In-law problems?
BeContented:
Long long time ago my mil used to said that to my first born. I am the type that react fast withouch thought. I quickly corrected her that \"ma, that is not true. Then I sing the chinese song 世界自由妈妈好 and quickly reaffirm her that \"that is why DH dotes her more\" and then gave the innocent look and a pat on her shoulder. Immediately she keeps quiet and never repeat this childish act of hers.Last time when MIL see DH carrying the kids, she would go pat and ask the children 'You love daddy more than mommy right? Daddy better in taking care of you right?' Wonder what do they reap from saying such stuff to kids? Soooooo pathetic. They forgot they are the mommy too.
Was imagining :evil: ....if one day, right in front of her face I tell DH -
'I better than your mom in taking care of you right? Got me no need your mommy right?'......wonder will there be world-war 3
I think those of us (including me) who have difficult MILs need some counselling or at least to talk it out/confide with someone trusting (usually not our hubby cos it may put them in a difficult position even if they are on our side). If not, all the pent-up hurts and resentments may have long term adverse effects on our emotional and even physical well-being.
What are some of your ways/methods to purge the "in-law toxic" from your system? Let’s share and perhaps learn from one another… -
Angelight:
I think those of us (including me) who have difficult MILs need some counselling or at least to talk it out/confide with someone trusting (usually not our hubby cos it may put them in a difficult position even if they are on our side). If not, all the pent-up hurts and resentments may have long term adverse effects on our emotional and even physical well-being.
What are some of your ways/methods to purge the \"in-law toxic\" from your system? Let's share and perhaps learn from one another...
See less of each other is the best way out.
If really have to meet, try not to talk.
Mamo:
See less of them...keep arms length.Angelight:
What are some of your ways/methods to purge the \"in-law toxic\" from your system? Let's share and perhaps learn from one another...
If really have to see them, watch TV in the hall to avoid minimal chat.
That's what I do...or I'll get totally pissed. -
When my sil is at my house and I don’t feel like seeing her I’ll bring the kids to my room to read. See no evil hear no evil.
See less of them...keep arms length.Mamo:
[quote=\"Angelight\"]What are some of your ways/methods to purge the \"in-law toxic\" from your system? Let's share and perhaps learn from one another...
If really have to see them, watch TV in the hall to avoid minimal chat.
That's what I do...or I'll get totally pissed.[/quote]
That's what I do too. Or fiddle with the hp and read newspapers. Cheers :celebrate: -
mummy of 2:
When my sil is at my house and I don't feel like seeing her I'll bring the kids to my room to read. See no evil hear no evil.
Yeah...hubby's younger 2 siblings are a pain.
I wish to have no contact with them at all. See no evil, hear no evil also happier and they won't spoil your day. -
See...but not see THEM but the TV...get the picture ?mummy of 2:
See no evil hear no evil.
I do agree but how not to see :stompfeet:
Or else play games on the mobile phone and be TOTALLY engrossed in it. -
Try as hard as I can. Also I don't like my kids to play with sil's gal too much cos she's rude and selfish so I don't want my kids to be negatively influenced but can't do it all the time lar. If not mil will have things to say. Only do it when I buay tahan.mummy of 2:
See no evil hear no evil.
I do agree but how not to see :stompfeet: -
She must have found excuse to find fault with you for playing on the phone and ignoring her. I am engrossed in my phone or TV when I have to see them during CNY.janet_lee88:
Or else play games on the mobile phone and be TOTALLY engrossed in it.
Last time I did this trick... then kena from DH that I have too much time playing on phone and not on DS1 studies :roll: (surely MIL must have told something)....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.