In-law problems?
Hubby's mum has twin sister...MORE understanding than her sister. Asked my hubby how come his aunt's character is so different :scratchhead: . I can have a chat with her while she listens and gives constructive comments. With his mother, :faint:
can i swap my mil with her? :please:missbluey:
[quote=\"sall\"]There is another type of mil who loves the son so much, she also treats his wife like a queen. Reason is if she doesn't treat his wife well, then the wife will make life difficult for her son, and her darling son will suffer. unfortunately, very few such mil.
My friend's mum is like that. She treats the daughter-in-law better than her own daughter, so that the daughter-in-law will be happy and then treat her son very well. Likewise, the son's children are treated better than the daughter's children.
then i can be The Ultimate Queen in da house. :rahrah:
His aunt can stay with her daughters-in-law under one roof and even play mahjong with them.[/quote]really envy sia.
sometimes i wish i can talk to my mil. BUT we are like chicken & duck, now still the same, in future will be the same. -
i jus dun understand why mil mus treat dil lidat
they themselves is ppl dil oso …
why cant they understand how we feels -
missbluey:
He he....not just you, we also chicken & duck. Last time, now and in future too.
really envy sia.
sometimes i wish i can talk to my mil. BUT we are like chicken & duck, now still the same, in future will be the same.
Perpetually misunderstand each other. Eg. MIL was watching TV in hall, I came out of room to take some stuff, MIL asked me if I wanna watch TV, tell her NO. She went into room, on TV in her room. On seeing that, I off TV in hall as intend to go back into my room. Then MIL questioned me.... If I dun want to watch, tell her mah. She would have stayed in the hall and not go into room. :stupid: how to talk like this? :frustrated: -
Wow :shock: there are such MILs ??? :scratchhead:
Envy leh. But too bad, my DH not the fav soncwc:
[quote=\"sall\"]There is another type of mil who loves the son so much, she also treats his wife like a queen. Reason is if she doesn't treat his wife well, then the wife will make life difficult for her son, and her darling son will suffer. unfortunately, very few such mil.
My friend's mum is like that. She treats the daughter-in-law better than her own daughter, so that the daughter-in-law will be happy and then treat her son very well. Likewise, the son's children are treated better than the daughter's children.
My hubby is favourite son, bcos he doesn't tell them NO, but my life isn't any better. It's perfectly ok for hubby to tell his mother how difficult the education system is now, and son needs tutor for Maths...but if I make same comment, she will say I don't know to teach and wasting her son's money :mad: So when I see her, I clam up completely or have to put up with her loads of 道理.[/quote]So far ,only heard of 1 such case. Maybe a small handful in the whole of Singapore.
The main problem is mil can't stop meddling with the son and daughter-in-law's life. Everything she also wants to have a say, if not, then she'll start complaining son is not filial blah blah...
I think all mil should attend some courses on how to get along with dil. -
The present batch of MILs are mostly in their 70s…most of them uneducated. I don’t think they had an easy time with THEIR MILs. But ironically, these MILs do not give us daughters-in-law an easy time now…just like in the army. Those corporals who kena sh!@ in the past will tekan those under them.
I personally feel that MILs should not meddle in their sons’ lives once they are married. How about being seen, not heard ?
Don’t they want their sons to be happy with wives ? Or they want their sons to be sandwiched between them and wives ??? -
MILs are mostly the same, they want the son to get married, have grandsons and then continue to meddle and cling on to the son. Some dh are super-filial and blindly devoted to his mummy. Then the poor wife really suffers.
MIL SHOULD BE SEEN AND NOT BE HEARD. That’s really true! -
i think most mils think that they hv been thru thick & thin with their sons for like 25 or 30 years, they thought they can still continue to \"hold\" on....
haiz... then its always the dils who suffer.
its always this same phrase: i know my son better than u do :faint: -
sall:
MILs want grandsons to continue the family line...then want to continue to cling on to their sons. Married sons should be filial but bear in mind they are married and should be devoted to their other halves.MILs are mostly the same, they want the son to get married, have grandsons and then continue to meddle and cling on to the son. Some dh are super-filial and blindly devoted to his mummy. Then the poor wife really suffers.
MIL SHOULD BE SEEN AND NOT BE HEARD. That's really true!
Some MILs look fierce...seeing them is already quite jelak, but please let them not be heard. -
Just now, I had to run some errands but MIL wanted me to come home & be on standby to drive her to somewhere, so I made noise to DH. Seemingly, DH asked the other siblings to help and end up, siblings helped by pushing to tomorrow, but still, WE are the one doing it.
Issue is, tomorrow I have already setup a dinner plan with my DH and 2 kids but yet to tell MIL. Just overheard MIL telling agent she will be getting DH to drive her over & help settle her stuff after he comes home from work ie. my dinner plan will be affected.
I shall observe......there's 2 siblings and both are just 5-10 mins drive away and any can help MIL, not just DH. When the fav says not free, he gets away scott-free, the rest esp. DH will kena. Shall see if DH gives in or stand firm (he knows very well if he cancels..... :stompfeet: :mad: )
Honestly, ever since I have this 隔岸观火, 事不关己 attitude, realized my BP not as bad as before :evil: seems fun leh
Hi cwc, hope your dinner plan will not be disrupted. A lot of dh will just drop everything to cater to his mum’s demand.
Btw, what does BP stand for?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.