In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      auntieM

Suffering:
      Hi all, I am new here. Wow...so many stories about problems with MIL. After reading all the problems u have, I think mine is considered not too bad.

I was staying with my MIL for 2 years plus when I first got married. Thank God she is working and I don't get to see her often but her bad habits and weird behaviour really gets to me. But I really just kept my mouth shut and kept my cool as it was her house and not mine.

Just to share some of her weird habits and behaviour:

1) Laundry - She would do her laundry and after the wash is over. She can leave it in the machine for at least half a day up to a day before taking it out. She does not hang up her clothes or spread out the clothes to dry. She will just dump the whole load of laundry onto the clothes rack (still crumpled up) and leave it there. She will never keep away the clothes that are dry as she treats the rack like her wardrobe. During the time I stay with her, I have to help take all the clothes and leave it in her room. And oh, she throws her underwear into the laundry.

2) She leaves her used sanitary pad in the toilet and will not throw it away sometimes up to 3 days.

3) She will keep leftover food in the pot and leave it on the stove. She might sometimes put the whole pot into the fridge but she forgets all about it and the food will all turn bad. It happens all the time. I called her the microbiologist.

4) She, sometimes, like to leave certain food in the sink and claims that it will give off a nice smell..e.g. Chrysanthemum flowers

5) She cooks and dirty the stove but forget and accused me of not cleaning up. Hmm...i had not used the stove for that week when it happened.

6) Whenever I do any cooking, I will always clean up, in fact cleaner than before I did the cooking. And in that time I stayed with her, never once did I leave a mess. I once was careless and there was a small spot on the floor that I missed. Oh gosh, she was so sarcastic and ask me to go look at what is that on the floor despite the fact that, that was the only time it ever happened.

7) She told my hubby to tell me not to leave tissues on the table because there was once I forgot and left a piece of tissue on the table. Mind you, it was just that one time. But she leaves all the cotton wool and cotton buds all on the table.

😎 She once bought a shoe rack for us to keep our shoes. She bought one that was made if wire like those dish racks kind. It has only 2 shelves but it does not have legs and is therefore not elevated. So if you put your heels in the bottom shelf, the heel touches the floor. Oh, by the way, she bought it because she complains that it was very messy. Then when I put my shoes and my husband shoes on the rack, she said I used up all the space. But it was only enough to fit 6 pairs of shoes. So I removed all my shoes and put it back into my room.

9) She wraps only a towel around her body to shower and she does that even though there are males that she does not know very well in the house.

I have since moved away but she is recently staying temporary with me and it is driving me nuts that she is very inconsiderate. She took my newly washed bath towel and put it into my clothe hangers' container. Left the lights on and the fan on and did not switch it off.....
      Wah! :yikes: ..Speechless..

mummyJune

i really duno y my mil can b so dirty.her house is practically so messy with books & toys everywhere. since she is taking care of 2 older kids(3 & 4yrs), she should tell them to pick up the toys yet she can juz leave it there, when i help her pick up she tel me aiya juz leave it. ok, what if someone trips leh. haiz.

not only that, her kitchen got so many ants, big & small. dining table oso ve. aiyo…for a clean freak like me, i c liao so terrified. my hubby bought a box of ant combat for her to use, she said cannot, later the ants duno how to go home.
        i tell my hubby so silly theory.

if say we are of different era, my mum is not like that. my mum’s place is clean unlike mil. aiyo, horrible. now everytime my son eat tibits, i always tel him eat dun drop hor, later got ants. my hubby used to tink im over-reacting. i asked him what is so wrong with being clean? u want a house full of ants & cockroaches?

