In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      carin004

hi all,

trying to seek solace here after I had a few major fight with MIL this month… Realized that I am not alone…

Stayed with PIL after married. MIL even offered to take care of my DD. Fortunate right? Ya right… everynight she will sleep at 8pm… that means I don’t get to see my DD if I come back late. Everytime will get DH to knock on her door to ask for my DD. When she hand DD to me… she will turn her face away… like I am a monster? Thinking to spend more time with DD, we decided to let DD sleep with us, and bring DD to MIL in the morning. After a few days, she scolded me 坏女人 right into my face… confronted her as why she scolded as 坏女人and she don’t even come out from her room to tell me why… in the end, i grab my DD and went to stay with my mother.

Soon we sold off the flat and get a new one on our own with FIL. MIL chose to rent room outside. Gradually this situation improved our relationship. Suddenly, early last year she moved back to stay with us as she could not find another room to rent. ( for the few years she stayed outside, she moved almost every six to eight months as she always have conflcts with the landlords). Although I am unwilling, I cannot say No. All of us thought that she had changed after staying outside for so long. We are wrong.

After a few months staying with us, she started to pick on me like last time. She will accused of things I did not do or say. Even when I worked late for consecutive few days, and did not see her… she will still have things to accuse me. Everyday, she will bang her door whenever she sees me around the house. She will throw away my things when she don’t like it. I had endured all her nonsenses. DH knows what his mother is like. So he knows what I am enduring. The only thing I am hoping is for her to move out … so bad hor?

rains

For me, my pils are virtually, literally absent in my life.

We used to visit them on special occasions and they were nice to me, and I to them.

What spoilt it all was my husband.

He told my mil that I was pregnant and I was about to abort the baby in one of his angry spurts.

But I was upset that despite knowing I was pregnant, albeit thro an unpleasant route, my pil never called me (despite having my hp no.) to ask about it. My father said I should have called them to inform them about my pregnancy, but it seemed so weird to me to inform them about my pregnancy when my husband had already told them. It’s as if I should take it like they were ignorant about it when they were not.

Thro out the pregnancy, they didn’t give me a call.

During my hospital stay and confinement, they didn’t visit the baby.

My mil did call me on my hp closer to CNY reunion dinner, but I was so upset with her that I didn’t pick up the call.

It was only after the baby was 6 months old that my grand fil called me and asked how the baby was. He said my husband didn’t even inform them that the baby was born and they didn’t even know if I had given birth to a cat or a dog.

I know that the agent for spoiling the relationship is my husband, but I can’t get over the fact that they didn’t even call me once to ask me about the pregnancy thro out the whole time.

Andaiz

rains:

Thro out the pregnancy, they didn't give me a call.

During my hospital stay and confinement, they didn't visit the baby.

My mil did call me on my hp closer to CNY reunion dinner, but I was so upset with her that I didn't pick up the call.

It was only after the baby was 6 months old that my grand fil called me and asked how the baby was. He said my husband didn't even inform them that the baby was born and they didn't even know if I had given birth to a cat or a dog.

I know that the agent for spoiling the relationship is my husband, but I can't get over the fact that they didn't even call me once to ask me about the pregnancy thro out the whole time.
          rains, mebbe they didn't know how to react. The fact that it was your GRANDFIL who called you. :!: :!: wah, the most senior member of the clan...it must have been discussed for a long time (6 months?) and then finally the job landed on his lap. 😛

If DH is the culprit in this, my 2 cents is that the relationship is repairable. Would you give them and yourself a chance? It's not easy for your PIL or GrandFIL (even) to come speak with you.

hquek

rains:

I know that the agent for spoiling the relationship is my husband, but I can't get over the fact that they didn't even call me once to ask me about the pregnancy thro out the whole time.
            hi rains, it would take a lot for the elder to bend down to the younger. As you said, the agent is your hubby. And that your pils are nice to you. Not knowing any more of your story, I think you should take it positively that your mil had tried to contact you, so to me, it seems that she wants to mend the fences, and then move on from there.

Am fairly sure that the grandparents would love to see their grandchildren. Just put yourself in their shoes, if you were snubbed by your own child, would you dare to take the initiative to contact the DIL/SIL (whatever the case may be)?

Hope things turn out well for you!

• 3 Offline
              3Boys

rains:

My mil did call me on my hp closer to CNY reunion dinner, but I was so upset with her that I didn't pick up the call.

It was only after the baby was 6 months old that my grand fil called me and asked how the baby was. He said my husband didn't even inform them that the baby was born and they didn't even know if I had given birth to a cat or a dog.

Yes, agree with the rest. I think they have tried to reach out to you. Once you let go of the hurt and resentment around their actions (and you understand why, your DH probably poisoned their view and they didn't know if they should interfere), I think you will feel much better about it.

Ermmm.. guys.. actually i dun think rains

is still together with the husband.. and
                so.. the part about hope-things-turn
                out-well-for-you
                may not be able to
                be applied any longer in her case.
                See > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2548&start=210

rains, do correct me if i'm wrong.. :oops:

• Z Offline
                  ZacK

Not! I've told her my thoughts before.. on how mean i thought she was

to me during one of her down sessions with her children and husband..
                  She was then on a sharing spree. :roll: She told me that she was wailing
                  her lungs out the minute after hubs left home in the bridal carriage & felt
                  a sense of great loss as he went over to my place to get me and off for
                  our ceremony. She ssaid she had to be held down by a group of relatives
                  and friends. I dun think she'll ever realise i was NEVER here to take her
                  eldest and her star child from her.. Cause since that day she went
                  running for the carriage, i was already the thief and thee outsider
                  to her.. The irony is... we've been together with her, FIL and BIL
                  for the last 7-8 years.. correction.. :idea: .. in fact, we STILL ARE.

DELETE? Naah.. bring it on! :torchme:
                  Buds decided to reply you in this thread cos dun wanna spoil Smarty's thread...

I can feel you... Whether it is with daughters or sons... Mothers should let go the moment their kids get married to set up their own family. It is precisely because parents from either side decide to stick their fingers in that more often than not... result in tension between couples.

For me, my wife does not have problems with my mum... In fact my mum supported the idea for me to stay with MIL cos MIL is getting on in years and it is not ideal in the long run for her to stay alone. Also being the youngest my mum gives me and my wife lots of freedom.

With MIL, there have been moments when I feel that my MIL has gone a tad overboard and I have told her off... quite nicely. Generally I have no major issues with my MIL as she takes our cue on most issues relating to our family and how we want to raise our boys 😄

Btw trust me, some mums can also be mean to their own daughters, not just with DILs, by antagonising or provoking them and showing their displeasure etc ... When it starts to get a little too much for wife to handle... I will also intervene if it is clear that MIL is not being reasonable... So in that sense I get sandwiched between mother and daughter. Overall I am respectful to my MIL and I think of her well-being ... So she does accord me some respect as well.

Personally for me... I feel that for husbands, being the man of the family... We have to be filial to our parents... But our main responsibility is to our own family, to our spouse and kids first. There has to be a point if our parents \"crosses the line\", then as husbands we need to make a stand to defend the right party in order to bring \"harmony\" back to the family...

It cannot be at the expense of any one party... If the DILs or daughters are the one at fault, then they too will need to be brought back into line. It is this balancing that we need to do, to maintain peace, happiness and harmony to the home... Mummies always feel that they get the shorter end of the stick... Now you should know that daddies job is not easy too :roll:

To cite one example that happened to one of my relatives in Msia... Son is the typically \"filial\" son who always listen to mummy. Mummy says 1, he will never say 2. Son and his wife tried for some time to have a baby and had faced some difficulties. For reasons unknown to me, mummy and DIL's relationship soured... But I think there was one occassion mummy asked her son to look for another woman to try for a baby, as the son is the eldest boy. In short, subsequently the wife managed to get pregnant and had a girl. Mummy was not too happy for dunno know what reason, asked the son to divorce his wife.... This happened before the newborn girl's first month. The wife was so mad with her MIL that she packed her bags and carried the baby back to her own home... The last I heard, they are still separated. All the relatives know about the incident, and also know how unreasonable this son's mummy can be... But no where did we hear the son utter a single word against his mum. :roll: ... Well I certainly hope the son is happy being \"married/tied\" to his mum... :siao:

rains

Hi buds,

I remarried.

Thanks, all,

What you said casts a new light on the matter. When my own family members knew that my pil never did visit the baby, my father kept scolding me for not visiting my pil and said that it’s my fault for not informing them about the baby, but the more he did that, the more I felt angry with them, for driving a wedge between my father and me indirectly.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts from a 3rd person’s point of view. I guess I have been too emotional about the matter to think about it rationally, and put myself in their shoes.

I never realised it’s unforgiveness that I’m holding onto. I told myself it’s got nothing to do with forgiveness bcos since they ignore me, I should also ignore them. But when I read what you guys said, tears flowed.

Thank you. Merry Christmas to all!

Heyya rains, it is nice to know that you now

have new memories to build on to help you
                      shadow the past.

Why did i say shadow?
                      Cause frankly no matter how we try to forget
                      the past, there isn't any way to and it will no
                      matter how be part of our shadow wherever
                      we go... just that when we gotta and wanna
                      move on, we cannot allow that shadow cloud
                      our days moving forward... though it's usually
                      easier said than done.

However, since you do know that your ex was
                      the main centre of all the problems & presumed
                      bad blood btwn your ILs, you can at least slowly
                      let go of the fact that they may have nothing
                      against you in the first place. Harsh as it seems
                      though to have gone through that pregnancy
                      period without having your ILs even seemingly
                      caring enuf to call of ask after you.. and whether
                      you were doing well and so on... there did seem
                      that there is more to the other side of that coin.

It must not have been an easy journey for you. :hugs:

This X'mas day, i wish you bountiful new memories
                      to make with your children and your new formed
                      family. This is your chance to start afresh and still
                      get to live the 2nd chapter of your life with much
                      more happiness and love.

rains

No, buds, it’s not my ex. It’s my present husband. My ex was totally non-existent in my previous ‘marriage’.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 35 / 529