In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      jawcee74

I think i agree not to see each other so often, maybe like once a month or durring CNY, Family get together or kids birthday. I am lucky not to stay with PILS anymore as they are \"rather\" hard to handle especial my MIL is a total control freak! Any issues also want to take a hand on it. 😒

I have bad experience with MIL when my child went into hospital due to her non profession care. :stupid:

winth

My SIL never realises how it felt to be married, had to tend to 3 families - ours, my parents and my ILs, or how tiring it was to be tending for 2 children and still have the energy to go over to their house early for dinner or even go for family outings together.

So her comments were always crude:
        - why are you all always so late for dinner? I'm so hungry! (children wake up at 5pm, we rushed there liao, but reach only at 6)
        - don't understand why you want to stop at 1? Don't know how to take care is it? (that time DS2 isn't born yet, for we had planned for a 4 year gap)
        - how come your tastes so obiang (out-dated) one? Buy such childish tops? (well, personally, I felt that her taste is really auntie, I'm serious) And anyway, her bf (now husband) bought the exact same design and colour when he went to Taiwan and now they wear the same top as we did, but she didn't say obiang leh
        - dasao, bec you sit beside me (when we playing black jack), now all my cards are losing cards. I was like wa lao... tat was the last year I ever played black jack with her family relatives
        - last CNY, she refused to come wish us 'Happy New Year' and refused to take ang pow from her bro. Dunno why, siao cha bor. DH had to offer to her and shake her hand while she black face in front of us.

She will like greet her brother 'kor' and though I'm at the gate with hubby, she will still greet only 'kor'. So now, to make myself feel less miserable, I will walk alot slower than DH so that when it's time she greets, I won't feel so bad bec I am not around.

It feels terrible bec I'm really feel like I'm invisible and that SIL of mine gets her way with so little ζ•™ε…». Once, after work, I saw her along the MRT platform. While I had wished I didn't see her, but bec I saw her, had to greet right. So I said, 'Hi, hello!'. She then said, 'Aiyoh, ε“ζ­»ζˆ‘!' with the action patting her heart like she almost suffered heart attack. I was like :shock:

When my DS1 was born, my MIL wanted to take care of DS1. Luckily I stopped it, and told them that I will stay home to take care bec I witness how careless she handled my niece. My niece (born 3 months earlier than DS1) was taken care of by my MIL, stomachache and dihorrea every week. Found out from my cousin-in-law that my MIL was feeding coarse rice porridge to her when she was only 2 months old. And my SIL, never failed to complain about how late my cousin-in-law came to fetch the niece, then few days later, complained that cousin-in-law came so early without warning to fetch niece. I was like heng ah... if not like that also kanna complained liao.

jawcee74:
          I think i agree not to see each other so often, maybe like once a month or durring CNY, Family get together or kids birthday.

How will we as parents feel if our kids only visited us once a month or during CNY and other special occasions only?

schellen

jawcee74:

I think i agree not to see each other so often, maybe like once a month or durring CNY, Family get together or kids birthday.

How will we as parents feel if our kids only visited us once a month or during CNY and other special occasions only?

Well, if we want our kids to visit us more often, then we must welcome them and their families. If not, I doubt they will want to come just to hear us scold and complain about them. If I were them, I would definitely not want to visit.

winth

[quote]Well, if we want our kids to visit us more often, then we must welcome them and their families. If not, I doubt they will want to come just to hear us scold and complain about them. If I were them, I would definitely not want to visit.[/quote]
              Agreed!

If they just treat me (and my parents) like human, I would definitely try to do my part bec I know I will become MIL too, since I have 2 sons.

We used to visit them Saturdays and Sundays, until my husband himself said, STOP. Cannot tahan. Bec when he's there, he will need to sit for hours to hear complaints about 'price of fish', 'problems with my FIL (got affair)', 'problems with my BIL (juvenile problems - now got court case)', 'house got leaking problem', 'no money', endless issues.

I used to participate by hearing out their problems and offering advice to my MIL, but somehow she give that kind of face that 'I don't wish to hear'. Even when my hubby offered advise, she will attack him back that the problems now are not fault of hers. But well, it's clearer than water where the problems lie.

winth

[quote]I tend to use age as a guide as to how to treat in laws. If they are still young and healthy, then maybe can don't visit that regularly (when they are young and healthy, usually it will also mean you and husband are still young and more 'immatured' in a way = more conflicts). When they are getting old and more frail = you are also getting older and wiser = lesser conflicts = the visits have to be more regular... [/quote]
                I did tell DH that we will DEFINITELY take care of our parents' old age. When they dun have shelter, we will offer, when they no longer can take care of themselves, we will shoulder it, for we are both eldest of our siblings.

But now, bec parents still very healthy and young. MIL still got loads of energy to complain, so now not the best time to do all the above.