BeContented

mummyJune:
          i really duno y my mil can b so dirty.her house is practically so messy with books & toys everywhere. since she is taking care of 2 older kids(3 & 4yrs), she should tell them to pick up the toys yet she can juz leave it there, when i help her pick up she tel me aiya juz leave it. ok, what if someone trips leh. haiz.

not only that, her kitchen got so many ants, big & small. dining table oso ve. aiyo...for a clean freak like me, i c liao so terrified. my hubby bought a box of ant combat for her to use, she said cannot, later the ants duno how to go home.
          i tell my hubby so silly theory.

if say we are of different era, my mum is not like that. my mum's place is clean unlike mil. aiyo, horrible. now everytime my son eat tibits, i always tel him eat dun drop hor, later got ants. my hubby used to tink im over-reacting. i asked him what is so wrong with being clean? u want a house full of ants & cockroaches?
          MummyJune,
          My MIL own house also full of ants....different kinds. I get all phobia as I hate insects, all types. When PILs shifted over, they brought them over & infested my house, took me so much time & effort to rid them. I would sit & watch till I find their nests, seal it, spray, ant poison....whatever methods I can, the whole process can last 1-2 months. Another 2 times, MIL brought back some cardboxes with food and when I discovered ants, too late....again built nests in my house and I had to go thru' the whole process. Now, I straightaway insist MIL discard those boxes the moment she's back from market. For now, I'm cleared of ants but cockroaches and lizards are frequently sighted :rant: :mad: I do not leave food lying uncovered especially through the night, but MIL would insist some food cannot be placed in fridge and leave them uncovered overnight. When there were ants, I would have ants crawling all over, now I see big fat lizards and many baby lizards scurrying away.......I dunno how to kill them except spray whenever I see them :mad: So nowadays, anything uncovered overnight, I will refused to let my children eat it.

In addition, I have repeatedly told MIL not to bring food into room to no avail. I just hope all those 'pets' she's feeding will congregate in HER room and not venture out.

There's many things I find it irritating and disgusting too.
          >> Spitting out of room windows.
          >> Littering despite there's bins around
          >> Hanging her dripping wet clothes out. Once someone downstairs send a kid up to ask her not to drip and she can lied that washing machine spoilt
          >> Dripping water all over the floor......so when I walk around the house and step on wet floor, floor becomes dirty and I dun even know am I stepping on plain water, juices or from FIL who spits or drip urine around (that's when he was mobile). It's just plain disgusting.
          >> Sometimes after she wets the floor, she'll use a tissue to wipe and then leave the wet tissues lying on the floor!!!
          >> After touching raw meat, does not clean & dry her hands properly and start touching other things....so sometimes I find raw meat sticking on fridge handle, cabinets handle etc.
          >> One of the thing I hated most.....thawing and rethawing raw meat/seafood. Mushy prawns, sticky slimy meat.....when she took over cooking, I was having watery stool 2-3 times everyday (from alternate days). Damn glad when she relinquish the role.
          .........etc etc etc.....

sall

cwc, to kill lizards, pour boiling water on them. Quick and easiest way.

Sun_2010

cwc, you are a saint :hugs:

Cant imagime how you do it.

A word of advise - dont let it turn you to be bitter.

Things we have to do for the family 🤷

BeContented

sall:

Lizards run very fast one leh 🤷
                Think someone should invent hotflask water guns.....then I can carry boiling water around and just aim & shoot the lizards 😉
                But frankly, in times of face-to-face encounters, I run faster than them (opposite direction) :rotflmao:

auntieM

cwc:
                  sall:

Lizards run very fast one leh 🤷
                  Think someone should invent hotflask water guns.....then I can carry boiling water around and just aim & shoot the lizards 😉
                  But frankly, in times of face-to-face encounters, I run faster than them (opposite direction) :rotflmao:

maybe 'cooked' lizards might end up in your MIL's noodles/porridge.. ..

BeContented

Sun_2010:
                    cwc, you are a saint :hugs:

Cant imagime how you do it.

A word of advise - dont let it turn you to be bitter.

Things we have to do for the family 🤷
                    No lah, many of us have grouses......just different threshold levels for different types of things :skeptical: I'm sure there are many who will bear with it gracefully. For me, after venting out, :stompfeet: :slapshead: :stupid: :rant: :mad: :nunchuk: :frustrated: 😢 it sure feel better 😉 But come to think about it, poor MIL has nowhere to vent her frustration......

linden2000

Raw meat on handles of cabinets ! :yikes:

This one I sure freak out

BeContented

linden2000:
                        Raw meat on handles of cabinets ! :yikes:

This one I sure freak out
                        Ok, need to clarify.....not big pieces lah....more like scraps of minced meat.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 302 / 529