cool down...don't get mad over this...be smarter and don't babysit next time. If old lady wants to, make sure she is the one doing it and leave the house.
                Did that liao....but think never learnt lesson yet. BUT she'll know when the boy starts to misbehave next time....tho I hope not cos' it's MY house. Anyway, no my problem I guess. Thanks.

cwc:

Did that liao....but think never learnt lesson yet. BUT she'll know when the boy starts to misbehave next time....tho I hope not cos' it's MY house. Anyway, no my problem I guess. Thanks.

If she wants to baby-sit, SHE does it ALONE...while you escape for those few hours of peace.

BeContented

bebe:
                    CWC - can sympathise you..that is why I told my man..dun ask yr mum to babysit nieces and nephew in MY house if they cannot follow my rules. I do not wanna set double standard for my own kids. MIL can let the other grandchildren do whatever they want at their own house, but at my place, they have to listen and abide my rules.

Well, if it's so easy good liao. Problem is MIL stays with me. Even MIL have trouble following basic rules eg. my room is parquet flooring so with years, there is gaps and since it's dark colored, hard to see ants. I have managed to cleared out all traces of ants a few times & warned all NO FOOD in room. But alas MIL still insist on eating in room loh ❌
                    Also tried feeding the toddler in MY room loh...so I chased them out. But during my absence, who knows what happens....sigh.

DH told her off a few times also no use....either denied vehemently, claim only first time or tear lah. What can we do? NOTHING.

cwc:
                      bebe:

CWC - can sympathise you..that is why I told my man..dun ask yr mum to babysit nieces and nephew in MY house if they cannot follow my rules. I do not wanna set double standard for my own kids. MIL can let the other grandchildren do whatever they want at their own house, but at my place, they have to listen and abide my rules.

Well, if it's so easy good liao. Problem is MIL stays with me. Even MIL have trouble following basic rules eg. my room is parquet flooring so with years, there is gaps and since it's dark colored, hard to see ants. I have managed to cleared out all traces of ants a few times & warned all NO FOOD in room. But alas MIL still insist on eating in room loh ❌
                      Also tried feeding the toddler in MY room loh...so I chased them out.

DH told her off a few times also no use....either denied vehemently, claim only first time or tear lah. What can we do? NOTHING.

That's the prob...want to be angel by offering free babysitting service but not in own house. Funny lah, why must feed in YOUR room ?

TEARS, DENIAL and ACTING...what else are they good at besides these 3 ?

BeContented

cwc:

[quote=\"bebe\"]CWC - can sympathise you..that is why I told my man..dun ask yr mum to babysit nieces and nephew in MY house if they cannot follow my rules. I do not wanna set double standard for my own kids. MIL can let the other grandchildren do whatever they want at their own house, but at my place, they have to listen and abide my rules.

Also tried feeding the toddler in MY room loh...so I chased them out.

That's the prob...want to be angel by offering free babysitting service but not in own house. Funny lah, why must feed in YOUR room ?

TEARS, DENIAL and ACTING...what else are they good at besides these 3 ?[/quote]Somehow the toddler likes to come into MY room....新鲜感 probably? So come feeding time, bring bowl and chase after him lah. However, yesterday I did see them trying to feed outside, seated cos' I started commenting liao. But when he started to move, they allowed him.....I grabbed and held him on my lap, ON children DVD and got him rooted on my lap. Only released when he finished his food 🙂 But of course he cooperated, if the boy was to struggle and cry, MIL will step in and I have to let go.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 280 / 529