[quote]....... \"rather\" hard to handle, especially my MIL is a total control freak! Any issues also want to take a hand on it. 😒 [/quote]
                  Oooh...
                  I so dig this one jawcee74.
                  My experience was post-delivery.
                  My daughter was born pre-mature
                  and mighty small. Developed quite
                  severe jaundice. Had to upgrade
                  from one blue flourescent light to
                  double blue lights... 😞

I kept travelling to the hospital every
                  single day to ensure she was receiving
                  and responding well to treatment under
                  the light. I was very afraid, that if the
                  jaundice deteriorated, she might need
                  a blood transfusion or worse - kidney
                  transplant. So, she must always be under
                  the light.

One fine day, rushing after post natal
                  massage care and stuff... went to the
                  hospital as usual fingers crossing the
                  day will be a better day... only to find,
                  my baby was GONE! As in not in her baby,
                  tray in the nursery under the blue light as
                  she always was! I panicked! I asked the
                  nurses where she was and they helped me
                  look.

Found her with baby near a communal sitting
                  area with other visitors of the hospital with
                  baby in her arms. Gawd, was i riled up.
                  Hubs was with me at that time and saw my
                  face change, i told him, YOU... go deal with
                  your mum... i can't do it right now. I went
                  straight to the head nurse.

First, i asked how baby was doing.
                  She said not too good, the bilirubin level was
                  at a consistent high and plus she must always
                  be under the blue light every minute of the day.
                  I asked her... why is baby not under the light then?

\"Oh, cos your mother came and insisted we bring the
                  baby out to her for awhile, so i thought since it was
                  your mum, its ok lah. But its been awhile now and
                  baby's return to the nursery as yet.. hope you can
                  help us bring her in, plus not good to put her out
                  there in air-con environment and with other visitors.\"

Duh..

I replied, \"Firstly, that's my MIL... and not my own mum
                  per se. Secondly, even i as the worried mummy missing
                  her daughter terribly.. hoping she'll get better everyday dun
                  even get her out of the blue light. I'll just talk to baby from
                  outside the tray, with minimal touches here and there, stroking
                  and humming.. Thirdly, i did not authorise anyone to remove my
                  baby from where she's supposed to be - and my own parents know
                  that, cos they are praying that with consistent treatment baby can
                  come home as soon as possible. With immediate effect, i do not allow
                  any visitors to bring baby out of the nursery other than my husband and
                  myself.\"

The following day - my daughter had to be placed in intensive care.
                  Reason being... not responding well to treatment in the ward nursery.
                  Hence, intensive monitoring is required by the special caregivers here.
                  Again, it was iterated - baby shud not leave blue light until doc gives the
                  go ahead, to shift to single blue light and later on totally without the blue
                  light and see how she does.

Tho, it was heartbreaking to see baby in intensive care together with
                  other terminally ill, disabled babies and highly pre-mature tinies... i
                  felt baby was better there. Cos no entry other than the immediate
                  parents. And not allowed to bring babies out of there. Period.

I have bad experience with MIL when my child went into hospital due to her non profession care. :stupid:[/quote]

I understand what you mean.. 😒

When baby was able to return home, i started to try nursing her.
                  Being a 1st time mum, i had some challenges getting baby to latch
                  on. At this, MIL retorted, the baby doesn't like your milk. Give her to
                  me, i'll do the feeding - with the bottle. You're starving the baby to death.
                  My poor grandchild.

Enuf drama?

NOOOO... got a lot. πŸ˜›

And 10 yrs down the road now,
                  I'm still surviving.. Why? I slowly
                  tell, ok.

winth:

If they just treat me (and my parents) like human, I would definitely try to do my part bec I know I will become MIL too, since I have 2 sons.
                    the last time my parents talked to my PIL is 8 years ago during my wedding dinner. πŸ˜‰ no contacts, no conflicts.
                    I have 2 sons too, so my husband often joked that retribution will be twice if I am nasty :roll:.
                    Niwaes (πŸ˜‰ buds), i believe that the relationship (tolerance level) with PIL is governed by our relationship with our husband. some of us tolerate more cos our husband (like what insider said) and sometimes with our husband standing on or side, the PIL will 'give face'.
                    winth:
                    We used to visit them Saturdays and Sundays, until my husband himself said, STOP. Cannot tahan. Bec when he's there, he will need to sit for hours to hear complaints about 'price of fish', 'problems with my FIL (got affair)', 'problems with my BIL (juvenile problems - now got court case)', 'house got leaking problem', 'no money', endless issues.

I used to participate by hearing out their problems and offering advice to my MIL,
                    I think that is just random chit chat. I don't think it's wise to offer solutions in any form - elder people usually wants it their way πŸ˜‰.
                    my husband will go 'ng..ng' nod nod...haha..ya...ya lor... then tell me he only understand 50% of the hokkien conversation with my dad. in times where he wanna :siam: and prefer to go shopping instead (yes! my man loves shopping!), i just tell my parents that he needs to run errands. 'every week must run errands meh?' my mum 😐 asked. yes...cos weekday i no time to do πŸ˜‰.

winth

wow… hopefully DH doesn’t come find me here with all our stories in public forum chat. if not I sure kanna strangled to death.

And 10 yrs down the road now,
                        I'm still surviving.. Why? I slowly
                        tell, ok.
                        it is different staying with in-laws when you are a ftwm and staying with them when you are a sahm πŸ˜‰ . latter one more drama/territorial issues?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 529

jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo